We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is the best part” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   88 Grandview Avenue, PO Box 237, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
College Station, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The view is the best part”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I'm conflicted. I went thinking it would be a nice, upscale hotel with a good view. Actually, it is an amazing view with a rustic cabin feel to the room. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters. It's a large room. The furniture is early American from the 1950's. The bathroom has a linoleum floor with an old tub and plastic surround. I must say it was all very clean with is hugely important. Still, there was no way I would take a bath there. The floors look cool, but they are squeaky and creaky and you hear your neighbors walking on their creaky floors and opening their dresser drawers. There was a big storm the night we were there and something on the balcony was banging in the wind all night. However; it has the most amazing view which was just a feast for the eyes. We ate at the restaurant 'Bogies' on site. Good food and good service. I don't think we would stay here again, but in Boothbay Harbor (from what I could tell) this is the best place in town. If you have any mobility issues this would be a tough place for you to get around. I would probably have given it a higher rating if I would have been expecting a rustic, cabin type room. I felt a little bit like I was at camp when I wanted to feel like I was at a nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry we were unaware that you probably preferred one of our Modern Lodge rooms instead of The Inn. We would have been pleased to have changed your room if requested. The photos on our website for Captains Quarters show all the areas of the room and bath….and the actual view. You must not have looked at the photos. Please contact me as I would be happy to extend our Modern Lodge room to you in the future. I think you would find the bathrooms in the Modern Lodge rooms perhaps more to your liking. Many offer large soaking tubs and or whirlpools, a separate shower, and are finished in porcelain or marble. The guest room furnishings are more contemporary as well.

From our website “Modern Lodge Rooms at Spruce Point Inn add further diversity to the mix of our Maine accommodations. These guest rooms are located in seven modern Lodges, which include: Bluebird, Lark, Seagull, Evergreen, Puffin, Loon, and Seabreeze…..Perhaps the most hotel-like of the guest rooms, these rooms offer ample room to relax and the benefits of an extended-stay experience -- sitting area, gas fireplace, historical resort photography, Queen sleeper sofas in many rooms, air-conditioning, plush-top beds with triple sheeting in luxurious linens, private covered porches with traditional Adirondack or rocking chairs and woodland, partial, ocean, or oceanfront views. Enjoy an array of in-room amenities including an LCD flat-screen television, an iPod docking station, complementary wireless access, a refrigerator with Poland Spring water, and Keurig coffee-maker with an assortment of Green Mountain coffee and teas.”

For future guests interested in the Captains Quarters, please visit the website under Lodging/The Inn/Captains Quarters. You will see in the photos that Captains Quarters is a gorgeous room with historic Moosehead furnishings, a private porch with spectacular view, and a cozy pine-paneled bathroom. The unique linoleum on the floor in the bathroom was installed in 2005. The original hardwood floors in the guest room were restored in 2011. As this guest suggests --- the floors are pretty cool. This said, the Inn is 100 years old and does retain the creaks, ambiance, and patina you would expect. For guests who enjoy something historic, fresh and unique, The Inn rooms should be a consideration for you. And, the view simply does not get any better.

adigiulian@sprucepointinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    86
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
172
217
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

great place to stay, but i am a cigar smoker and they have a totally non smoking policy on the property. they have a wonderful view of the sound and light house with andriandeck chairs with a great seating area but won't allow any smoking of any kind :(. it was awesome to visualize though! The cottage was really cool, had the kitchen and living area, would have been great to share with someone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We recently had a most memorable meal at The Spruce Point Inn. We dined in "88" and had some truly wonderful dishes. There were six of us so we were able to taste a variety of items. The forks were flying!
Some of the favorite appetizers we tried were grit cake with mushroom ragout(outstanding), crab cake(great), and scallops(perfect). For dinner you can't miss the butternut squash ravioli, or for the meat lovers the lamp chops or steak. The desserts were very, very good-creme brulee, chocolate cake but the best of the best was pumpkin cheesecake with a chocolate dipping sauce. Wishing I had a piece right now!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This resort is an exceptionally beautiful spot. The sunsets looking out over the water were stunning! We loved the trails and the game facilities. Even the laundry was convenient and helpful as we included our stay there during a 2 week Maine adventure. Food in the restaurants was good. The major disappointment was from noise from occupants above us and the "dated" decor. The glass in the patio door was so cloudy that we thought it was dirty! Thankfully the weather was so good we could have the door open! A little less noise and the stay would have been good! Updated room decor and it would have been excellent. The people who served us were excellent!

Room Tip: Try the Main lodge if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Spruce Point and for allowing us to be part of your 2 week Maine adventure. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the location, amenities, dining, and service at the Inn and gave us high marks. I am sorry that you felt the guest room was average. I am hopeful that you filled out our email survey we sent you. If you did not fill out our survey, please feel free to contact me at the email address below so we may discuss how we can best meet your décor expectations in the future. Let me take a moment to speak to the lodging.

For those considering a future stay at Spruce Point, the lodge mentioned in this review is the Balsam Lodge. A description and photography on the modern lodge rooms can be found on the Inn’s website under lodging/Modern Lodge Rooms/Oceanview. Image 5, 6, 7, and 8 – are the Balsam Lodge room.

These oceanview rooms were updated in 2011 with a coastal palette to include interior painting, new carpeting, beds and bedding, historic resort photography, and guest room amenities . From the Inn’s website “Perhaps the most hotel-like of the guest rooms, these rooms offer ample room to relax and the benefits of an extended-stay experience -- sitting area, gas fireplace, historical resort photography, Queen sleeper sofas in many rooms, air-conditioning, plush-top beds with triple sheeting in luxurious linens, private covered porches with traditional Adirondack or rocking chairs and woodland, partial, ocean, or oceanfront views. Enjoy an array of in-room amenities including an LCD flat-screen television, an iPod docking station, complimentary wireless access, a refrigerator with Poland Spring water, and Keurig coffee-maker with an assortment of Green Mountain coffee and teas.”

The Modern Lodge rooms in the Balsam Lodge have a wonderful private porch that you access from a double French door. I checked the glass on the doors and you are correct, there are 2 panes that need to be replaced because of condensation on the interior of the double pane glass. It is on our list for the winter projects. Thank you.

There is no question that a noisy neighbor can affect enjoyment. I am sorry that this occurred but glad that it was not the physical space that caused the issue. We would have been pleased to move you to The Inn, if that is what you preferred. I am sorry we missed this opportunity.

Again, thank you. Let’s please connect so that I may assist you on your return stay.

adigiulian@sprucepointinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our family stayed at the Spruce Point Inn (SPI) during this September fall-like weather and it was a wonderful experience. First, the setting is classic coastal Maine. The SPI takes full advantage of the nautical view by setting up chairs and lounges that look over over the approach to Boothbay Harbor. The views often feature the historic schooners that ply the waters with passengers but many other boats of all descriptiosn make their way by including the working lobster boats. The Inn has a compelling history and its all on display and its reflected in the appointments and features. This year we stayed in one of the cabins (the three-bedroom Tanager) and it worked out well for our family. Very well appointed and charming in a low-key rustic Maine sort of way. The onsite restaurant provides great food and service. Like our visit last year, we made day trips to Monhegan Island, to Camden, took a sail and with last year's stay at SPI, took in other sites such as the first-rate Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens.
In summary, the Spruce Point Inn was central to our whole Maine coastal visit and it did not disappoint at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The place is beautiful. The grounds are impressive and the location is fabulous. For the amount paid for food, which was discounted, the food was disappointing and less than sanitary. I was not a fan of being served the same food in the same bowls on day 2 of our convention as day 1. I was first in line for lunch day 2 and the potato salad and cole slaw had spoon tracks in them from the day before, liquid had pooled in the tracks and they re-served uneaten food from the day before in the same bowls. Gross. The food served at dinner looked yet tasted less desirable like something you would make out of a bake it in a bag, no consistency plate to plate. The staff there were great, they were not enough of them because of the time of year. If you are going to provide a convention to 175+ people, have the staff to pull it off. The the tables were the wrong size for the vendors and were not as promised. A mish mash of 8ft and 6ft tables when 6ft was requested. The fees to use on the tables on site (set by the resort) were ridiculous. The accoustics in the Pemaquid room made it impossible to have other meetings in the sub rooms. All in all, not a great convention venue, perfect for a wedding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that we fell short for you. I am aware that this is the second event we have done for the County Commissioners --- and the event planners have requested to return to Spruce Point again in the future. There does appear to be a difference of opinion on the success of the event. I recognize this can certainly happen. Please find my response.

The group chose a “Deli” buffet with the same items each day, so it may have appeared to be the same food in the same dish but it was not. The head Chef administered all the details of this event. The food items were prepared on the morning of the event and then delivered to the kitchen at our conference room. The items to which you refer, when prepared, are covered – initialed – and time stamped. What you are suggesting is not possible.

There were approximately150-175 guests enjoying the dining service at the Inn. There were 8-10 server/bus staff on the floor of the event with 2 event planners, a bar staff, set up staff, and the Chef and his staff. I am satisfied that this is very adequate. It is less the 20 guests served per server – with a strong support staff.

The records from our event planner reflect that you had not specified a 6ft table in your rental order. By the time you made the request, there were only 8ft tables remaining. We would have been pleased to rent you a 6ft table in advance.

On to the Pemaquid sub rooms. I can appreciate your comments. There are air walls and a custom ceiling to enclose the break-out space. For some reason, the ceiling was not engaged. I believe that Spruce Point should have engaged the ceiling as part of the set up. This is a mistake as far as I am concerned. However, when brought to the attention of your meeting planners, they were satisfied with the set up. Had they not been, we would have been pleased to make that adjustment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skowhegan, Maine, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Spruce Point Inn was a wonderful place to have our daughter's wedding. We had many guests from Chicago who had never been to Maine. Everyone of the staff was very courteous and helpful. We had hoped for an outside ceremony but were grateful for being able to have it moved inside. The food and service was wonderful.

Room Tip: You can take a look at your room online and choose what suits you. The rooms are very clean and comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Address: 88 Grandview Avenue, PO Box 237, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Point Inn is exactly what most guests picture when they think of an oceanside resort in Maine. Located about an hour drive "down east" from Portland in the seafaring village of Boothbay Harbor. For more than 100 years, the inn has attracted travelers from across the United States and has provided a refreshing backdrop for families and friends to create delightful memories. Along a stunning stretch of oceanfront on Maine's rugged coast, the Spruce Point Inn is a family resort and the ideal venue for memorable reunions, seaside weddings, romantic getaways and business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Point Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Spruce Point Resort
Spruce Point Inn Resort And Spa Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.