We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, but too short!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Hill Inn
Save
You added The Blue Hill Inn to your Saves list
40 Union Street, Blue Hill, ME 04614   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Blue Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay, but too short!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Blue hill Inn for one night. We didn't have a reservation, which was no problem. We were immediately drawn by the wonderful warm and inviting ambiance. The hostess, Sarah was not there when we arrived, but we were well taken care of by her staff. Hors d' oeuvres were served from 6 to 7 which was such a nice welcome.

Our room was beautiful, the bed and linens so comfortable! Breakfast was exquisite, with several choices of an entree. When we met Sarah in the morning, she immediately knew who we were, even though we hadn't yet met.

It is very obvious that Sarah takes great pride in her Inn, and works hard at anticipating her guests needs.

If you plan to be in Blue Hill, we definitely recommend the Blue Hill Inn!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at Blue Hill Inn during the quiet and beautiful fall season. We've been visiting the Blue Hill and Deer Isle area for many years and are delighted to have a new home base. Our room was comfortable and quiet, the common spaces were gracious and pleasant. We savored the delicious breakfasts and snacks, and enjoyed the company of the other friendly guests. Sarah's warm hospitality and stockpile of local information about everything from hiking to quirky art galleries truly set the Blue Hill Inn apart from most B&B experiences. Best of all was the Meet the Farmer Dinner with El El Frijoles' chefs Michele and Michael making magic from local farm offerings. We'll be back!

Room Tip: A couple of the rooms have larger bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After 10 years, we decided to visit this charming Inn again and refresh fun memories from the times we spent there with our children. To our big surprise, the Inn has gotten even better! There is a new owner, Sarah, who not only renovated the whole Inn without destroying its old world charm, (you even get internet in every room, free) but who also bends backwards to accommodate every wish; making restaurant reservation, finding activities for a rainy day, giving great tips of places to go off the beaten path and much more! Besides serving a delicious breakfast, Sarah offers afternoon tea with fresh baked cookies (the Inn smells heavenly) and 'happy hour' with great wine, served very generously! We truly cannot wait to go back next summer if not before!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

BHI is a quintessential New England hotel. The building is historic, but the interior is beautifully maintained and very comfortable. The public rooms are all inviting. Breakfast is locally purveyed and delicious, and the menu choices vary daily. Finally, the entire staff is available, friendly, and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gales Ferry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our first stay at a B&B, and consequently our first stay at the Blue Hill Inn. What an amazing experience we had. Sarah, the Innkeeper, is a warm, friendly, exceptional host. From the time she greeted us upon arrival to the day of our check out we felt that we were in wonderful hands. The Cape House Suite is truly a home away from home. We actually referred to the suite as our home during our stay. The breakfast each day was delicious and believe me, this was no normal breakfast! It was unparalleled. The staff is that of a five star restaurant. It was with heavy hearts that we checked out after four nights, however, we know for sure that we will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: The Cape House Suite was a wonderful option for those seeking a little more privacy and it is pet fr...
See more room tips
Green Features: We loved the fact that they were conservative with water usage, there is no need for towels to be changed every day. They compost, and have free range chickens off site which provide the Inn with wonderful fresh eggs. They also support many local businesses by using their products at the Inn.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were in Blue Hill attending a nearby wedding. The inn is conveniently located, our room was nicely decorated with a very comfortable bed! The innkeeper was friendly and helpful and the afternoon snacks, baked treats and breakfasts were outstanding. Would certainly stay again if ever back in the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Each room is different in this intimate little gem in the heart of Blue Hill. Every morning breakfast started with fresh fruit, a small pastry (date scone, blueberry muffin) and a choice of 5 dishes. All were fabulous, as was the friendly service and delightful, attentive owner.

Will definitely repeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Hill
19.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#11 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
#8 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
19.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
18.8 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Hill Inn

Address: 40 Union Street, Blue Hill, ME 04614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Blue Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blue Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Blue Hill Inn, individualized guest attention is the first priority. Breakfasts are designed with guests in mind; choices range from vacation decadent to watching one’s waistline. Innkeeper Sarah Pebworth and the staff personally see to the details of each guest’s stay. Located in the center of the Blue Hill village and a block from Blue Hill Bay, the inn is on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Blue Hill Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.