We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No improvement needed here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocktide Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rocktide Inn to your Saves list
Rocktide Inn
35 Atlantic Avenue, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2131   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Somerset, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No improvement needed here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just returned to MA from here cannot wait to return again. Great rooms, clean comfortable some with water views. Only pool on this side of the harbor. Complimentary breakfast buffet was great, something for everyone including diabetics. Bar is not to be missed drinks 4 to 6 p.m. top shelf reduced prices also on wine and beers. Can enjoy outside patio for drinks. As for John S. at the bar every knowledgeable, staff is from all over the world. Many folks return year after year and I can understand why. Best lobster ever and price was excellent can order up to 3 lbs. plus. My husband felt one our best vacations ever.

Room Tip: If you want harbor view you must specify. Limited handicap rooms available. Quite a climb to the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    58
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
48
71
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yoe, PA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

First time to this area. The room was a little dated and there was only one small trashcan in the bathroom. The window didn't have a full curtain, so a lot of light came through, had to put a blanket over the window. The room was clean and what we needed for a nights stay. Was nice to have breakfast in the morning. Easy to get to and nice that there is a bridge to get over to the harbor. Would return

Room Tip: Pool closes at 8pm so we missed out on that
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Perfect from the start. One of the cleanest places I've ever stayed, great views, comfortable beds, great location and excellent price. I would definitely stay here again. We stayed in room 112 which was a corner room with 2 sliding glass doors out onto our own patio overlooking the Harbor. Definitely a picturesque setting.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Went back to the Rocktide Inn. Some changes. Mostly good, but they need to work on the breakfast buffet. Bring it back to what it was. Happy hour was great. All the bartenders were
good and helpful. John made a drink my husband just loved.
Booked again for 2015. If you want to stay at a great place in Boothbay Harbor Maine, look to
the Rocktide Inn. Great views from the decks.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We arrived without a reservation, although I did some research ahead of time on the local hotels in case we ended up wanting to stay in Boothbay. We were pleasantly surprised by how nice the inside of the room was as we weren't sure what to expect. The room was very well decorated, clean, and comfortable. We thought this hotel would be a good choice being close to the bridge and having a pool. We ended up not utilizing the pool but enjoyed being able to walk the bridge, take some nice photos, and grabbing dinner downtown. What a great location. Muffins were available upon our arrival and the breakfast was wonderful! Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I will mention, if you are traveling with kids be aware that there is an extra charge per night for the 3rd and 4th child (mine are 11 and 15 and we did have to pay extra for each).
Also, the sofa sleeper wasn't too comfortable but then again they usually aren't.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We kind of jumped the season and went up for a Saturday night mid-June. Everyone on the staff is very friendly and helpful. The inn itself is made up of several different parts: motel-like rooms painted white on the exterior with turquoise partitions on the rooms' balconies, a waterside area for parties (a birthday was being celebrated while we were there), waterside tables for drinks and meals, and an inside dinner/inn/checkin area that is completely different with dark wood and stately ship models on display. The area for the buffet breakfast is also paneled in dark wood with two different tracks of model trains that circle the rooms, much to the delight of the children staying there.

Our room, 153, had just been redone, and while there wasn't a water view, there was a king bed and a lovely cottage-like atmosphere. It has a deck out front which was good to sit on and read. Given that it fronts on the parking lot, though, I'm not sure how "private" it would be during the real summer season.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to return to Rocktide - a really nice place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

for a few years we have been staying down the road. last fall was the last!!!especially when we arrived the sheets were slept in and when I told the lady in the office her mouth was so full of food and she laughed and said she couldn't do nothing about it.
we are not complainers. Well we are so glad we found Rocktide. we love the food many choices for breakfast,and the pool. its so easy to get to the bridge. It was so clean and the staff are so nice and friendly. We will be back again in a few weeks for a week. We usually come 3 or 4 times a summer and Rocktide is where we will be staying!!!

Room Tip: This is the best place to stay in the harbor, the kids love it and the folks are friendly and helpfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocktide Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocktide Inn

Address: 35 Atlantic Avenue, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2131
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rocktide Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocktide Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Rocktide Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocktide Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.