We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens

Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens
Barters Island Road, Boothbay, ME 04537
207-633-4333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Boothbay
Type: Gardens, Trails, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens is a natural wonder on 250 acres of shorefront in mid-coast Maine. Strolling through spectacular ornamental gardens and traversing miles of waterfront and woodland trails, visitors are delighted by the beautiful plantings, impressive stonework, waterfalls and fountains, and scenic views. It’s no wonder the Gardens have been hailed as one of Maine’s top three attractions. The Gardens are open 9-5 year-round, with a much-praised café and gift shop open seasonally. A visit at any time is a memorable experience.
Cape Cod
2 reviews
“Fantastic Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

There are so many things that the CMBG does well that it's hard to know where to start. Flowers galore, for color lovers. Unusual plants for hort-a-holics. Well placed art throughout the grounds. Ideas for your own gardens and yard. AND a wonderful since of place...when you visit CMBG you'll know you're in a beautiful garden in MAINE.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    47
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Just simply gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

These gardens are one of the top visited places to go in Maine and that is why we went here. There is always something in bloom around every corner. Some flowers were so fragrant that you could smell them several feet away. During this vacation, it happened to be the first stop that we had scheduled. I was dreading to hear the grumbling from my hubby about stopping here, but to my surprise, he still keeps telling me that he enjoyed the place more than I did. We are looking forward to going back. The gardens/grounds are just beautiful. They are richly coloured and magnificent. This is such a peaceful and pleasant place to enjoy. There are many wooded trails to explore, and a beautiful shoreline that you should take the time to view. The waterfall is spectacular and a must see on your walk. If you are not up to walking too much, take portions of the tour on their transport vehicle (included in your ticket cost). Kids of all ages will enjoy fairy village, where they can build something from nature. Adult tickets were $10.00 each. I only planned to stay a short while, but stayed several hours. It's also a great place for a little exercise. Take a bottle of water with you to quench your thirst.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

As a fan of Botanical Gardens in general, I think the Coastal Maine Botanical Garden is of the highest caliber. It's hard (but not impossible) to see everything in one trip. The layout of the Garden is most impressive and the art sculptures add so much to each of the garden locations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not your backyard garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Calling this incredible place a "garden" seems like an understatment. We tried to cover the 250 acres in one day, but now know we could go back again and again and enjoy different veiwpoints. The day we went was a little foggy and lent an air of mystery to everything. We met one of the full time staff gardners who was full of information and didn't mind answering a hundred questions. Be sure to take the time to walk the trail to the meditation garden to the shoreline trails, and through the deer fence to the point by the tidal inlet. We were awestruck (and proud of Maine_ by the time and effort that has gone into this fantastical place. I will forever support Maine Botanical Gardenin any way I can. Enjoy!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A beautiful garden in a tranquil Maine forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We really enjoyed the botanical garden. It was very well maintained and the staff was very helpful. They were having a fairy event on the day we were there. There were lots of kids, having lots of fun. There was a display of miniature fairy houses and lots of activities for kids. A guide gave us tips on walking around the garden. They have a nice shuttle service to get you to different parts of the large property. The gardens themselves are smaller and very walkable. Outside of the gardens are very nice trails through wooded areas and not a lot to see. The sculptures around the area added extra interest. The location is very close to downtown Boothbay Harbor, and easy to find.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.