We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots and lots of whale spottings!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch

Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch
42 Commercial Street, Piers 1 and 7, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
800-636-3244
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Ships, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cap'n Fish's offers daily cruises to whale feeding grounds.expert narration,full galley, temp controlled and fast modern ships. In addition to Whale Watching, we offer many other sightseeing cruises, including our PUFFIN WATCH cruises (narrated by the National Audubon), our Kennebec River Cruises,lobster trap hauling cruises, lighthouses, seals, harbor cruises. A FEW REASONS TO CHOOSE US FOR THE FINEST WHALE WATCHING EXPERIENCE: Cap'n Fish's in the ORIGINAL Whale Watch in the Mid Coast Maine region, and have the most knowledge of whale feeding grounds, whale movement during different times of the season, and where to go for the BEST Whale Watch Experience In Maine. Founded over 80 Years Ago, we have been whale watching far longer than anyone on the midcoast. VESSEL SPEED: Cap'n Fish's has the fastest vessels in the region which provides more time to visit the whales at the feeding grounds. PASSENGER COMFORT: We have the largest and most comfortable Main Salon in the region with individual padded seats. You can relax with food and a drink in our temperature controlled main salon, which also features a 360 degree view of the outside. Our upper deck which features individual cushioned seats, and the best, and largest, top deck in the region for whale watching. CAPTAINS & CREW: Cap'n Fish's onboard marine biologists and naturalists have a vast knowledge of the marine life found on the gulf of Maine, and provide expert narration. If no whales are seen the day you go, you will be issued a standby pass good for not only another whale watch, but it may also be used on any of our other sightseeing cruises such as 3 hour Kennebec River Cruise, National Audubon Puffin Nature Cruise, Capt'n Combo and many more. So, if no whales are seen your options are many here not just to on another whale watch, it's your choice!
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Lots and lots of whale spottings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This last trip on Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch was awesome! We followed several whales for a few hours. They came up close to the boat, we had incredible views each time they came up. The narrator on the boat ride was full of knowledge. Loved, loved, loved it!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    49
    17
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flint, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great trip, great price, saw lots of whales, definitely a must-do while here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

we went on this trip not sure what to expect but had such an awesome time! the captain and the crew were so great and we saw whales, a few seals and a white tipped shark. i would definitely recommend this trip for anyone who visits this area.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, CT
1 review
“Puffins Galore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Wow! What an amazing trip. The ride out to Eastern Egg Rock from Boothbay Harbor was fast and pleasant. The Audubon guide was excellent and informative. When we got to the location the captain took his time circling the island slowly several times. the puffins were swimming and flying all around us. It was truly a wonderful trip and something every bird lover should do at least once in their lifetime. Thanks for the fantastic trip!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome trip, people, boat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 via mobile

What a great trip!!! We absolutely love the Harbor Princess & her wonderful crew! Whale watching on the Princess is definitely the best!! Strongly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boothbaywhales, Manager at Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review!! Hope to see you on board soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay, Maine
1 review
“Whale watching and so much more along the coast of Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Very informative tour, saw a basking shark, it followed the boat for about 30 minutes.Then we saw a fin back whale several times. Just watching for the whale blows is exciting. I read their facebook entries everyday to see how much marine life they experienced on that particular day. If you don't see whales they invite you back free on another day. I have been several times and have enjoyed each visit. The sites and sounds of the Atlantic ocean make this experience one you will always remember.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boothbaywhales, Manager at Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
We appreciate the great support of all of our passengers on Trip advisor and Facebook, Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.