We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for a weekend getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boothbay Harbor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Boothbay Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Boothbay Harbor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   31 Atlantic Avenue, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel for a weekend getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We celebrated our 40th anniversary a little early so we could take advantage of the nice summer weather. (We got married in late fall.) Our first time in Boothbay will not be our last. The Boothbay Harbor Inn was the perfect spot and we were treated like true guests from the minute we walked through the front door. We were greeted at the desk by the friendly staff member who told us all about the Inn and the fantastic Lobster Bake in the restaurant that evening.

Our room overlooked the foot bridge and was perfect for our long weekend visit. It was a quaint New England style ocean front hotel room and had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable, had a small fridge and the TV worked great. We certainly appreciated the air conditioning as it was quite warm that weekend.

Everything was within walking distance and the car never moved from the moment we checked in until the time we departed the area. Be sure to bring your walking shoes. We took advantage of the complimentary harbor tour and got a chance to see all the island homes in the harbor.

We recommend this Inn for anyone that is looking for a great place to stay where you are treated well, rooms are clean and want to be close to everything Boothbay has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the footbridge provide a great view of the activity as well as the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    81
    31
    7
    8
See reviews for
46
89
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caibou, Maine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Annual Trip to Boothbay and Cabbage Island. Always stay here, rooms are clean, comfortable upgraded with HUGE flat screen TV and you can not beat the view. Great end room overlooing the Harbor. Only downside no elevator, so with a broken foot it was hard to get to the room, but took the view over the inconvenience. Look forward to next years trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel and had a wonderful experience. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were cozy, but the view was amazing!! Sitting outside in the morning drinking my coffee and looking at the harbour was very relaxing. Once you get to the hotel, park your car and you are in walking distance to shopping and eating. My family and I enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in a deluxe waterfront that was average, except for the view! This hotel could use an overhaul. Beds not very comfortable, the decor was from the 80's, the wifi didn't come close to our room and like another reviewer said, the undersheet did not stay on bed. Continental Breakfast has no selection and if the items weren't already taken, they aren't very good. Waffles, eggs, fresh fruit, etc... would have been welcome.

When we checked in, the sliding glass door was unlocked and the room was very stuffy because the a/c had been completely turned off. One day the maid service left the door to our room ajar! We wish this would have been a better experience and will have to weigh all the options before we return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Great views from 1st or 2nd floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

You really can not beat the location of this hotel. With 100 feet of the footbridge that takes you across the harbor. Parking is great at this hotel. A lot of the area is very difficult to park in. As part of our package we received a harbor tour cruise(a $60 value), which was really great! Our room was on the second floor with a side view of the harbor. Very nice patio. Rooms are old but well kept. Housekeeping was very helpful.
Internet access in the lobby only. The front desk and breakfast area service is lacking, very distracted. Do not plan on the continental breakfast. We went down at 9am (breakfast ends at 9:30). Our only cereal choice was corn flakes, or plain oatmeal. The milk and orange juice were warm. There were also pastries.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Boothbay Harbor Inn was the perfect place for viewing the windjammers and only a short walk across the footbridge to all of the activities and parade. The hospitality was just what one would expect in Boothbay Harbor. Dinner was enjoyable and food & service was excellent.
Would definately stay there next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We were more than pleased with just about everything about our stay here. From the very start, when we were upgraded to a full harbor view room (at no extra cost!) to the coupon for a Harbor Cruise, to the discount coupon for the on site restaurant, we felt so welcome and warmly received!
Even when we were leaving we came reallllly close to trying to stay an additional night but we really were unable to. I know there will be a "next time" and I am sure we will stay longer!
Our only criticism, and it is fairly minor, is that the included breakfast is really pretty limited.

Room Tip: Full harbor view room on second floor was positively beautiful! Sitting out on the balcony was exact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boothbay Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boothbay Harbor Inn

Address: 31 Atlantic Avenue, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boothbay Harbor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boothbay Harbor Inn, Boothbay Harbor, MaineWelcome to your waterfront destination, the Boothbay Harbor Inn! We offer sixty deluxe guestrooms, with modern amenities and views of the working waterfront. Most have a balcony or patio (some private) and sunsets are our specialty! We are located at the water’s edge, next to the famous wooden footbridge, which provides easy access to the town of Boothbay Harbor. Just a short walk will take you to a wide variety of shops, galleries,restaurants and boating activities.Our waterfront restaurant, Windows on the Harbor, offers breathtaking water views, spectacular sunsets and nightly entertainment on the baby grand. We feature fresh Maine seafood including Maine lobster, as well as other New England specialties. We offer a full bar, a complete beer and wine list, a well rounded assortment of desserts, and a junior menu. Dinner is served nightly, and reservations are welcome.Our main dining room, as well as our outside tent area, are available for receptions, rehearsal dinners, parties and other gatherings. The restaurant boasts panoramic windows directly facing the harbor, and our front lawn is right at the water’s edge. Our special banquet menus offer a wide variety of options to fit every taste and pocketbook. Special accommodation rates are available for weddings and other large groups, and for individuals we also offer special all-inclusive vacation packages featuring accommodations, meals and activities. We are open mid May to mid October, and are available year round for reservations and information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Boothbay Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boothbay Harbor Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Boothbay Harbor Motel
Boothbay Harbor Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boothbay Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.