We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding! Hospitality, creativity, locations, comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
The Blue Hill Inn
Save Saved
You added The Blue Hill Inn to your Saves list
40 Union Street, Blue Hill, ME 04614   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Blue Hill B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Rafael, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding! Hospitality, creativity, locations, comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at Blue Hill Inn during the quiet and beautiful fall season. We've been visiting the Blue Hill and Deer Isle area for many years and are delighted to have a new home base. Our room was comfortable and quiet, the common spaces were gracious and pleasant. We savored the delicious breakfasts and snacks, and enjoyed the company of the other friendly guests. Sarah's warm hospitality and stockpile of local information about everything from hiking to quirky art galleries truly set the Blue Hill Inn apart from most B&B experiences. Best of all was the Meet the Farmer Dinner with El El Frijoles' chefs Michele and Michael making magic from local farm offerings. We'll be back!

Room Tip: A couple of the rooms have larger bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After 10 years, we decided to visit this charming Inn again and refresh fun memories from the times we spent there with our children. To our big surprise, the Inn has gotten even better! There is a new owner, Sarah, who not only renovated the whole Inn without destroying its old world charm, (you even get internet in every room, free) but who also bends backwards to accommodate every wish; making restaurant reservation, finding activities for a rainy day, giving great tips of places to go off the beaten path and much more! Besides serving a delicious breakfast, Sarah offers afternoon tea with fresh baked cookies (the Inn smells heavenly) and 'happy hour' with great wine, served very generously! We truly cannot wait to go back next summer if not before!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

BHI is a quintessential New England hotel. The building is historic, but the interior is beautifully maintained and very comfortable. The public rooms are all inviting. Breakfast is locally purveyed and delicious, and the menu choices vary daily. Finally, the entire staff is available, friendly, and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gales Ferry, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our first stay at a B&B, and consequently our first stay at the Blue Hill Inn. What an amazing experience we had. Sarah, the Innkeeper, is a warm, friendly, exceptional host. From the time she greeted us upon arrival to the day of our check out we felt that we were in wonderful hands. The Cape House Suite is truly a home away from home. We actually referred to the suite as our home during our stay. The breakfast each day was delicious and believe me, this was no normal breakfast! It was unparalleled. The staff is that of a five star restaurant. It was with heavy hearts that we checked out after four nights, however, we know for sure that we will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: The Cape House Suite was a wonderful option for those seeking a little more privacy and it is pet fr...
See more room tips
Green Features: We loved the fact that they were conservative with water usage, there is no need for towels to be changed every day. They compost, and have free range chickens off site which provide the Inn with wonderful fresh eggs. They also support many local businesses by using their products at the Inn.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were in Blue Hill attending a nearby wedding. The inn is conveniently located, our room was nicely decorated with a very comfortable bed! The innkeeper was friendly and helpful and the afternoon snacks, baked treats and breakfasts were outstanding. Would certainly stay again if ever back in the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Each room is different in this intimate little gem in the heart of Blue Hill. Every morning breakfast started with fresh fruit, a small pastry (date scone, blueberry muffin) and a choice of 5 dishes. All were fabulous, as was the friendly service and delightful, attentive owner.

Will definitely repeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The service here is exceptional and outstanding! We stayed here on a 9 day trip up on the coast of Maine. That's really all I need to say. Sarah, the owner, is lovely. She sits with you, talks to you, brings you a welcome beverage and sweet treat. The staff at breakfast is so attentive, kind, quick. Breakfast is delicious. They are very professional. We had a loft room or maybe kind of a converted attic room and it was great with comfortable beds and linens and nice toiletries. Neat antiques too. Our children loved having their own little area and they loved the painted wooden chickens Sarah gave to them-so cute. Thank you, Sarah. We loved Blue Hill and how quiet it was. You feel like you are away from the rest of the tourist here. We went to a pretty park on the point there which had nice playground equipment. The pottery place there was so kind-they let our 5 year old create on the pottery wheel and insisted on shipping her item to us free of charge, which we should get at Christmas time. We ate the Barncastle and food was good.

Room Tip: (Sorry I can't clear the ratings above on pool or fitness center. I don't believe the inn ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blue Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Hill Inn

Address: 40 Union Street, Blue Hill, ME 04614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Blue Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blue Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Blue Hill Inn, individualized guest attention is the first priority. Breakfasts are designed with guests in mind; choices range from vacation decadent to watching one’s waistline. Innkeeper Sarah Pebworth and the staff personally see to the details of each guest’s stay. Located in the center of the Blue Hill village and a block from Blue Hill Bay, the inn is on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Blue Hill Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;