We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Day for Whales” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch

Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch
42 Commercial Street, Piers 1 and 7, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
800-636-3244
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Ships, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cap'n Fish's offers daily cruises to whale feeding grounds.expert narration,full galley, temp controlled and fast modern ships. In addition to Whale Watching, we offer many other sightseeing cruises, including our PUFFIN WATCH cruises (narrated by the National Audubon), our Kennebec River Cruises,lobster trap hauling cruises, lighthouses, seals, harbor cruises. A FEW REASONS TO CHOOSE US FOR THE FINEST WHALE WATCHING EXPERIENCE: Cap'n Fish's in the ORIGINAL Whale Watch in the Mid Coast Maine region, and have the most knowledge of whale feeding grounds, whale movement during different times of the season, and where to go for the BEST Whale Watch Experience In Maine. Founded over 80 Years Ago, we have been whale watching far longer than anyone on the midcoast. VESSEL SPEED: Cap'n Fish's has the fastest vessels in the region which provides more time to visit the whales at the feeding grounds. PASSENGER COMFORT: We have the largest and most comfortable Main Salon in the region with individual padded seats. You can relax with food and a drink in our temperature controlled main salon, which also features a 360 degree view of the outside. Our upper deck which features individual cushioned seats, and the best, and largest, top deck in the region for whale watching. CAPTAINS & CREW: Cap'n Fish's onboard marine biologists and naturalists have a vast knowledge of the marine life found on the gulf of Maine, and provide expert narration. If no whales are seen the day you go, you will be issued a standby pass good for not only another whale watch, but it may also be used on any of our other sightseeing cruises such as 3 hour Kennebec River Cruise, National Audubon Puffin Nature Cruise, Capt'n Combo and many more. So, if no whales are seen your options are many here not just to on another whale watch, it's your choice!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Bad Day for Whales”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Ok, let me say right up front that a Whale Watching Tour cannot control the beasties. They are either there or not. On the day we went out, there was some whale "sightings" but not the kind of experience we had in Alaska. Rather more like whale shadows. In fact we were laughing that we saw more whale action the year we rented a condo in Ocean City, MD. Other than having a corral with whales in the Atlantic, these folks cannot control if you see a whale or not. The day we went it was overcast, sliding rapidly into rain and driving winds. Once again, they cannot control the weather. But I think you need to know that you do not sail a few miles out into a bay and see whales. It is a trek to the grounds. The boat wallows around a lot. Now, we are sailors and we have spent a considerable amount of time in ferries all over the world, and I was a little surprised at the wallow on the Pink Lady. Hard to take pictures, even if you see whales. The woman doing the narration cannot be understood over the PA system, so it doesn't add a lot. On the tour we were on, there was a very young baby -- about 3 weeks old -- and many of us thought she and the mother were going to go over the side or fall down the ladder. (Who in their right mind would take a kid that young on a whale tour in the Atlantic???!!!)
So, if you want to take a chance, go for it. It was not a good day for us, but sometimes you get lucky. If you are prone to motion sickness, you might want to re-think this.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    49
    17
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somers Point, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous and best dog friendly activity around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This has become our annual MUST GO activity when we vacation in Maine!! We've taken tours with this company for the past two years. Last year did the Kennebec River & Bath trip---loved it and highly recommend it if you want to see the best of this region. We still talk about that trip. This week we went out with Cap'n Fish twice--Whale Watching and the Cap'n Combo coastal tour. Saw humpback whales, fin whales, harbor seals and a pod of jumping porpoise on whale trip. On the Combo tour, we saw some beautfiul coastal areas and back harbors. Crew was wonderful, boat was clean and they even let us bring our Labrador Retriever on both trips for a very modest fee. We always travel with our pup and, being a water dog, he was in his glory on each trip. The crew was knowledgable and we learned fascinating info on each trip. If you want a great day on the water, go out on the Cap'n Fish!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Got whales?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

the boat ride was great and we saw whales as well as seals. loved it!!!! The day was just perfect the staff on the boat were very knowledgeable about area and we learned alot about the area

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun and very worthwhile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I've been on several whale watches and we kept at it until we'd seen them. One finback whale came to the surface only 50 feet away. While you don't really "see" much whale on these excursions, you do get a sense of their massive size and majesty. The narrator did a fine job of informing us of the other sea creatures and birds as well as landmarks we saw along the way. Unlike other ventures like this, the PA system she used was clear and ungarbled. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice crew, accommodating management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were "fogged" out of the fireworks cruise on July 4, 2011 and received rainchecks. We didn't return to Boothbay Harbor until Labor Day 2012 and there was no problem taking the Captain's Special cruise. Just checked in at the ticket booth showed the rep our rainchecks and we were permitted to board. Unfortunately, the weather was awful, rainy and chilly, but the boat went out and the crew did its best under the circumstances. We thoroughly enjoyed the sites and learning the history of the area!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.