We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn to your Saves list
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Atlantic Ave., Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hackensack, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I found many hotels in the Boothbay Harbor area with rooms in the $150 range and I didn't want to spend that much. Based on positive reviews here, I went with Cap'n Fish and am very happy with my choice. For $99, we stayed in a clean room with a decent bed and nice bathroom that had a great shower. Unless you want to be on the side of the harbor that has some nightlife, I would highly recommend Cap'n Fish!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    54
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
41
84
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have nothing but compliments for Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn. As indicated in the title, it is clean, comfortable and very convenient to everything in BoothBay Harbor via the Footbridge. Most of the rooms have great views of the harbor. The staff are personable and extremely helpful. While I did not try the on-premise Dockside Grill, I heard good things about it. Very good lobster specials and BYO. My only reason for not rating the hotel higher is a relative ranking on a scale of 1-5. Is this a five star hotel? No. This is a pretty basic room, albeit with a great view. That said, I would stay here again in a heartbeat. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, basic room at a fair price, this is the place for you. If you are looking for a lot of amenities, pool, etc.which would increase the rating, as well as the price, you should look elsewhere. Great job folks.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Beautiful harbor view from most room.......some views better than others but management works to book you into the best view available at the time. We have always found that the attitude of the front desk person on arrival greatly influences our expectations when we are in a new area for the first time. These people were great and still enthusiastic even at the end of a busy season. Very helpful and friendly~ responding to requests quickly and politely.
Casual restaurant close to the water. Fun to visit with local fisherman while having breakfast. Free continental breakfast offered with rooms was disappointing.Easy and interesting walk to many restaurants and shopping via the footbridge over the harbor. It is nice to be able to leave the car parked.
Rooms are simple & clean, the bed comfortable but with awkward lighting ~ our front, corner room was large sized. If you like to leave the drapes open for the light & the view you may be startled as we were when people walked by and peeked in !! Be forewarned !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. This is a three-building hotel, all three buildings located in such a way that they face the water to the max.
We had a nice room on the corner of the 2nd floor, which gave us a nice terrace to sit and relax while overlooking Boothbay Harbor.
Very friendly staff, and most helpful as well.
All day long you can get coffee and tea in the lounge area, facing the reception desk.
Free wifi in this hotel, easily accessible and fast.
Large king bed, refrigerator, iron, etc. in the room. Pretty complete.
The room was clean to perfection.
Although being perfectly located opposite Boothbay Harbor centre and close to a foot bridge crossing the harbor, this inn is not expensive at all. So we got excellent value for money.
Ample parking space in front of the hotel available.

The rooms are a bit noisy. Thin floors I presume. We heard a gentleman snoring in the room under us....

All in all very recommendable, this inn. The perfect place to stay at Boothbay Harbor and enjoy the splendid surroundings.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with ocean view. Those are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at Cap'n Fish's. The room was very clean and comfortable. The Dockside Grill on the premise is quite good for breakfast. Great lobster omelet. Close to the footbridge to the town. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at Capt Fish's Waterfront Inn! We had a large deck outside our room and enjoyed sitting out looking at the sailboats, ships, and lobster boats in the harbor. We also liked watching the town across the water. We could walk across the footbridge to shopping, restaurants, and the dock to get on our whale watching tour. The Dockside Grill right in the parking lot was a great place to eat. Our rooms were older but clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The weather improved just before labor day so we made a trip we had been thinking of to booth bay harbor. I contacted several motels in the area but somehow Capn Fish's seemed the right fit. The most expensive room facing the water was $130 and we booked it. We were not expecting much but were very pleased. Rooms a little smaller but recently updated with new bathrooms and flat screen tv's. Only thing we did not like was the free continental breakfast, not much to try except the coffee. The weather was perfect for us to leave the windows open for the fresh air, the view of the harbor spectacular and so calm. I think we ate lobster at every meal and never spent more than $20 sometimes for three lobsters for one person. Red's is also great for lunch on the way in. McSeagulls was good for food and entertainment and only a short walk. We wish we had tried the kayaks or boards we saw people floating on, but we will go back again!

Room Tip: Pay the extra $15 and get a room facing the water. You will have a good size deck and table to call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn

Address: 65 Atlantic Ave., Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn offers comfortable, clean accommodations at a very reasonable price. Many rooms have a water view. All rooms are air conditioned and offer free wi-fi, cable tv, in room coffee makers, hairdryers, irons/ironing boards. The lobby offers complimentary coffee all day and a continental breakfast from 7-10:30 daily. Our on site Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in season. Hotel guests receive discounts on Caap'n Fish's Whale Watch, Puffin Watch and Sightseeing Cruises. The view is spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap`n Fish`s Waterfront Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.