We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lobster Dock

The Lobster Dock
49 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2131
207-633-7120
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Sat outside and ate, the food was great. Talked to the owner Mitch, very nice person. Really fun to see Pete cut the lobsters outside right in front of you, ( boy, is he fast ) so it is easier when you eat them. Very scenic casual dinning right on the Bay. I know we will go there again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    171
    71
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch at The Lobster Dock”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had lunch there. You first order and pay for your meal/drinks (you can choose the size of your lobster/s), then place the number you get at your table, sit and enjoy the gorgeous view of the harbor. Friendly, attentive staff will soon bring your food and take care of your further needs. Add to this a free parking (we were ripped with $20 at the parking lot of Kap'n Fish and NOT HAPPY about it), and if you are not looking for a fancy place, but for relaxing, friendly atmosphere, decent, simple food and a great view, chances are you will be satisfied with your visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and variety - Casual atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I ordered steak and corn, my husband ordered lobster. We both loved our meals. I loved the atmosphere. Its definitely not your traditional restaurant. But they have an extensive menu - so everyone will find something they like. We are very glad we visited!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Lobster, lobster, lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

OK, so we ate a lot of lobster here and it was awesome! Definitely stop here and try some, it's worth the long wait - the line moves semi-quickly so don't be discouraged. The steamers were great too...I was so tempted to try the throwdown crab cakes too, but there was only so much I could eat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good food outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Get on line and be prepared to deal with the kids and crowds for this classic lobster shack. Don't bother with the Bobby Flay challenge crab cakes. Lobster was very good though.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Dock also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Lobster Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lobster Dock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.