We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we stayed longer to enjoy it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Cove Waterfront Inn

Save Saved
You added Beach Cove Waterfront Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
48 Lakeview Rd., Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Rumney, NH
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Wish we stayed longer to enjoy it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We ended up checking in later in evening and it was already dark. We ended leaving early the next morning, but we did get a couple of minutes to check it out. Really nice looking property, the beds were nice and we had a pull out couch which even though we checked in late they came up and fixed for us. I would consider staying here again, if I was in the area. Nice spread of pastries in the morning too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    72
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
104
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Beach Cove with our young daughters. We found this hotel through a tip by the Trip Advisor forum on Maine. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. There was plenty to do with the kids at the hotel, that we really didn't need to leave the property except to go out to dinner. Our room was equipped with a mini fridge and microwave, so it was easy to heat up dinner left overs for lunch and breakfast was provided. Boothbay Harbor proper was only a 5 minute drive away, so it was easy to get there. The hotel provided canoes and row boats along with life jackets to use on the lake. We saw other guests taking their own kayaks into the lake as well. The pool was heated and well maintained. The best part of the stay was how kind and attentive the staff was. They went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. It was such a nice stay that we will definitely be making the trip back to Beach Cove in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building with a second floor room overlooking the pool. It was quiet and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just spent our first night here at Beach Cove. As I type this, I am sitting on our balcony overlooking the lake front. This has to be the MOST relaxing, peaceful place that I have ever visited. We were warmly welcomed yesterday by the owner. Our room is quite comfortable and very very clean. Our private balcony has chairs and a table. This is where we enjoyed our homemade pastries, coffee and fruit offered each morning. There is a heated pool as well as canoes and rowboats available for guests. This charming hotel is about a mile outside of downtown Boothbay Harbor so it is easy to access the restaurants and shops. We will most definitely return to Beach Cove! Thank you for a remarkable stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchboro, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We found the Beach Cove Hotel on TripAdvisor, and decided to give it a try. We were happy to find it (beware, GPS takes you on a convoluted journey, but does get you there) to be clean, quiet, and reasonably priced. In a market filled with rooms running well over $100/night, this one was a good value. The room was tiny, and the bathroom even tinier, but the king-size bed was comfortable, the room clean and well kept, and the staff pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachCoveManager, Manager at Beach Cove Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We did a lot of room remodeling last winter. All our old carpets were changed in the rooms.We made a lot of good changes to our Deluxe rooms. Our balcony and standard rooms are economy size rooms and we can not change the size of these rooms unfortunately. But we are trying to keep them cozy and super clean.I would highly recommend you to try our Deluxe Balcony rooms or Suites next time. They are huge and still very reasonably priced.Hope to see you soon. Sincerely.Andy Fisherman. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

this place by far totally exceeded by expectations.....the manager is great....she is very personable,takes great care of the property---AND bakes...you have homemade goodies
every morning along with great selection of coffees and teas.....
when you open the back door...you have an incredible view of lake and woods.....you can canoe which my best friends attempted....
rooms are clean and appears bathroom was recently updated...property is well mainted--it's set in nice quiet area..
would recommend to anyone...would definetly go back.......

Room Tip: read the traveler's reviews before you book any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

POSITIVES:

Location is excellent, beautiful, overlooking a fresh water lake from a hill, and access to the lake is easy and lovely.

This is one of the 'cleanest' motels we have ever stayed at. The beds are very comfortable, and the place seems to be fairly well run. The owners are a family from Moldova, speaking very good english and willling to do a great deal to make the stay nice.

They provide a small breakfast, that is not convenient to obtain. Lodgers have to go to the small office, load up a try with some 'homemade' items, coffee, etc. and then carry this on a small tray to the room to eat it, as there are no tables in the common area to eat.

Boats and canoes are provided for guests to use. The view is great. The location is away from the 'tourist part of town' and thus there is not much traffic noise. Parking is easy.

NEGATIVES:
Most rooms are very small, particularly the bathrooms. The beds take up about 90% of the floor space. Small showers are great if you are tall and skinny, but, if 'normal' you may 'touch the walls of the shower' Bathrooms are a one person size.

The facility is built entire of 'wood'. So the walls between the rooms are 'paper thin' and it is very very easy to hear everything in the adjoining rooms, or them to 'hear you'.

Also, the walkways are wooden, so anyone walking on the 'decking' in front of your room makes a very loud noise and is very disturbing at night and early mornings for late sleepers. You won't sleep late!!!

Also, there is a section of the motel that is perpendicular to the lake that has the living quarters of the owners over head. Whenever they walk around it is very noisy and disturbing. Although they seem to go to bed by 11 pm, they are 'up early' and sleeping in is impossible. I would not stay in this section of the motel again. Very unpleasant.

As other reviewers have noted the internet does not work. They have it available, but it is impossible to get on to the internet. This was our problem, and that of other lodgers. However, because of an emergency situation the owner provided the 'security key' for their private ISP that did work only if close to the office. However, the 'guest' ISP never worked. They need to fix this.

There are no elevators, and lots of stairs due to being on a hill. So if your bags are heavy or you are a senior you will have problems negotiating the stairs which are quite steep. Also, the outdoor lighting is poor around the stairs.

Room Tip: Stay on second floor of main section. Do not stay 'under' the owners living quarters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two days as part of our honeymoon and it couldn't have been more romantic! The rooms are small and the walls are a bit thin but other than that I have no complaints! The room had a private balcony with a fantastic view of the water. The sheets smelled freshly washed each day and the staff was very kind and the beds were extremely comfortable. I hope to come back here time and time again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Cove Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Cove Waterfront Inn

Address: 48 Lakeview Rd., Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Inn with water view balcony rooms. Private beach with pier.Salt Water Heated pool. Newly renovated with all new rooms and furniture. FREE boats and canoes for our guests. Complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Beach Cove Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beach Cove
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Cove Waterfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.