We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for RR Buffs, Car Buffs, Children! Thomas the Tank Engine Days in August!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boothbay Railway Village

Boothbay Railway Village
586 Wiscasset Road, Route 27, Boothbay, ME
207-633-4727
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Boothbay
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel back in time to vintage Vacationland. Nowhere else in New England can you ride the rails behind an authentic steam locomotive surrounded by historic Maine buildings preserved in a recreated village, and view a superb collection of more than 60 antique automobiles. The Boothbay Railway Village is situated on thirty acres and features more than two dozen historic buildings and structures including Freeport Station (1911), Boothbay Town Hall (1847), Thorndike Station (1871) and Spruce Point Chapel (1927). The Museum is also home to a world class model railroad display currently under construction. It's so large it has it's own building! Throughout the season a wide variety of special events are hosted on the Village Green from vintage ball games to car shows and family festivals. The museum is also the only place in Maine to host Thomas the Tank Engine™ on his Day Out With Thomas™ Tour. Boys and girls of all ages enjoy meeting the #1 true blue engine from the Isle of Sodor right here in Boothbay! Pet-friendly (except during Day Out With Thomas™ & Fall Foliage Festival.) A unique location for wedding ceremonies and receptions. Located just 45 minutes from Freeport in the beautiful coastal community of Boothbay.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great for RR Buffs, Car Buffs, Children! Thomas the Tank Engine Days in August!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I really like this place and have been visiting it for almost two decades. The two-footer steam train makes a circuit then another one, and on the second one stops at the top. There is a great car museum "A 1902 Rambler to a 1962 Rolls", some really wonderful cars. There is an early 1900s Oldsmobile, Packards, Model Ts including Station Wagons, a 1946 "Jeepster" to serve the post-war civilian market, etc. When you leave the auto museum there is a model railroad display next door, one of those multi-track small village constructions about four feet off the floor (the type you wished you had had in your basement when you were 10!). There are period displays scattered throughout the ground which you walk down and among to get back to the main station. On your way out be sure to stop at the Gift Store, books and gifts for old trains and cars and plenty of items for the children. This year there were "Thomas the Tank Engine" days the ninth through the eleventh of August if I remember correctly, check the website before you come for details. They have "Thomas" at the head or three or four of the two-footer cars with the regular steam locomotive behind (I don't know if it was a 'pusher' or not). They also have extra games and attractions for the children but it is busy and packed so plan to get there early for best results.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks so much for posting your review and for being such a loyal visitor. The Museum will turn 50 next year so we know there are lots of stories about two and three generations growing up visiting and watching the Village grow and change. We have some new programs in mind for next summer, we hope you'll be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    28
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Riding around on a partly cloudy, rainy day with the sun not making any promising appearances we decided not to go to the gardens and came upon the railway village.
We stopped and were told that some of it is inside and some outside decided to give it a tour.
We sure were wishing we had our grandchildren with us as it was a day with Thomas!
We were not disappointed. They had entertainment, singing, photos to be taken with Thomas and other characters, and tattoos. Even though we did not know these characters it was fun watching the children that were there interacting with them.
The rain came and went , and thankfully stopped altogether. This gave time for the roads to dry up and the walking easier. The buildings were very interesting and filled with some fun finds, such as the shaker house. A house filled with a collection of salt and pepper shakers (cute).
Thomas the engine was rolling around the tracks carrying people around the grounds. Very nice to see Thomas having photos taken with some very happy fans.
One building housed some very beautiful antique cars. One car was touchable, and the children , as well as the adults were thrilled to sit and drive and touch this oldie but goodie.
One entire building was filled with train sets. Great for any train fanatic.
Rooms with antique fire trucks , old engines buildings still used as town halls and voting places.
This was more than a railroad visit, it was interesting and historically fascinating.
A barrel train ride was full every time we saw it.
A pretty cool place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to visit the Railway Village and for taking the time to post a review. There certainly are a lot of things to do in our region and we're glad that you visited us! We know that when we host Thomas it pretty much takes over the entire campus. We're so glad that you enjoyed the festive atmosphere - we think it's an awful good time too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Day With Thomas the Train”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This Railway Village is great anytime, BUT if you can spend a day with Thomas the Train...well, thats just as good as it gets! Saturday August 10th was such a day. Papa with his two year old grandson, along with Nana and Daddy spent the day at the Boothbay Railway Village with all the Thomas attractions. A twenty minute train ride on Thomas (all aboard, including grown ups), the kids Barrel train ride, family hay ride, Imagination Station making colored sand wrist-lets, and coloring. Food vendors. lemonade stand, BBQ, picnic, and all the best for a great day. The Kids would yell out "THOMAS" everytime the whistle blew. He is so loved by the kids, and to see the happy faces is just about as good as it gets! if you ever get a chance to spend the day with Thomas, do it, its a memorable experience for all ages.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We're so glad you had a great time at "Day Out With Thomas." We appreciate that you took the time to post a review and we look forward to seeing you again next year when Thomas rolls back into Boothbay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Such fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Who doesn't love a train? In addition to the train ride this village provides a great overview of railroad history, interactive enough for kids of every age to enjoy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks so much for posting a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterport, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time for the family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife and I took our son down here for "A Day Out With Thomas" and we had a great time. The look on his face and in his eyes said it all when he saw Thomas-that amazement, wonder and happiness all in one. Plenty of other activities here too, from the "Kranky Karts" to the car museum, there is plenty to see here and spend an enjoyable part of a day at. This was a special event so there were some food vendors there, but they don't appear to normally have food there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We're so glad you had a great time at "Day Out With Thomas." Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Just so you know you are correct about the food vendors. We offer the food concessions only on special event days but guests are more than welcome to bring a picnic anytime they visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boothbay Railway Village also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Boothbay Railway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boothbay Railway Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.