We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown's Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Brown's Wharf Inn to your Saves list
Brown's Wharf Inn
121 Atlantic Avenue, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Although this hotel is a little pricey, it was worth it. We loved our balcony and the whole town! We left Boothbay and went to Bar Harbor. We wished we had stayed in Boothbay. What a great town!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    83
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
84
204
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Tx.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Brown's Inn @ Boothbay Harbor is just lovely. The views on the cove side is just wonderful, and the rooms are quite comfortable. I can't say enough about the staff! They made us feel like long lost family returning home! I can't wait to return next summer.
P.S. The blueberry pancakes, out of this world!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

My family has been staying at Brown's Wharf Inn for over 20 years. We absolutely love it! The views of the marina and harbor from the restaurant and room balconies is terrific. The management and staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner are always delicious. It's also a quick walk over the footbridge to downtown, making the location very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

We had booked 3 nights here and extended our stay an extra night-we would have stayed longer if they hadn't been fully booked for the weekend. Yes the bathroom is tiny, and yes it has a bit of a motel feel to it, but we just loved the view from our room, and location is so important. The restaurant is also excellent, although it is a pity breakfast is not included in the price. We were lucky enough to have perfect weather the whole time, so enjoyed the delights of Boothbay at its best.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We hadn't booked but we got a room with a view of the side cove which was fine. We would have liked a forward facing waterfront room, but who wouldn't? Nothing wrong with the room but nothing outstanding either in a town where rooms are at a premium and all much of a muchness. Browns does have a full service restaurant but we preferred to go into town for dinner even though the hotel is on the "wrong" side of the harbour. It only takes 15 minutes of easy and very scenic walking via the harbour footbridge and you are in the middle of Boothbay. Please note that breakfast is not included and the restaurant gets very crowded because there really isn't anywhere else on this side of the harbour.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLINOIS
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Stayed with my husband at the Inn last weekend for a few days. What a beautiful place We loved our room overlooking the boats and the water. On your private deck it feels like you're on the water too. Got to watch the fishermen pull in their lobster traps. Shops and restaurants very close. Must say the restaurant at the Inn was fabulous. Never a long wait and the food and waitresses were excellent. Thought the soft shell lobsters were great and my husband loved the blueberry desserts. The front desk was friendly and helpful. Everyone seems to go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Great job Brown's Wharf Inn!!! Will stay again when we return to your area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

I hate to post a negative review because the staff was great. Very, very friendly. But the Inn (motel) is just that, a motel. We stayed in a King coveside room for about $150. We walked into a VERY VERY dated room. Old bed with a pre-positioned headboard and two old, small nightstands. One little table and some plastic furniture to place on your porch.

THE GOOD:
-great view of harbor. I'll give them that. You have a personal porch where you can sit and gaze out on the water.

THE BAD:
-room was terrible.
-bathroom average.
-older TV
-location is not really walking distance to the harbor area where shops and restaurants are.

At the end of the day this place is rated #1 on trip advisor and I seriously question the people who are posting the reviews. I've traveled A LOT and stayed at plenty of 4 and 5 star hotels and this place falls WAY short. My fiancee and I were in town scoping out places where our guests can stay when we get married and we found at least 5 B&B's that were MUCH nicer, more modern and up to date for about the same price.

All in all, great service, really nice view, but WAY overrated on trip advisor, not a place I would consider a "nice" or "upscale" hotel or Inn.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brown's Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Wharf Inn

Address: 121 Atlantic Avenue, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#2 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 3 diamond Inn with rooms and restaurant located directly over the ocean on beautiful Boothbay Harbor. All rooms have balconies and a commanding view of the harbor, the ocean and boating activities. Cable TV, telephone, refrigerators, ironers, Wi-Fi, use of computer, park and lock parking. Restaurant has been owned and operated by the Brown Family for the past 64 years, offering a full menu but specializing in local fresh seafood. Inside-outside dining with beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brown's Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Wharf Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Browns Wharf Hotel
Browns Wharf Motel
Browns Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown's Wharf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.