We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Cow Ice Cream

Island Cow Ice Cream
31G Townsend Ave., Boothbay Harbor, ME
1(207)633-6651
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bakery, Delicatessen, Ice Cream, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dessert
Description: A new lunch spot with an emphasis on organic. They serve fresh mango sorbet, lemon ginger ice cream, baked treats. The owner is Robert Walters, a great guy who loves quality food.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Huge portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Crowded, noisy, friendly and we loved it all. Oh, yes,
Yummy ice-cream and toppings.. The only thing they could do better is add more tables.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pa
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Some of the best ice cream I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

There are 3 ice cream shops within sight of one another at Boothbay Harbor, and Island Cow is hard to beat. The ice cream is incredibly fresh, made by the owner from, if I heard him correctly, his own cattle. The flavors are eclectic and suggestions are made on how to combine them for the optimal flavor explosion. We came late in the day and they had run out of homemade pastries and sandwiches by that time of night, but my guess is that they are special as well.

For reasons I don't understand, there are long lines at the other ice stores, but not at Island Cow. Island Cow is a little out of the way (by about 100 yards) and maybe that accounts for the smaller clientele the night we went there. It certainly isn't because their ice cream isn't amazing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
1 review
“Boothbay Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Ignore the long line down the street. Seek out this new, hole-in-the-wall establishment with creamy, organic ice cream to die for. Highly recommend the Heath bar , but you can't go wrong with any of the 15 or so flavors. Doesn't look like much - but the ice cream is fantastic.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The smaller (and better) ice cream shop in Booth Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Fantastic organic ice cream. Mocha Chip was wonderful. Coffee Chip was wonderful. Chocolate was wonderful.
The vegetarian sandwich with Avocado, Tomato, Sharp Cheddar Cheese, Arugula on Focaccia was fantastic though melting the cheese would have made it even better. I rarely rave about food places, but this one is wonderful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Had to stop at the Cow Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife is a fan of all things bovine. We had to stop in just for the name. We were happy with the ice cream. They have a great selection.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Cow Ice Cream also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Island Cow Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Cow Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.