We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hodgdon Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hodgdon Island Inn
Save
You added The Hodgdon Island Inn to your Saves list
374 Barters Island Road, Boothbay, ME 04537   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Boothbay B&B and Inns
Ft. Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We appreciated Pamela & Richard telling us about the history of this captain's house as well as sights, shops and restaurants in the area. We enjoyed the living room in the evening where we found Pam's amazing desert with coffee/teas available as we unwound from the day. Room was attractively decorated, very comfortable bed with a small private bathroom. Shower was a bit small, but squeaky clean. Loved the attention at breakfast in the morning with Richard pouring coffee and Pam wow-ing us with her creations. I requested low sugar choices for me and was very pleased at how delicious & nutritious it all was! We hated to leave, so added one more day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
88
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We only had one night at this remarkable bed and breakfast and only wish we did not have pre-booked travel commitments elsewhere or we would have stayed longer. Richard and Pamela made us feel truly welcome and were a font of knowledge of the Boothbay area and history. The rooms were delightful and the evening supper and truly amazing breakfast will remain a highlight of our 8 week trip in the US and Canada.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our group travels together every year and always stay in B&B's. Our experience at the Hodgedon
Inn was one of the very best we have ever had.
We were treated like family. Breakfast and evening desserts were true events and we are all anxious for Pamela to write her cookbook .
You will not be disappointed.
The Texas Girls

Room Tip: The inn has 3 rooms with kings that can be made into twins forf friends traveling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We had 3 wonderful nights at Pamela & Richards B & B, staying in 'The Nest'. The relaxed atmosphere, wonderful views, yummy suppers, (best orange cake ever ) & amazing breakfasts all added to our first visit to Maine. Across the road from the B & B are fantastic lobster rolls - Pamela's suggestion for lunch. There are wonderful local areas to explore by car, boat & walking. We look forward to returning ......

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto-Vecchio, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Having travelled all the way from France we were so lucky to have found Pamela and Richard whose establishment ranks with any 6 star facility anywhere in the world. The discerning, health concious traveller will appreciate the truly unique breakfasts, prepared and served with loving care - the afternoon cakes are to die for and the attention to detail in all respects is a feat of professionlism one rarely encounters. We heartily recommend The Hodgdon Island Inn but be sure to book early to avoid disappointment!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We chose this B&B for the location as we wanted a place away from the crowd during our trip up the Maine coast. We weren't expecting much as some of the reviews were negative but for once we were nicely surprised by this Inn!

We were traveling together with friends so we had rooms 7 and 8, meaning we had the top floor to ourselves. The rooms were nicely appointed, spotlessly clean and the views really worth the climb! Wifi worked perfectly so I do not really see why the bad reviews; it is simple, but it has a dignified overall sensation we really appreciated.

Pamela and Richard are a lovely, hospitably warm but unobtrusive couple, knowledgeable about the area, ready to help out with maps and suggestions. They love what they do and you can see it (more like taste it!) at breakfast when they really go out of their way in serving delicious treats. (They also leave out delicious cakes for tea!)

A nice Inn, off the beaten track, with a 'tranquil silence' to it which we experienced while watching the breathtakingly beautiful sunset on the water sitting on the porch: a special moment turned into a beautiful memory!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had to cut our stay short by one day due to hurricane Sandy but still had a wonderful stay. The innkeepers couldn't have been nicer and the food was terrific. We will definitely be back. A plus rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hodgdon Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hodgdon Island Inn

Address: 374 Barters Island Road, Boothbay, ME 04537
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hodgdon Island Inn’s spectacular Boothbay location provides the picture perfect Maine getaway: deepwater frontage; picturesque water views; a quaint general store with lobster shack; a historic one-of-a-kind swing bridge; and front row seats for beautiful pink sunsets. It is everything you imagined the unspoiled coast of Maine would be and then some … explore state parks and preserves, museums and historic sites, lighthouses, take a cruise, experience a clam bake, dine casually or in style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hodgdon Island Hotel Boothbay
The Hodgdon Island Inn Boothbay, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hodgdon Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.