We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boothbay Railway Village

Boothbay Railway Village
586 Wiscasset Road, Route 27, Boothbay, ME
207-633-4727
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Boothbay
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel back in time to vintage Vacationland. Nowhere else in New England can you ride the rails behind an authentic steam locomotive surrounded by historic Maine buildings preserved in a recreated village, and view a superb collection of more than 60 antique automobiles. The Boothbay Railway Village is situated on thirty acres and features more than two dozen historic buildings and structures including Freeport Station (1911), Boothbay Town Hall (1847), Thorndike Station (1871) and Spruce Point Chapel (1927). The Museum is also home to a world class model railroad display currently under construction. It's so large it has it's own building! Throughout the season a wide variety of special events are hosted on the Village Green from vintage ball games to car shows and family festivals. The museum is also the only place in Maine to host Thomas the Tank Engine™ on his Day Out With Thomas™ Tour. Boys and girls of all ages enjoy meeting the #1 true blue engine from the Isle of Sodor right here in Boothbay! Pet-friendly (except during Day Out With Thomas™ & Fall Foliage Festival.) A unique location for wedding ceremonies and receptions. Located just 45 minutes from Freeport in the beautiful coastal community of Boothbay.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Such fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Who doesn't love a train? In addition to the train ride this village provides a great overview of railroad history, interactive enough for kids of every age to enjoy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks so much for posting a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    28
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winterport, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time for the family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife and I took our son down here for "A Day Out With Thomas" and we had a great time. The look on his face and in his eyes said it all when he saw Thomas-that amazement, wonder and happiness all in one. Plenty of other activities here too, from the "Kranky Karts" to the car museum, there is plenty to see here and spend an enjoyable part of a day at. This was a special event so there were some food vendors there, but they don't appear to normally have food there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We're so glad you had a great time at "Day Out With Thomas." Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Just so you know you are correct about the food vendors. We offer the food concessions only on special event days but guests are more than welcome to bring a picnic anytime they visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Second year in a row. Great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We come here every summer with our daughter who is now three and we had a great time. This time we just missed the 1:30 train and had to sit and wait for the 2pm train. It worked out well since we then spent two hours at the village and took the last train (at 4pm) just before leaving. My daughter loves climbing on the old train cars and pretending to drive the one touchable car in the auto museum. I love the model train barn and watching it come together year after year. They have picnic tables there if you want to bring a picnic lunch or just sit and have a snack.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for your review Paige. We're so glad we've become a family tradition. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for toddler!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visited the Railway Village just before the Day Out with Thomas event, so the village was partially decked out in Thomas the Tank Engine paraphernalia, but we still had a nice time and our 18-month-old had a blast exploring the grounds and checking out the various vehicles and trains you could climb on. The village buildings are just walled off "exhibits" of sorts, and look like they are probably original to when the village was first built. I do wish they would open up the buildings and turn them into places you can actually walk into, and maybe offer some pretend play space (the grocer and school house seem like prime candidates of this). As it stands, they aren't very interesting. That said, the steam train ride was fun, the car exhibit was impressive and I liked the little playground next to the school house. We'll be sure to come back again when our son is a little older.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We hear you! The Museum is going to be 50 years old next year and while we've acquired and protected many significant historic structures like the 1847 Boothbay Town Hall and 1911 Freeport Station we haven't changed our approach to exhibit design or interpretation. We're working on it and if we are able to find the funding (we are a non-profit) we'll begin evolving so we can delight and educate visitors for our next 50 years! Thanks again for visiting and we look forward to "growing" right along with your son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Maine
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our son loved Day Out with Thomas. He loves trains and was thrilled with the ride. The staff was super friendly and attentive. Great way for kids to burn off some energy. He also loves cars so he had the best of both worlds. This could be a good way to spend a rainy day if it dares to do so on your vacation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We're so glad you had a good time at Day Out With Thomas! We work really hard to make the day here special for our guests from 1 to 100 and we appreciate that you took the time to post a review. Thanks and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boothbay Railway Village also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Boothbay Railway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boothbay Railway Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.