We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food, great prices, great view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lobster Dock

The Lobster Dock
49 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2131
207-633-7120
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Flint, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great prices, great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

we had Lobster and it was really great - the view was awesome and the staff were really nice and helpful too - a short walk across the foot bridge from the piers, its definitely a place you must eat while in this town!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    261
    126
    54
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great lobster, fabulous blueberry pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Of course we had to visit the famed Lobster Dock while in Boothbay. At our table we had lobster stew, a lobster roll, and the steamer meal (whole lobster and steameres). It was all wonderful. The non-seafood eater in our group had chicken and it was actually delicious too. The view is amazing. We were there at sunset so it was perfect. Once we finished we ordered warm blueberry pie that was wonderful!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ideal Maine Lobster eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This outdoor restaurant has a fantastic harbor view and excellent clams and Lobstah. Don't be in a hurry, however, as the service can be slow.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food view and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011 via mobile

Great food and wine choices. The lobster stew was amazing - (ask for sherry to be added.. They will!) the seafood diablo pasta dish was very good too. The owner comes out, makes suggestions and chats with customers standing in line and his suggestions are very good! It's considered very casual upscale - good value for the quantity and the flavor. Highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Top Notch Lobster Pound Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

While not precisely a lobster pound, the Lobster Dock is a very good example of a Maine order-at-a-window-and-eat-at-a-picnic-table dining spot. Their crab cakes were the best we have had in New England (though we still favor the Maryland variety). I had the lobster dinner and it was just right. My wife had a lobster roll with drawn butter and pronounced it to be the best she had in Maine. I had their homemade blueberry pie for dessert (which came with two scoops of Round Top vanilla - not just one) and loved it. My wife loved her "incredibly chocolaty" Whoopie pie. The owners obviously care very deeply about their restaurant and their customers. How many owners visit with the folks on line to order and ask if he can answer any question about the food? I wouldn't hesitate to return to the Lobster Dock in the future.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Dock also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Lobster Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lobster Dock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.