We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By the Harbour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lobster Dock

The Lobster Dock
49 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2131
207-633-7120
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Quispamsis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“By the Harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Excellent food, The throw down crab cakes , fantastic. Outside ordering , great. They don't take American Express.( I don't have one, but the customer in front of us had to use alternate payment ).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    234
    115
    48
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lobster Dock- always delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We visit Booth Bay Harbor ME late August every year- we just completed out 12th.The MUST STOP for us every night is Lobster Dock. We tried others in the early years- some as convenient, some less expensive, some more expensive, none measured up to Lobster Dock.
Sit on a deck overlooking the harbor, have an attentive, well trained, pleasant wait staff bring your food to the table. The shuckers deliver wonderful raw clams and oysters. Lobsters from the tank are delicious. The huge shrimp cocktail snaps.
Mitchell, the owner. is not only ever present but visits each table to be sure we're happy, takes time to chat with customers and adds a warm personal touch to wonderful food.

.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best warm lobster roll I ever had!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Food was great,mussels mariniere were like butter. We went there with a very loud) special needs child, and they were very understanding. The manager came over and reassured us . A nice touch.
Don't bother with the blueberry pie though, nothing special.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always a good lobster!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

You always get a good lobster at the Lobster Dock. They are always super fresh. You can eat outside and enjoy a view of the harbor. They employ students from places like Bulgaria who are working their way through school so leave them a nice tip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Lobster we had in Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

After sampling lobsters in York and Bluehill, and noting the many tourists in line, we weren't sure about this spot. But since it was right across from our B&B, it seemed worth a shot. We were greeted by the owner in line, found the "special" wine list with palatable choices (yes, we're wine snobs), and enjoyed the outdoor sunset view. Although we spent 30 minutes in line, our food, a double lobster dinner for me and a larger 1-3/4 special order for my husband, came quickly. Without a doubt, these were the freshest, most perfectly cooked lobsters we've ever eaten - and not just this year.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Dock also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Lobster Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lobster Dock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.