We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Stress Free Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown's Wharf Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Brown's Wharf Inn to your Saves list
Brown's Wharf Inn
121 Atlantic Avenue, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Framingham, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another Stress Free Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

My wife and I have gone to Brown's many times and each time it gets better and better. The staff are efficient and courteous. The food is excellent, the waitstaff are great and the meals are served with amazing speed. I was astounded. The rooms are clean and the view is spectacular. One can easily walk to the shops in town, or head in the other direction and go to Spruce Point to take in the crashing waves. All you need is all right there!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    83
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
83
204
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Technically, we stayed here in August of 2011, & I'm slow with the review... If you can, get one of the corner rooms, the view is awesome. Just staring at the harbor from the windows or the deck will relax you! Charming lobster boats are docked next to the hotel, and the flower boxes everywhere are beautiful. We loved it here and had a hard time leaving.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at Brown's for 4 nights in June/July and it is still our favorite place to stay in Maine. We always book a room on the third floor/waterfront ... sitting on the balcony overlooking the harbor is just so peaceful and if lucky we watch lobster boats come in and unload their catch. Often there is a elegant yacht tied up to the dock ... this year a 91/2 million dollar job ... we watched the crew clean, polish and stock and then finally a party of 8 boarded ... oh how the other half lives! It is across the harbor from all the hustle and bustle of Boothbay but just a short ride or shuttle trip to visit the bustling shopping mecca. Spent one day on a whale watch and actually saw several whales. The resturant serves great lobster at reasonable prices and the breakfasts are also good. Staff is friendly and service was great . We will be back.

Room Tip: Third floor ... there is an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We love the Brown's Wharf Inn. Our family has been staying there for years. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, and the views are spectacular!! We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Boothbay Harbor!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 via mobile

We've stayed at Browns Wharf Inn about 4 times and there is none better. Service is excellent and the location is great. You will not be disappointed. It's where we will always go back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We have been staying at Browns Wharf for 15 years, and we don't think there is a better choice for location, cleanliness, friendliness and attention to detail. More recently, we have been accompanied by our children and grandchildren, and they love Browns Wharf as much as we do. After years of checking out every peninsula, we are convinced we have found the BEST HOTEL and the BEST VIEW in all of Maine. You can use it as a starting point or you can sit on the deck and watch a real fishing village at work. Heaven!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Brown's Wharf Inn for 3 days during the month of July. We were originally going to Bar Harbor, but decided to spend one day in Boothbay Harbor first. We loved it so much that we never went to Bar Harbor.

We can't say enough about the location, the food, the friendly staff and even the weather! We will definitely be back again next year. Thanks Brown Family!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brown's Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Wharf Inn

Address: 121 Atlantic Avenue, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 3 diamond Inn with rooms and restaurant located directly over the ocean on beautiful Boothbay Harbor. All rooms have balconies and a commanding view of the harbor, the ocean and boating activities. Cable TV, telephone, refrigerators, ironers, Wi-Fi, use of computer, park and lock parking. Restaurant has been owned and operated by the Brown Family for the past 64 years, offering a full menu but specializing in local fresh seafood. Inside-outside dining with beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Brown's Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Wharf Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Browns Wharf Hotel
Browns Wharf Motel
Browns Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown's Wharf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.