We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant and pub!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thistle Inn Restaurant

The Thistle Inn Restaurant
55 Oak St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1818
207-633-3541
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Thistle Inn is the perfect mix of fine cuisine and casual fare. We use only the freshest ingredients and everything is home made, including salad dressings, fresh baked breads and desserts. The best way to describe our food is an eclectic mix of American cuisine with a hint of international flavors. We let the availability of local produce and seafood influence the menu.
Bangor, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Thistle is one of our go to places in Boothbay. The food, drinks and atmosphere are excellent. We like having a pub meal in the tavern or a full dinner in the dining room. Our meals are always excellent. We've been going to the Thistle for many years....in fact from its very interesting beginnings. Definitely 5 stars for its food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    66
    33
    5
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“cozy fab and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This place is a feast for the eyes AND the palette! They have done an excellent job creating a very warm cozy and inviting atmosphere in both the outside and inside dining areas. We actually sat inside at a cozy booth, in a room that really gives that "New England" feel with lots of wood tones and textures, and it felt even more private with the pretty wine "island" in the center of room which kind of separates the tables. It was nicely lit - dim (but not too). Next time I'd love to sit outside where they have an outdoor fireplace and pretty lights strung up - very romantic. THE FOOD: Well, let me just say it was one of the best meals we had during our 5 day trip in BH. And we are pretty critical when it comes to dining (everyone says that but we really are lol!). We had apps, main courses AND we shared dessert - all were EXCELLENT, as were the drinks - and they had a decent wine list too. THE SERVICE: VERY good. For a casual area it was the best service we had during our stay as well, including the hotel we actually stayed at, which was much pricier - and the food WAY better as well. The bar area was also very inviting (tho we just had drinks at our table). If/when we return to BH, not only will we definitely eat here again, but we would consider staying here too. It's the cutest hotel in town. Great service and awesome cuisine. I highly recommend it. : )

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thistle Inn has its ups and downs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Accommodations - Poor - room was small, the bath even smaller, drapes did not close tight and the drape closers did not work. rug in hall was dirty and there was hair in the bathroom upon arrival. Stairs to rooms are narrow and steep, anyone with trouble waking or seeing it is not a good fit although they do have 1 downstairs room that seemed bright large and clean.

Dining 5 stars..... Breakfast and dinner.... you cannot go wrong at the Inn for dinner.

The charm of the place still abounds as this is a sea captains home. take it for what it is and you'll like it here, but if you want a view or the most up2date furnishings stay elsewhere.

I would go back and stay downstairs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Dinner was great, and dining outside under the lights was wonderful. Great menu and by far the best wine list in Boothbay Harbor!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This Should be #1 agreed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This visit went from better to best. The place is cozy and beautiful, the staff professional and gracious. The meal was the best we had this trip to Booth Bay. Tuna tartar was my personal favorite. This is a wow spot, and perhaps just a little off the beaten path that some folks miss it. I pity them!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thistle Inn Restaurant also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Thistle Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thistle Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.