We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Hill Inn
Save
You added The Blue Hill Inn to your Saves list
40 Union Street, Blue Hill, ME 04614   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Blue Hill B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We have stayed in the finest hotels all over the world and they all had one thing in common, great service and more importantly, the ability to make us feel special. The Blue Hill Inn had that in spades. Even the fact that our room was fully made up immediately after we came back from breakfast. Very few places are that attentive. As high octane New Yorkers we need that strong cup of coffee to start our morning. World over very few establishments get that right. The Blue Hill Inn was no exception, but unlike many of the others, they were determined to improve and immediately brewed us a stronger pot. In our parting they also promised espresso on our next visit (which will be soon). The morning breakfast was very tasty and thoughtfully put together. Sarah, the owner, was personable, polite, respectful, and throughly wonderful. The Inn was decorated like an old Inn, artfully true to it origins. What a great place to stay when visiting a great part of our country.

Room Tip: Ask them, tell them your needs and they will set you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shaftsbury, VT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We arrived late in the evening and were pleasantly surprised to find the kitchen stocked with breakfast foods including gluten free options for my wife. Fresh fruit on the kitchen table, fresh organic bread, and farm fresh eggs.

The suite was filled with antiques. The bathroom was spotless. The innkeeper went above and beyond to make sure our stay was pleasant. She provided glow sticks for the last night festivities as well as a copy of the itinerary for the evening.

Power was out for an hour or so the day of checkout. The innkeeper called us and told us to take our time checking out there was no rush. This attention to detail and the excellent communication made the stay extremely pleasant.

My wife and I will be heading back this summer to sample one the main inn rooms and to experience the breakfasts that are legendary.

Highly recommend that anyone in the area stay at the Blue Hill Inn as you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed in "The Cape House" on a November trip. Great service, modern kitchen, deluxe furnishings, very pampered. Would return in a minute. Heartily recommend to all. Expensive? Yes. But worth every cent.

Room Tip: If you need room, the Cape House works great. We had a three-person party, and the size of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Blue hill Inn for one night. We didn't have a reservation, which was no problem. We were immediately drawn by the wonderful warm and inviting ambiance. The hostess, Sarah was not there when we arrived, but we were well taken care of by her staff. Hors d' oeuvres were served from 6 to 7 which was such a nice welcome.

Our room was beautiful, the bed and linens so comfortable! Breakfast was exquisite, with several choices of an entree. When we met Sarah in the morning, she immediately knew who we were, even though we hadn't yet met.

It is very obvious that Sarah takes great pride in her Inn, and works hard at anticipating her guests needs.

If you plan to be in Blue Hill, we definitely recommend the Blue Hill Inn!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at Blue Hill Inn during the quiet and beautiful fall season. We've been visiting the Blue Hill and Deer Isle area for many years and are delighted to have a new home base. Our room was comfortable and quiet, the common spaces were gracious and pleasant. We savored the delicious breakfasts and snacks, and enjoyed the company of the other friendly guests. Sarah's warm hospitality and stockpile of local information about everything from hiking to quirky art galleries truly set the Blue Hill Inn apart from most B&B experiences. Best of all was the Meet the Farmer Dinner with El El Frijoles' chefs Michele and Michael making magic from local farm offerings. We'll be back!

Room Tip: A couple of the rooms have larger bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After 10 years, we decided to visit this charming Inn again and refresh fun memories from the times we spent there with our children. To our big surprise, the Inn has gotten even better! There is a new owner, Sarah, who not only renovated the whole Inn without destroying its old world charm, (you even get internet in every room, free) but who also bends backwards to accommodate every wish; making restaurant reservation, finding activities for a rainy day, giving great tips of places to go off the beaten path and much more! Besides serving a delicious breakfast, Sarah offers afternoon tea with fresh baked cookies (the Inn smells heavenly) and 'happy hour' with great wine, served very generously! We truly cannot wait to go back next summer if not before!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

BHI is a quintessential New England hotel. The building is historic, but the interior is beautifully maintained and very comfortable. The public rooms are all inviting. Breakfast is locally purveyed and delicious, and the menu choices vary daily. Finally, the entire staff is available, friendly, and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Hill Inn

Address: 40 Union Street, Blue Hill, ME 04614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Blue Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blue Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Blue Hill Inn, individualized guest attention is the first priority. Breakfasts are designed with guests in mind; choices range from vacation decadent to watching one’s waistline. Innkeeper Sarah Pebworth and the staff personally see to the details of each guest’s stay. Located in the center of the Blue Hill village and a block from Blue Hill Bay, the inn is on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Blue Hill Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.