We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the way up the coast from Boston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boothbay Harbor Inn

Save Saved
You added Boothbay Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boothbay Harbor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   31 Atlantic Avenue, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Tetbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“On the way up the coast from Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Lovely town and quaint hotel, with lovely views over the harbour.
Breakfast buffet was good and plentiful, evening meal a bit limited but Fine.
Very friendly staff and a location, we would probably come back to to see more of the coast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    67
    24
    5
    8
See reviews for
43
71
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Clif. We arrived 9/23/2012 monday. Accomodations were very nice and clean. It has best water views of Booth Bay harbor. Excellent harbor cruise included if arrive early. A chance to see seals and islands on the Harbor Princess. Motel is right next door to foot bridge, convenient to shops etc. Excellent time of year to visit, not crowded. Stayed another night later in the week on our way home from up north. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Park and use foot bridge and avoid limited parking in town. Will definitely return. Best time of year. Very picturest. Best bargain in Booth Bay in my opinion. P.S. I always call motels direct for the best price instead of dot com sights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Though this is an older hotel (no elevator and wall-mounted air conditioning), our room was very clean and quite comfortable. The small balcony provided a beautiful view of Boothbay Harbor--we're planning on returning simply so we have more time to enjoy the area! The foot bridge right next door provides the perfect walk into downtown Boothbay, and for those who prefer to drive, it is a 3-5 minute drive to reach the downtown. The staff was very friendly and helpful and our stay was all that we hoped it would be. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Sounds carry to the second floor, so if you want very quiet rooms, staying away from the living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbeson, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived on Thurs. 9/20/2012 and we were registered. There are no elevators only stairs. Not to awful bad but a little taxing on the knees. ;)

The Inn is older than I thought but clean.. The staff were friendly. The food was ok but a little on the pricey side at the Inn, But over in the town prices were better.

Everything that you want to see or do and shop is a across the foot bridge from the Inn. You can drive around to the town which does not take long but, can only park for 2 hours at the parking spaces. I guess because of the turn-over of cars coming in.

You have one-way in and out. The Inn gave us a complimentry ticket for an hour and a half cruise to see the Ilands and the seals. That was a nice trip..

We found out that we could of had a cheaper rate had we called the Inn ourselves instead of booking thru Book.com. All in all it was ok.. For the room we had and all it was overpriced.

Room Tip: If you call the Inn yourself, you can have a cheaper rate with a room facing the whole harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

September is the best time to visit the ocean. It isn't as crowded as the summer,
I/we will make this a yearly excursion. Boothbay Harbor Inn was very nice. It sits right next to
the walking foot bridge. Alllowing easy access to the little shops across the bay.
The view on either side of the buiding is pretty one more than the other. One side overlooks the bay while the other side overlooks the mouth of the ocean and bay. We stayed in the heart of the town the first night but found the place we stayed not to be as nice. So we moved across the bay to a much nicer place BoothBay Harbor Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I think some people have been unfair when reviewing this hotel. Yes the rooms are average especially if like us you have a view of the outdoor kitchen for cooking lobsters--- but then you know they are fresh. The rooms are dated and the ceiling tiles move in the wind but the staff were extreemley helpful.
Breakfast is only continental and only states that it is. Staff refilled pastries ,fruit, juice and coffee whilst we were eating.
The free boat trip is worth taking and an addded bonus. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Requset a room on the front or on the side overlooking the bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed at Browns Wharf Inn in BoothBay Harbor,Maine.The inn was very nice,clean,nice
size rooms and the view of the harbor was beautiful.We ate in their restaurant which was excellent.Next year when we go back to Boothbay we will be staying at Browns Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boothbay Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boothbay Harbor Inn

Address: 31 Atlantic Avenue, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boothbay Harbor Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boothbay Harbor Inn, Boothbay Harbor, MaineWelcome to your waterfront destination, the Boothbay Harbor Inn! We offer sixty deluxe guestrooms, with modern amenities and views of the working waterfront. Most have a balcony or patio (some private) and sunsets are our specialty! We are located at the water’s edge, next to the famous wooden footbridge, which provides easy access to the town of Boothbay Harbor. Just a short walk will take you to a wide variety of shops, galleries,restaurants and boating activities.Our waterfront restaurant, Windows on the Harbor, offers breathtaking water views, spectacular sunsets and nightly entertainment on the baby grand. We feature fresh Maine seafood including Maine lobster, as well as other New England specialties. We offer a full bar, a complete beer and wine list, a well rounded assortment of desserts, and a junior menu. Dinner is served nightly, and reservations are welcome.Our main dining room, as well as our outside tent area, are available for receptions, rehearsal dinners, parties and other gatherings. The restaurant boasts panoramic windows directly facing the harbor, and our front lawn is right at the water’s edge. Our special banquet menus offer a wide variety of options to fit every taste and pocketbook. Special accommodation rates are available for weddings and other large groups, and for individuals we also offer special all-inclusive vacation packages featuring accommodations, meals and activities. We are open mid May to mid October, and are available year round for reservations and information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Boothbay Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boothbay Harbor Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Boothbay Harbor Motel
Boothbay Harbor Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boothbay Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.