We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mine Oyster

Mine Oyster
16 Wharf Street, Pier 1, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
207-633-6616
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A very pleasant surprise and change of pace in Boothbay in one of the bustling locations on Pier One. We went there five or six times during our stay. They obviously have a very large selection of oysters, which we don't care for and therefore have not tried, but my wife and girls went gaga over the sushi, makis and so forth. As for the son and me, we dove into a very nice and original selection of sandwiches, burgers and rotisserie propositions, among other things. Add to that a couple of bars and some very very good live music in the evenings, and you've got a place that rocks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    72
    26
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Sushi Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is our second year visiting Boothbay Harbor, Maine. We were just about done in with steamed and fried seafood and ready for something different. We happened onto “Mine Oyster” in the heart of Boothbay hoping to eat great oysters. The staff at Mine Oyster is most welcoming. The oysters and meals on the main menu are different, but we were really in for some wonderful surprises exploring off-menu creations. Sushi Chef Harrison Maung led us on marvelous sushi adventures. Having eaten sushi at many fine restaurants in Washington, DC, the sushi Harrison created was absolutely amazing.

Chef Harrison prides himself on creating perfect sushi with exciting, new food combinations.
He especially loves to serve guests who are willing to experience his beautiful creations.
For example, for lunch we dined on a sushi topped with banana, apple syrup and nuts. A desert sushi was wrapped with Honey Dew melon, topped with a grape half and shaved coconut .

We had such a lovely lunch experience that we canceled reservations at another BBH restaurant to spend more time with Chef Harrison at Mine Oyster. Dinner included a ginger salad, lobster and cream cheese sushi wrapped in filet mignon and paired with another Maung creation of salmon sushi that was most different than any sushi we have ever eaten. Dessert was a banana cream delicacy and our evening was topped with a special Burmese sweet tea.

If you ever vacation in BoothBay, please stop at Mine Oyster to meet Chef Harrison Maung.
If the restaurant is not busy and you are game, we are sure he will love to introduce you to his newest sushi creations. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“YUM!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Enjoyed lunch on the open second floor deck two different days in July/Aug. Oysters on the half shell, so many choices! Nice lobster salad sandwich on a Crostini. Other half had the BBQ BABY BACK RIBS which he said were very good and plentiful 1/2 rack lunch. All items we had were tasty and nicely presented. Service was good

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

if you want the best Glidden Point oysters in town come here. On the half shell they are fresh fresh fresh.. cold and briny! omg the best i ever had, and i've had many. Don't forget to try a few fried ones too, you will be in heaven. They serve amazing burgers too cooked over an open real wood fired grill. All wonderful servers too make you feel super welcome. This place ROCKS!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, WI
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Blueberry beer and Oysters!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The help was wonderful in helping us determine which oysters to eat and how to eat them. This was our first time there and I would defnitely go back again!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mine Oyster also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Mine Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mine Oyster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.