We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch

Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch
42 Commercial Street, Piers 1 and 7, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
800-636-3244
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cap'n Fish's offers daily cruises to whale feeding grounds.expert narration,full galley, temp controlled and fast modern ships. In addition to Whale Watching, we offer many other sightseeing cruises, including our PUFFIN WATCH cruises (narrated by the National Audubon), our Kennebec River Cruises,lobster trap hauling cruises, lighthouses, seals, harbor cruises. A FEW REASONS TO CHOOSE US FOR THE FINEST WHALE WATCHING EXPERIENCE: Cap'n Fish's in the ORIGINAL Whale Watch in the Mid Coast Maine region, and have the most knowledge of whale feeding grounds, whale movement during different times of the season, and where to go for the BEST Whale Watch Experience In Maine. Founded over 80 Years Ago, we have been whale watching far longer than anyone on the midcoast. VESSEL SPEED: Cap'n Fish's has the fastest vessels in the region which provides more time to visit the whales at the feeding grounds. PASSENGER COMFORT: We have the largest and most comfortable Main Salon in the region with individual padded seats. You can relax with food and a drink in our temperature controlled main salon, which also features a 360 degree view of the outside. Our upper deck which features individual cushioned seats, and the best, and largest, top deck in the region for whale watching. CAPTAINS & CREW: Cap'n Fish's onboard marine biologists and naturalists have a vast knowledge of the marine life found on the gulf of Maine, and provide expert narration. If no whales are seen the day you go, you will be issued a standby pass good for not only another whale watch, but it may also be used on any of our other sightseeing cruises such as 3 hour Kennebec River Cruise, National Audubon Puffin Nature Cruise, Capt'n Combo and many more. So, if no whales are seen your options are many here not just to on another whale watch, it's your choice!
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Awesome Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great trip, it started a bit slow...a few seals and porpoise's here and there, then all of a sudden there were whales everywhere. Saw 4 different types of whale, multiple pods of porpoise's, and at least 10 seals! Great crew, excellent guide that knew exactly what she was talking about, definitely worth the money.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    49
    17
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woburn, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Whale Watch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Took my niece and her new husband on a whale watch adventure. They were honeymooning from Italy and were very excited to experience a whale watch. The day was perfect, bright blue sky and summery. We had a very good time, although we saw no whales. They were still impressed with the cruise, and loved Boothbay. We were given vouchers for another trip, since we failed to see any whales, which was a nice touch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Brilliant-we saw several whales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We saw several whales including a mother and her calf! It was amazing. We saw a few creatures like harbour seals and porpoises then after about an hour and a half we started spotting whales everywhere. They were spouting and swimming right by the boat. Tip-sit downstairs at the front-less crowded and easier to see whales.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“We had a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a great time and saw a lot of whales, some dolphins, and seals. We were very close to the whales which was awesome. You never know what you are going to see on a given day but we were very happy with all the whales we got to see (I will second what Ruth says below- we only saw one particular breed of whale so you didn’t see their tails come up or their faces- doesn’t lend super great for photos but it was amazing to see these creatures so its definitely worth the trip! You are there for the experience, not the photos, right?)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boothbaywhales, Naturalist at Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hello MC F, Thank you for joining us on board the Harbor Princess for a whale watch tour and we are glad you enjoyed your trip with us! The whale watch "experience" is one we hope our passengers will remember for quite some time, long after your photos have been filed away! We agree, sometimes it's better to just put down your camera and really take in what is happening around you! Thanks again for taking the time to write a review for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't waste 3 hrs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Light houses were so small nothing great nothing else Interesting saw on egal maybe go for people 65+

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.