We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spruce point inn aims to please.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   88 Grandview Avenue, PO Box 237, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Boston ,MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Spruce point inn aims to please.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I wanted to offset an earlier comment I'd made about this inn.
They do have issues with their WIFI capability, but when they discovered we were having an issue with the signal strength in our cottage room (Sunset C) they first tried adjusting the signal strength asking for our feedback afterward. When that didn't work, they provided us with a personal verizon "jet pack" hotspot for our room. Thank you Spruce Point Inn for your extra effort.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    86
    28
    12
    3
See reviews for
171
214
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ft Lauderdale, Fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I must admit that I am very particular and travel often. SPI is a very special place. From the moment that you wind the corner and see the property your "relaxation gene" kicks in. The gardens are amazing as is the ocean view which are all visible from check in to your suite. SPI is a place to relax at the Oceanside pool or take in one of many activities that are complimentary. I chose paddle boarding on the Harbor. All of the choices are gratis and first class.

The staff is excellent. They are professional, personable,and relaxed at the same time. Dining in the restaurants is excellent.

I travel often and must admit i rarely write a review. SPI is very special and worth the review. SPI is worth the visit. Relax in an amazing location and have the choice of what your downtime consists of!

I will be back.

Room Tip: Ocean view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I got married on 08/2/14. My wife and I stayed here with our families last week. Very one is so helpful and respectful. There is so much to do just on the resort. They provide a ferry for you to take over to the harbor which is nice.. Love SPI!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This property is well maintained, the staff are friendly and helpful and there is great attention to detail. Best surprise was that the food and beverage were outstanding. No taking advantage of a captive audience at all--we truly wanted to dine there for every meal.
Our room was clean and comfortable. We appreciated the refrigerator. I would agree with other reviewers that the wifi should be better described because it does not work well, which is understandable, but then it should just be honestly related to the guests. My husband actually needed it in order to study for his daily navigation exercises and could not, which was a problem.
Great attention to detail--one day we had wet swimsuits on the porch railing and a houseman came with golf cart to all of the cottages and was hanging people's wet garments on drying racks. There is so much to do, or not to do, for everyone. We took advantage of the salt water pool, the s'mores pit at night, the playground and rec room.
What a treat! Great value!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Seabreeze cottage, #2. It was roomy enough for my husband and 3 year old son. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathsville, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Last year the WIFI was not good. This year I took my Verizon Jet Pack and had excellent service. I heard that ATT was spotty in the area. We visited the craft brewery, botanical garden, and took the Puffin cruise. Most of the visit was foggy but it's Maine. Had some form of lobster every day. It's not really Maine Lobster unless you eat it in Maine.

Room Tip: Cottages have easier access to your car but main building is easier access to bar and dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am pleased you enjoyed another summer vacation at Spruce Point Inn. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We continue to make every effort to simplify and expand our internet connectivity. We installed additional hot spots in the past few months. The wireless signal is strong at Spruce Point. it is being received by folks on Southport Island, across the bay. It's not only a wireless signal at issue. We find that in many instances individual devices create compatibility problems, a high number of guests streaming video affects bandwidth, and just plain interference occurs at some locations.

Yesterday I ordered a Verizon USB antennae, to test. Similar to the five complimentary Verizon cell phones we keep at the desk for guests with AT&T connectivity issues. Providing a USB wireless cell antennae to guests who are having a signal connection issue, may rectify the problem.

Thank you again for your visit and review. We WILL solve this issue.

Sincerely,

Angelo DiGiulian
adigiulian@sprucepointinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Our recent trip to Boothbay Harbor, Maine, included a stay at the Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa. This property is so special, it really is a jewel on the East Coast. The grounds are so beautifully landscaped, it looks like a botanical garden from the minute you arrive. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, and very interested in making your stay perfect. The rooms are so well appointed, and offer beautiful views of the ocean from your private balcony. And dining in 88 was truly an experience fit for a gourmet. Don't miss this experience if you are headed up to Maine for a summer retreat.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

WIFI should not be listed as an amenity. The service provided to the room is the worst I've ever experienced. That includes Italy! The wifi to the room in the sunset cottage was so weak none of our devices could connect. If we hadn't planned on having it available we would have been better off.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing to Trip Advisor while you are still staying in the hotel. I'm sorry that your experience is average because of the wireless connection. If engineering was not able to help you with your connectivity issues today please contact me. I do hope you enjoy the rest of your stay.

Sincerely,

Angelo DiGiulian
adigiulian@sprucepointinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Address: 88 Grandview Avenue, PO Box 237, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#1 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Point Inn is exactly what most guests picture when they think of an oceanside resort in Maine. Located about an hour drive "down east" from Portland in the seafaring village of Boothbay Harbor. For more than 100 years, the inn has attracted travelers from across the United States and has provided a refreshing backdrop for families and friends to create delightful memories. Along a stunning stretch of oceanfront on Maine's rugged coast, the Spruce Point Inn is a family resort and the ideal venue for memorable reunions, seaside weddings, romantic getaways and business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Point Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Spruce Point Resort
Spruce Point Inn Resort And Spa Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.