We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bet is a true legend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bet's Famous Fish Fry

Bet's Famous Fish Fry
Route 27, Off The Town Square, Boothbay Harbor, ME 4538
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bet is a true legend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Boothbay area is splendidly dotted with great places to eat. Bet, however, is in a class by herself. She is obviously aware of her reputation but will humbly chat with locals or well-educated tourists about what she's been doing successfully for a number of years. And, truly, there is only one reason I can see that she soldiers on everyday, bringing smiles to the countless patrons that visit her, growling bellies anticipating another spectacular indulgence. Love. It's in the food. It's in the air.
The Fish and Chips are almost indescribable. The Brits do theirs with a heavy batter and it works along side the thick cut fries. Mainers have a different idea. Bet puts a light breading on primal size slabs of fresh Haddock and serves it up perfectly fried with daily cut shoestring potatoes. I like her version better than any other. It will blow you away. I don't know if you could do better on the East Coast, West Coast or worldwide. Go see her. Be advised, the portions are massive and built for sharing. I you want a drink, bring your own or visit the soda machines out back. I promise, your stomach will want to sing and dance.
Hehe. See you soon, Bet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    9
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
LaBelle, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Haddock Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stopped at this little fish shack on a recommendation of a friend. There were 3 of us and we ordered the "regular" fish and chips. It was more than enough for the three of us. The huge fish pieces are lightly breaded and deep fried. The chips are hand cut, deep fried and are some of the best fries I've ever had. Don't go there expecting anything other than fish and chips, all they serve is fish and chips. Orders are To Go or you can sit at picnic tables that include umbrellas.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best fried fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I love this place. The reviews were spot on. Excellent fish and fries. I wish I lived closer so I can have this meal every week. The prices were not bad either. We did have a hard time finding it. I thought it was around the bay area. It was inland.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft mitchell, ky
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bet's even tempts local out of towners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Bet's is a must have 2 -4 times when we come to Boothbay. We love her fish and her sense of humor.

Last year, we had a family reunion and needed tables and chairs so we could seat 20 together on the deck and we rented from a business in Damariscotta. When the guy arrived and delivered, we thanked him for making the long trip to East Boothbay. He responded that he never minded coming over to Boothbay because he always stopped at Bet's for lunch. How is that for a recommendation?

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great taste of Maine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Bet's is a great place to stop on the way to Boothbay Harbor or the Botanical Gardens. We had the fish & chips and it was great! Stop over at the park and sit on a bench and enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bet's Famous Fish Fry also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Bet's Famous Fish Fry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bet's Famous Fish Fry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.