We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Boothbay Harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tugboat Inn

Save Saved
You added Tugboat Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tugboat Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Commercial Street, PO Box 267, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Woodstock
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love Boothbay Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I needed some R&R away from Vermont - something different - and what better place than the seacoast of Maine. We packed up her car and headed out on one of our "roadies". When we left Woodstock/Quechee, we had no destination in mind, other than someplace in Maine. Our first night was spent in Bath - a lovely town. We dined at the Solo Bistro (excellent) and, for our next stop, our waitress recommended The Tugboat Inn in Boothbay Harbor. We splurged for a harbor-view room with a private balcony. Good call on our part. The weather was perfect and we enjoyed our evening cocktails and morning coffee sitting on the balcony, people and yacht-watching. I own a bed and breakfast here in Quechee, VT and provide outstanding service to all my guests. When I travel, I expect the same. The staff at the Tugboat Inn was welcoming, pleasant and up-beat. Our room was very nice but for us, the best part was the view from the balcony. We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Opt for a harbor-view room with its own private balcony - splurge if you have to - but it's wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    79
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
47
108
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Goshen,, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I've stayed at the Tugboat many, many, many times... It is still and will always be a personal favorite. The location doesn't get any better - still the finest view you'll find. The staff is always accommodating. Steamers and beverages on the deck overlooking the water, watching the boats in and out of the harbor always brings me to a better place in heart, mind, body and spirit.

Room Tip: Always love staying on the Tubgoat Pier - nothing like having a room directly on the pier and waking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My niece held her wedding here........what a fun time! The entire staff was so accomodating and just made the event so special for her and her husband! I can't thank them enough!!!!!!! The setting is just perfect........dockside dining with a beautiful view of the harbor! It doesn't get much better than that! THANKS TUGBOAT INN!!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were unhappy with another hotel and checked out early. I almost did not go into the Tugboat Inn because I assumed it was going to be motel quality. I asked to see a room first and got to see a 2 room unit overlooking the water. It was very nice and clean plus both rooms opened out to the deck. Since it was not occupied the night before, we got to check in at noon which was much appreciated. Breakfast included fresh fruit salad too which was unexpected. The bed was so comfortable! There was also a laundry room near the parking lot which was needed for my family of 5!

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Fantastic location. Friendly staff. Great food. Lots to do. Maritime and shopping activities abound in this quaint town. The Tugboat restaurant is excellent with great food and views of the harbor. On-site parking is a plus as street parking can be difficult. I definitely will go back to the Tugboat again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 400 block, overlooking the pier and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CNY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We travel to Maine at least once if not twice a year and have for the last almost 20 years. Although we have made day trips to Boothbay Harbor, we have never stayed there. We really needed to get away and were fortunate to find an opening at the Tugboat Inn, it was WONDERFUL! Perfect view, awesome room (we had a 3rd floor Main Inn king room), and great location for shops, restaurants and just sitting on the dock and taking in the Harbor view and of the boats coming and going. Crystal, I think that is her name, in the front office was a breath of fresh air. Actually, anyone we ran into there was great. This Inn is very comfortable and super clean. Can't wait to go back! Thank you for the VERY much needed pleasant getaway experience!

Andy and Annemarie Dutcher, Mohawk, NY

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The location is fantastic but the inn doesnt come with any bells or whistles. You do pay a premium for the location but the rooms and quality in general is mediocre. I expect more for that price even with the prime location

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Address: 80 Commercial Street, PO Box 267, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#6 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tugboat Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open April to November. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Tugboat Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tugboat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.