We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fisherman's Festival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tugboat Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tugboat Inn to your Saves list
Tugboat Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Commercial Street, PO Box 267, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fisherman's Festival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My family and I spent a fabulous weekend in Boothbay Harbor for the annual Fisherman's Festival. The Tugboat Inn served as command central for our four families. Built on a peer over the water we couldn't have gotten much closer to the water and all downtown activites. Our rooms faced either the harbor or the bay providing us with spectacular views of the various activites common to an active fishing community.
The rooms were cozy and comfortable. Mike and I enjoyed sitting on the deck watching the birds and boats come and go.The adjoining restaurant provided us with a complimentary breakfast each morning and exquisite dining throught the day. Again, the view of the Harbor enhanced each entre. Service at the Inn and restaraunt was friendly and helpful. It was a great getaway! Can't wait to go again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    94
    32
    10
    7
See reviews for
62
141
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springvale
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Over 30 years ago when my wife and I first got together we took a trip downeast. I had never been north of Freeport. The Tugboat Inn was one of our stops. It has changed since the last time we were there. Had a balcony and nice view of the harbor. Not many places were open. I really wish these seasonal businesses (restaurants in particular) would post on their websites "Closed for the Season". We saw a few interesting restaurants and looking at their websites you would think that they were open.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSS59, General Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks for coming back to see us. We are open April to November and love to see guests in the off season. Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Even though it was late October, we had weather in the 60's and with the sun hitting us on the balcony, it was perfect. In shirtsleeves we watched harbor activity and got our needed rest.
The room had very nice views, was clean, and very close to downtown Boothbay Harbor. Many of the shops were closed for the season, but we took advantage of those hardy souls that remained open. This time of the year is quiet in Boothbay Harbor but suited us to a T.

Room Tip: Third floor has very nice view and really only one floor up as the office and street are at the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Tugboat Inn was a perfect place for my friends and I to stay Oct 18-20. My friends stayed in a room next to mine and we shared a balcony with a view of the bay. The room was cozy, clean and comfortable and the location perfect. It was just a fraction beyond the hustle of the town which gave a feeling of calm. I would recommend the hotel and it's restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Tugboat Inn on Friday night. Everything was great. At check-in the lady at the front desk gave us an upgrade. Our room was on the second floor facing the harbor. We could sit at the window while sipping our Margaritas and watch the boats come in. The bed was comfortable, Keurig coffee in room and a very nice continental breakfast at the Tugboat Inn restaurant. Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We travel to Boothbay every August during the first week and always stay at the Tugboat. This year it was exceptionally nice. We really enjoyed the beautiful weather and the addition of Keurig coffee machines. The rooms are always clean and comfortable, but they could use an update. We enjoyed the restaurant (we discovered wonderful macaroni and cheese) and the bar with Danny Beal on the piano. We always book early (months in advance) and request four rooms on the pier. This year we were not accommodated so that was a little disappointing.

Room Tip: We like rooms on one of the piers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everett, ma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our first time in Boothbay Harbor and would definitely stay at the Tug Boat Inn again. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because of their restaurant. It was expensive and the food wasn't that great. But there are so many places around the area that it doesn't really matter. Perfect location!! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Get the corner room on the 2nd floor with a private deck. A lot of the rooms have shared decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Address: 80 Commercial Street, PO Box 267, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tugboat Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open mid April to late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Tugboat Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tugboat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.