We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding At Bold Colorful Life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bold Colorful Life Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bold Colorful Life Inn
Save
You added Bold Colorful Life Inn to your Saves list
802 Back River Road, Boothbay, ME 04537   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Boothbay B&B and Inns
Portland, Maine, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wedding At Bold Colorful Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was such a unique and wonderful experience. Thank you for helping to make this such a pleasurable experience. The time and effort you spent on making our stay here so special is appreciated by all who had the opportunity to visit and stay here. Both houses were absolutely beautiful. It really reflects on the kind of person you are inside and out. We thank you from the bottom of our hearts and hope we have an opportunity to visit again.
Thank you!

Room Tip: I would not hesitate to recommend any room. They were all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoldColorLife, Owner at Bold Colorful Life Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
There is simply nothing like a June wedding....bright, beautiful, clear and warm. And that's a perfect description of this wedding party. From the start to finish, this bride and groom and both families were involved in every detail of this glorious event....and it was a pleasure to be watching and helping them along the way. They took good advantage of all of the strengths of the property....planned the location of the wedding ceremony, near the freshwater pond, planned and put up their own tents for the reception, next to the Gallery barn, decorated everywhere in the two buildings and then took time to enjoy the days before the wedding itself. Their colors were fabulous....deep regal purple was the touchstone color. Wedding pictures can be seen at the Bold Colorful Life Inn site. Just click on 'destination weddings'. After the beautiful event, rested and refreshed and deeply in love, the bridal couple went home to have a 'bold colorful life'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

August 24, 2012

Dear Melissa,
How can we begin to thank you for the most wonderful vacation we've had in a long time? It was exactly what we needed to relax and remember how life should be lived. We love the little house, and really enjoyed cooking and sharing meals outside. The views are spectacular! It was most important for me to spend time with my sons, swimming, boating and just sitting on the hammock and talking before they are off to their busy lives. These days have reminded me of the summers I spent as a child, my mother playing with us, my grandmother baking cookies or bread. What lovely memories. Thank you and much love to you for your generosity of spirit.
Karen, Mike, David and Jake, Mt. Airy, Maryland

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My fiancee (now husband!) and I, along with our families, rented both the farmhouse and cape house on this property for a week in early September. At the end of the week, we had a small wedding in the back yard, overlooking the beautiful Back River. We simply could not have asked for a better setting for our wedding!! The property is absolutely lovely, and the view of the Back River from the farmhouse is breathtaking. The houses are bold, colorful, and beautiful, as is the proprietor, Melissa! With 9 bedrooms between the two houses (5 in the farmhouse and 4 in the cape), each with a private bathroom, this place would be perfect for any large group! Finally, the location of this property is perfect- close enough to Boothbay Harbor to easily pop into town for shopping or dinner, but far enough out of town to get away from the hubbub and enjoy some peace and quiet!

Melissa is warm and welcoming, and makes you feel like family from the moment you arrive. What a beautiful place for a vacation, and a wonderful way to start our married life! Thanks Melissa!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Another great special birthday girl's weekend away! We enjoyed our second stay here as much as our first. Bringing two extra friends with us proved to them everything about your place was " Bold and Beautiful". Again, enjoying breakfast and late afternoon with our wine. This is a perfect place for 8 women to have beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms to get ready! Thanks again for making it a second special memory!!
The girls from Mass

Room Tip: All the bedrooms were wonderful with own bathroom. It was nice to have a handicap bathroom on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoldColorLife, Owner at Bold Colorful Life Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
This is just the DEAREST group of women....this is their second Birthday Reunion visit here at the Bold Colorful Life Estate and Retreat Center....this time with THREE sets of sisters! Each time they come, they light up the place with their deep friendship, great senses of humor, beautiful birthday traditions and individual response to the peninsula....one gal is amazing with how much she knows about birds....another is musical...a third full of dramatic enthusiasm....another tuned in to all the shops and galleries in the area....I could go on for days. Each time they come, they find new adventures to pursue. It's a joy to have them visit. Do come again and again, Girls from Mass !! Fondly, Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bold Colorful Life Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bold Colorful Life Inn

Address: 802 Back River Road, Boothbay, ME 04537
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six miles from the bustle of Boothbay Harbor is a peaceful 15 acre river-front retreat, set among rolling lawns, stone walls, apple orchards and richly colored perennial gardens. The estate consists of four New England-style buildings: the farmhouse and historic barn is one vacation rental; a renovated 1800s Antique Cape is the other; a charming garden shed and a 1700s barn-the Bold Colorful Life Gallery complete the compound. The Farmhouse combines new convenience with historical flavor, with exterior porches, dormers and gardens and five bedrooms with five private baths; the 1800s fully renovated Cape offers five bedrooms with four private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bold Colorful Life Inn Boothbay, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bold Colorful Life Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.