We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tugboat Inn Restaurant

Tugboat Inn Restaurant
80 Commercial St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1770
207-633-4434
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Madison GA
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wasn't disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I trust my fellow Trip Advisor contributors but it was late, we were hungry and it was where we were parked. Not being lobster lovers, we wanted to see if eating a fresh lobster would make a difference. The server was most helpful showing us how to dissect our lobsters. The fresh taste is truly better than lobster that has been shipped to our area. The FRESH corn on the cob was really good. The blueberry pie was pretty good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    66
    65
    31
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, ME
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My friend and I were in Boothbay looking for someplace we had not eaten at before and chose the Tugboat Inn Restaurant and were we glad we did. We both had the Harbor Sampler plate which was fish, scallops, and Maine shrimp lightly battered and fried. The fried were hand cut and the tartar sauce and cocktail sauce were home made. Even the coleslaw was home made. Everything was excellent including our server. She told us she had been doing this for 30 years. If you are in Boothbay I highly recommend checking out the Tugboat Inn Restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“at the harbor's edge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a light lunch, in the late afternoon, around 3:30p - past the traditional lunch hour, yet the "tavern menu" was extremely varied, and the crabmeat roll - outstanding! beautiful views, wonderful staff....it was everything we could've wanted right at the harbor's edgel

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have gone here for dinner a few times and are never disappointed. The food is fantastic with a nice variety and the service is top-notch. Bravo!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wouldn't eat here again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The lobster was fine and the waitstaff was nice, but this was not a good experience. Service was slow, and tables seated after us were served before us. My son ordered a soda, hamburger, and fries. The fries were tasteless (in all honesty tasted like fried cardboard, or at least how I imagine fried cardboard would taste). Worse, though, was that my son found hair in BOTH his soda AND his hamburger. Sanitation is definitely an issue. Also, there were some wasps, including one next to me on the window pane. (and my 17 year old son was offended when he was offered the kid's menu - facial hair notwithstanding)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSS59, General Manager at Tugboat Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your lobster, and we do apologize if the service seemed slow. Sometimes tables do get served out of turn depending upon the items that are ordered. And we are very, very sorry if a hair was found - we try to be meticulous about cleanliness, hats, gloves, etc. so that those things don't happen. Please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tugboat Inn Restaurant also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Tugboat Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tugboat Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.