We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diner with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mine Oyster

Mine Oyster
16 Wharf Street, Pier 1, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
207-633-6616
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Laval, Québec
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Diner with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good oysters, good food at decent price and a nice view on the harbor . On a one day outing to Boothbay Harbor,I mainly wanted oysters and a view on the harbor and I was totally satisfied. Their Glidden Point Select oysters suggested by the waiter were excellent with a unique taste. We then had Littleneck pesto for me and Crispy Fish & Chips .Both were perfect. I even asked for extra bread to finish the pesto sauce. For dessert, we couldn't resist the Maine Maple Walnut Bread Pudding that we saw on the next table. Everything was perfect including the sunset on the harbor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    69
    25
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gill, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“worst service ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Went here Wednesday Aug. 27. Place was empty. Service was beyond horrible. Not very clean and very dark. May be good place to drink, but plenty of better restaurants to go to in area. Ordered a crab cake for app. It was the worst we ever had. It was deep fried and the inside was mushy, lots of mayo and mystery fillers, no taste of crab what-so-ever. Should have left at that point since it was crystal clear that the "service" was non-existent. But we persevered - ordered 2 items from kabob menu. They were ok. Wasted $60+ for 2 not including tip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great oysters & steamers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We shared an appetizer of steamers. Fried oysters, baby back ribs, fried belly clams, and caprese burger all served hot and tasty. Attentive wait service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A very pleasant surprise and change of pace in Boothbay in one of the bustling locations on Pier One. We went there five or six times during our stay. They obviously have a very large selection of oysters, which we don't care for and therefore have not tried, but my wife and girls went gaga over the sushi, makis and so forth. As for the son and me, we dove into a very nice and original selection of sandwiches, burgers and rotisserie propositions, among other things. Add to that a couple of bars and some very very good live music in the evenings, and you've got a place that rocks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Sushi Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is our second year visiting Boothbay Harbor, Maine. We were just about done in with steamed and fried seafood and ready for something different. We happened onto “Mine Oyster” in the heart of Boothbay hoping to eat great oysters. The staff at Mine Oyster is most welcoming. The oysters and meals on the main menu are different, but we were really in for some wonderful surprises exploring off-menu creations. Sushi Chef Harrison Maung led us on marvelous sushi adventures. Having eaten sushi at many fine restaurants in Washington, DC, the sushi Harrison created was absolutely amazing.

Chef Harrison prides himself on creating perfect sushi with exciting, new food combinations.
He especially loves to serve guests who are willing to experience his beautiful creations.
For example, for lunch we dined on a sushi topped with banana, apple syrup and nuts. A desert sushi was wrapped with Honey Dew melon, topped with a grape half and shaved coconut .

We had such a lovely lunch experience that we canceled reservations at another BBH restaurant to spend more time with Chef Harrison at Mine Oyster. Dinner included a ginger salad, lobster and cream cheese sushi wrapped in filet mignon and paired with another Maung creation of salmon sushi that was most different than any sushi we have ever eaten. Dessert was a banana cream delicacy and our evening was topped with a special Burmese sweet tea.

If you ever vacation in BoothBay, please stop at Mine Oyster to meet Chef Harrison Maung.
If the restaurant is not busy and you are game, we are sure he will love to introduce you to his newest sushi creations. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mine Oyster also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Mine Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mine Oyster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;