We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view of the harbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown's Wharf Inn

Save Saved
You added Brown's Wharf Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brown's Wharf Inn
121 Atlantic Avenue, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Boca Raton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful view of the harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We wanted a hotel near the Coastal Maine Gardens and this was a great find. It is not fancy but very clean and comfortable. It is right on the harbor so that you can watch the lights come on in the ships and then see the ships come in and out. We would recommend it.

Room Tip: The third floor has a great view and the balcony is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    70
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
74
178
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, RI, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were so looking forward to a restful short vacation so we picked Maine. Great State but Browns Inn was not the best place to be. The staff was friendly but our water view room ended up to be a great view of the road, rocks and seaweed. We were in the side building 2nd floor, yes if you sat on the balcony you could see the water but any other place the trees and road is what you saw. The sheets on the bed did not fit and in the morning they were off the bed. I left a note each day and the same thing happened each night. The room was clean but every night we could hear the headboard in the room next door hit the wall.

Room Tip: Make sure you are guaranteed a room in the front building or go some place else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We LOVE Brown's Wharf Inn and have been staying here since I was a kid. It's nothing fancy, just clean, comfortable and very basic, but OH those views from the porch! Nothing compares....perfect spot for relaxing!

Room Tip: Book a first floor Waterfront room for the absolute BEST VIEWS!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was a last minute choice. We ended up here because we were exploring Maine. We got tickets to go whale watching a decided to stay a couple of nights. We are totally in love with this town. Based on trip advisor and price we chose this hotel. The rooms are clean, roomy, great view, comfy, and totally worth the price. The staff is extremely helpful and pleasant. The restaurant on site is excellent too. In all, I would recommend this place to friends and I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delran
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Brown's Wharf Inn in August. What a treat. Rooms were great. Clean and roomy. Bathroom a little small, but who stays in the bathroom. Staff was very pleasant and friendly and always ready to help. The servers in the restaurant were excellent, food was good and not over priced. The balcony view is great, always something to look at. We are planning to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Excellent facilities. Food was absolutely great. We enjoyed the balcony on our room. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The view from our balcony overlooking the harbor was spectacular.
The whole experience was restful. This place made up our minds to return here (we live in the desert, east of Palm Springs).

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The staff at this hotel was very friendly and helpful. We stayed at a harbor front room which was clean and had a great view of the harbor. The room had a balcony but the balconies are separated by a railing. We like to keep our curtains open at night to view the scenery but the neighbor rooms can see into the room from their balcony. The room was not that quiet since sound could be heard from adjoining  rooms and from people walking along the outside walkway. The motel was a short walk from the main part of Booth Bay Harbor by walking across the 100 year old foot bridge over the harbor. 

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brown's Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Wharf Inn

Address: 121 Atlantic Avenue, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 3 diamond Inn with rooms and restaurant located directly over the ocean on beautiful Boothbay Harbor. All rooms have balconies and a commanding view of the harbor, the ocean and boating activities. Cable TV, telephone, refrigerators, ironers, Wi-Fi, use of computer, park and lock parking. Restaurant has been owned and operated by the Brown Family for the past 64 years, offering a full menu but specializing in local fresh seafood. Inside-outside dining with beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brown's Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Wharf Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Browns Wharf Hotel
Browns Wharf Motel
Browns Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown's Wharf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;