We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn to your Saves list
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Atlantic Ave., Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mini Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The inn was nice. Rooms are small, but livable. When the A/C broke down in our room, they were right there to fix it with no problem and apologized for the situation. Breakfast was good for children. Two different kinds of cereal, donuts and they did have coffee and tea. The staff was very nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: Choose room with Harbor View or Waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    69
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
53
93
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is in a great location next to the walking bridge which brings you into the town. The hotel itself is older however, you are in a sea town (small village) so your not going to find upscale hotel chains. If your looking for the Ritz Carlton you won't find it here. You get what you pay for. However, what makes this such a nice place to stay is the staff. The woman who handled my reservation and who had met me upon my arrival was delightful and informative. This hotel is also pet friendly which is a plus for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We happened on Cap'n Fish's for a last minute/first time trip to Boothbay Harbor, ME. What luck! Thanks to the TA reviews, I chose this inn and it served its purpose beautifully. We had a good clean room with a harbor view, (once you went out on the deck). It was quiet there, the people in the front office couldn't have been friendlier, the beds were comfortable, the price totally reasonable,and the location was perfect for our needs. We were able to walk across the footbridge into the town of BBH, and yet get away from the crowds when we had enough. We chose 2 restaurants for dinner; one between Cap'n Fish's and Brown's, the Boothbay Harbor Lobster Wharf, our first night and enjoyed a fabulous lobster dinner. The next night we walked the other way, to the Lobster Dock, and had an okay fisherman's platter. Should have stuck to lobster. Both restaurants had seating overlooking the harbor, outdoors, so we aren't complaining! We also had breakfast first at The Bridge, in town (it was okay) and then right at the Dockside Grill on the Capn Fish's Inn premises. I prefer the Dockside, cause we sat right on the harbor again.(love sitting on the harbor!) We also brought and made our own coffee in the room (no keurig here, but a real coffee pot...yes!!) and brought it to accompany our fine blueberry pancake breakfast at Dockside. On the way up to Boothbay, we stopped in Georgetown at 5 Islands Lobster for lobster roll sandwiches. Man o man yumness. We took a lot of typically Maine, fabulous BRLT hikes- but-didn't explore the Botanical Gardens. Guess we'll just have to return to Boothbay, and Cap'n Fish's will be our inn of choice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Small rooms, but very clean and a very helpful staff. A harbor view at a very affordable price.
would definitely recommend and would stay there again. A short walk to the footbridge which leads to the busy side of the harbor for shopping and boat trips and restaurants..

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room and on the lower floor if you do want to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

What a great value for Boothbay Harbor! The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We booked the day we arrived in BBH after calling around to many hotels. The room was great and even though they said it wasn't a harbor view, we had a beautiful view of the harbor out our front door. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylerville, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We literally started calling motels as were driving into town and Cap'n's had one room left. Staff was very friendly, accommodated the three of us, recommended restaurants etc. Room reminded me of the motels I visited as a child. Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: The motel is on the harbor so many have a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This Inn says "Welcome to 1970" when you first enter. In most place that wouldn't work, but here it adds to the ambience. Boothbay is a great"get away from it all" place, and what better way to leave the hassles of this world for a bit, than to feel like you've stepped back to a simpler time? The view is pristine, and you're with in walking distance of all the wharf. Going on a cruise with Cap n Fish is a must, be it a whale watch, puffin cruise or whatever, and you can get discounted tickets here. If we're ever back in Boothbay, we'll be right back at this Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.0 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocktide Inn
Rocktide Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 2 in Southport
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn

Address: 65 Atlantic Ave., Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn offers comfortable, clean accommodations at a very reasonable price. Many rooms have a water view. All rooms are air conditioned and offer free wi-fi, cable tv, in room coffee makers, hairdryers, irons/ironing boards. The lobby offers complimentary coffee all day and a continental breakfast from 7-10:30 daily. Our on site Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in season. Hotel guests receive discounts on Caap'n Fish's Whale Watch, Puffin Watch and Sightseeing Cruises. The view is spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap`n Fish`s Waterfront Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.