We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brown's Wharf Inn

Save Saved
You added Brown's Wharf Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brown's Wharf Inn
121 Atlantic Avenue, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. It had great views of the harbor and is only a 1/2 mile away from the foot bridge to walk over to the busy shopping area. There was running either way you turned our of the inn for my morning jog. FYI-To the right was more hilly. The staff were exceptional. The balconies were nice. You basically are sitting on the balcony with your neighbors with only a pipe/rail separating you, so it gives you a morning coffee buddy to socialize with.

Room Tip: Great place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    68
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
70
174
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We found your wonderful Inn by chance about 10 years ago and have tried to return every summer since. If we are very lucky we also come back in the fall. The staff are all so friendly and
efficient. We really love the restaurant and always have breakfast and dinner there. Our favorite spot is a third floor room on the front of the building. The lobster boats are a delight to see and all of the marina life is great. It is always fun to see which mega Yacht will arrive. We would highly recommend visiting delightful Inn!

Room Tip: Front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you want to stay close to the harbor in Boothbay, I highly recommend Brown's Wharf Inn. We have rented a house in the past but were only in town for three days this trip so a hotel was the option. Carol at the front desk could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Anything you need, she will get for you. I had the pleasure to meet Mr. Brown as well which was an honor.
The rooms are spacious with wall mounted air conditioning units which run very quietly for a good nights sleep. It's a short 15 minute walk to downtown across the footbridge which makes the location perfect to leave your car at the hotel and not worry about parking downtown. The trolley also runs through every 30 minutes or so which gives you that option for transportation.
We will be back to Brown's Wharf and will look forward to it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We love both Boothbay Harbor and especially Browns Wharf. We go up there at least twice a season and have done so for many years. The staff are friendly, the restaurant excellent and the rooms very acceptable, recognizing that rooms in Boothbay are not at the level of a Five Star Hotel. We would highly recommend this location to anyone who wants a harborside experience in a scenic Maine Harbor.

Room Tip: The Cove side rooms tend to be quieter and do not get the hot afternoon sun. They are great for rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We came back to brown dwarf on the spur of the moment with our 2 grandsons this past week. Nothing has changed since last review except the reminder that the location is gorgeous and the Browns along with her staff could not be more accommodating.

We took our grandsons at the dock to go fishing and Tim Brown graciously gave them a set of lures so that we could be professional.No fish were caught but a good time was had by all

Remember it is not a five star hotel but a five-star location in great condition with excellent customer service good food and owners/staff that truly try to provide the best service possible

Room Tip: Our favorite is the second-floor front and if you get one corner room has extra windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were on an escape from the weather in Texas and decided to spend our last two days in Maine in Boothbay. We chose Browns Wharf Inn straight from Trip Advisor and when we drove into the parking lot we thought we had made a terrible error. Our first impression from the parking lot was that we had chosen a Motel 6 type location. We checked in to our king room facing the harbor. After settling in to the room we began to get a better impression of the Inn and our impression grew the longer we stayed. We felt like we were almost sitting on the sea from our balcony. The view of the harbor is as good as sitting in your own Yacht. We enjoyed watching the yachts and lobster boats coming and going. The room was quiet, the bed was comfortable and we were very pleased with the cleanliness of the entire facility. The only downer was the bathroom. It was so small it was almost a joke but to be honest the shower was great but could use better towels. The management found MiniSplit A/C units so you do not have the noisy through the wall units found in most Motels and the A/C was needed during out stay.
We ate breakfast in the motel dining room and had great meals and service both mornings. We dined downtown in Boothbay for our lunch and dinners but we will plan to try the lobster dinner the next time we stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancin
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

A clean standard hotel room with small bath. View overlooks harbor. Nothing wrong but also nothing that makes this stand out from a standard hotel anywhere in USA. However in the Boothbay arae there are many charming B&B's that offer personalised service, interesting decoration and good food so why stay here - unless standardisation is what you want.

As a note the Hotel Restaurant provided poor service when we stayed there. Dinner took 60 minutes to deliver to our table and regarding breakfast we were told by reception we could arrive a few minutes early as we had an early start but when we did so the restaurant told us such was not possible. So I would strongly suggest eating elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brown's Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Wharf Inn

Address: 121 Atlantic Avenue, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#2 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 3 diamond Inn with rooms and restaurant located directly over the ocean on beautiful Boothbay Harbor. All rooms have balconies and a commanding view of the harbor, the ocean and boating activities. Cable TV, telephone, refrigerators, ironers, Wi-Fi, use of computer, park and lock parking. Restaurant has been owned and operated by the Brown Family for the past 64 years, offering a full menu but specializing in local fresh seafood. Inside-outside dining with beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brown's Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Wharf Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Browns Wharf Hotel
Browns Wharf Motel
Browns Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown's Wharf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.