We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ vacation at Harborfields, Boothbay Harbor , ME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harborfields Housekeeping Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harborfields Housekeeping Cottages
Save Saved
You added Harborfields Housekeeping Cottages to your Saves list
24 McKown Point Road, West Boothbay Harbor, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04575   |  
Hotel amenities
Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A+ vacation at Harborfields, Boothbay Harbor , ME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just returned from another fabulous A+ vacation at Harborfields (the Wharf) What an incredible cottage..clean, comfortable, beautiful, ..right on the water ! The harbor is ever changing ! Saw eagles, lobster boats, sail boats, seals, shore birds etc. It didn't matter if some days it was rainy or misty..there is always something to see from the deck at the Wharf. Dinner most nights by candlelight at the Wharf watching the lights slowly come on across the harbor.
Close to wonderful restaurants and beautiful day trips ( shopping in town, trips to Southport, Eastboothbay, Reid State Park, Botanical Gardens, Harbor trip on board the Novelty..Hope to come to Harborfields "forever" !!! Thank you to our fabulous managers, Wendy and Tim. Enjoyed meeting you.
Judy and Joe, Londonderry NH

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborfields, Owner at Harborfields Housekeeping Cottages, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi Judy and Joe,

Thank you for your great review!

Wendy and I are working hard to keep Harborfields going in the spirit first established by Wendy's grandparents almost 65 years ago, which we hope you and other guests will indeed be able to continue to enjoy "forever!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell, New Jersey, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

12 years ago when we first came to Harborfields we fell in love with Boothbay Harbor so much so that we purchased land for our retirement. Since then we have come to think of Harborfields as our home away from home and have decided that even when we retire we will continue to vacation here. There is so much that we love We have met so many wonderful people and have made many friendships over the years. The cottages are clean and comfortable. The views of the Harbor are breathtaking. I especially love the full moon over the town of Boothbay and the sunrise in the morning. swimming off of the dock or the cove. Bring a kayak and spend the morning exploring the coves. A nice walk into town for a nice breakfast or some shopping. Fabulous clam chowder and fresh seafood in the restaurants or from the fish markets to cook back in your cottage. Relax and read a book or just spend time being. It truly is HEAVEN ON EARTH!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborfields, Owner at Harborfields Housekeeping Cottages, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi Sue H,

Thank you for the wonderful review!

Over the years, we've had many long-time guests who decide to buy their own second home in the area, a tribute to all that the Boothbay Harbor region has to offer.

We're glad you are still coming to Harborfields for your vacations, despite your investment in property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently stayed at Harborfields for a 3 night visit and we were extremely pleased with our stay from check-in to check-out. The resort is only about a 5 minute drive from downtown Boothbay Harbor if the need for restaurants or gift shops arises.

We stayed at the Wharf Cottage which is basically a stand alone efficiency unit and we found that, although rustic and basic in it's appearance, it was just what we needed. It definitely had that 50's/60's decor and feel, but it was neat, clean and perfectly fitting for the surroundings and was perched right over the water looking down on the dock area and harbor. You can't get any closer to the water or more scenic than this.

The view out the front picture window and the deck that ran along the front of the cottage were the best features of the cottage. Unobstructed views of the harbor with the town lights in the distance were just what you would expect on a Maine postcard. And it was so quiet and tranquil and no bugs either!

It rained for much of our stay, but the coziness of the cottage and the roll-out deck awning made things enjoyable. We did not fire up the wood burning stove as it was too warm during our stay, but it was a nice amenity to have if you needed it. We brought a fan for circulation, but found that one was already provided. That was the case most of the time. As soon as you thought there was something that you needed, you would pull out a drawer and there it was.

I had the best night's sleep that I had in quite a while. We were able to grill out on the deck with the provided BBQ, just bring your own charcoal (even though a previous guest left some). It was fun to listen to the local Coast Guard station and Yacht club render evening colors. The Yacht Club fires a shot which is kind of neat. It was so relaxing sitting on the deck with a beverage and watching the harbor as the sun went down. Unbeatable.

We did not have much interaction with Tim and Wendy, the owners, but they were very friendly and accomodating when we did. Thankfully, we did not need to bother them, or them us. But it was nice to know they were there if need be. They and their son seemed to do the bulk of what needed to be done around the place with some housekeepers helping with the cottage turnarounds on Saturday.

Overall, this was an extremely restful vacation and we will certainly look forward to returning next year if we can find an open date for the Wharf Cottage. The only thing I would bring next time or hopefully it would be available at the resort would be kayaks to take out on the harbor. That would have added another dimension to an already great stay. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborfields, Owner at Harborfields Housekeeping Cottages, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! What a great way to break the ice and get us started with reviews on TripAdvisor!

While we don't have any kayaks, we do have a couple of rowboats available for guests to use free of charge (lifejackets can be found in the box on the dock). Kayaks can be rented in town at Tidal Transit (they'll even deliver the boats over to Harborfields if your rental is for three days or more).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harborfields Housekeeping Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborfields Housekeeping Cottages

Address: 24 McKown Point Road, West Boothbay Harbor, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04575
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Boothbay Harbor
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harborfields Waterfront Vacation Cottages is a friendly vacation resort on over a quarter mile of saltwater shoreline with dock, floats, boats, and moorings, and 8 acres of woods and fields. In addition to our 1780 Farmhouse and the Lodge, we feature another 7 fully-equipped housekeeping cottages, each with its own special water view, lining our shore and surrounding our waterfront meadow. Harborfields overlooks the marine activity in Boothbay Harbor and the beauty of the village, a mile across the water. We are secluded, yet only two miles by land from the town center, convenient to restaurants, shops, churches, theaters, yacht club and boat landings. We extend a warm invitation to spend your vacation time in Maine with us at Harborfields, and discover the way life can be! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harborfields Housekeeping Cottages Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborfields Housekeeping Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.