We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Worth every penny.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant

Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blue Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant
Save
You added Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant to your Saves list
125 South Street, Blue Hill, ME 04614   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blue Hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing! Worth every penny.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was by far the best trip I have ever been on. Not only was everyone friendly and very helpful, but the room passed all expectations I could have ever had. I stayed in room three. Not only was the room clean, adorable with great character, but how can you go wrong with a fabulous fire place to cuddle up and fall asleep to. I will be staying at the Barncastle everytime I make the trip up. Thanks to Cory for the suggestion to stay at this fabulous place. The Barncastle made the trip so perfect. I can not wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mainebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Peaks Island, Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Not exactly in the middle of all the activity so the inn is relatively a quiet place. We stayed in Room 5 which had a large king bed, a nice sitting room and large bathroom. The floors could use some work as well as the bathroom fixtures but all in all clean and neat. The resturant food was very good and the portions were large. Several dining areas to choose from depending on your mood. Pub, sunroom and two other dining areas of the house which I suppose were once a dining room and a palor. All in all a good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in room 3 recently (the turret room). It was large, and the fireplace was great. It's kind of fun just picking up a key and going to your room without a lot of formalities (the key holder was also the bartender the afternoon when we checked in). They were very helpful when we asked if the fireplace could be used, they bent over backwards to get wood, kindling and matches).

There were a few things that made this room less than perfect. It is an older building, and there is some wear and tear in the room. Not a big deal, and somewhat part of the charm. The carpet is the flat, industrial kind. Something a little more plush would have been nice. Minor, but a bit of a downer when we were staying there especially for our anniversary. As mentioned in other reviews, there is some road noise. Minor to those of us who have lived in cities and busy suburbs, but more than usual for Maine.

My biggest concern is that it is connected to Room 4. There was a family with two small children next door, and every noise and scream from the children came through clear as day. Luckily, they went to bed early, and by the time we got home from a late dinner, they were asleep. There is the possibility of unwanted noise from that connected room.

Overall, though, it was a lovely building ,and the room certainly had a lot of charm and character.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoRory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCB0607
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We sat in the Pub, which was quaint and charming. We ordered the garlic bread as an appetizer, which was yummy. The menu has lots of delicious looking options, especially for a vegetarian. We opted for the Athenian Pizza, with artichoke hearts and Kalamata olives. The spelt dough was crunchy and chewy at the same time and the pizza tasted like heaven. They had a pretty expansive fancy beer selection and our waitress was very sweet and helpful. This looked like a really cute place to stay, too. We are sad we're only in Blue Hill for a few days because we would definitely come back and try more pizza options!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCB0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

No check in, check out. You feel more like a house guest than a hotel guest. Room 3 is spectacular, huge, period furmiture, sitting area, and working fireplace, and a very nice bath. Two problems - the AC unit is a window unit, and needs to run all the time if the weather is hot at all, and the AC window unit of the next room is noisy enough to be clearly heard. Also, the house is close to the road, so there is road noise, although it is not a busy highway by any means. So, it is not as quiet as I would like. The first floor is a very classy pizza restaurant (excellent pizza) with other good selections and a really classy bar. Lots of people come - the parking lot may be totally full. Live music weekly in the bar - you really need reservations for that. The House has been lovingly restored. There is a nice pool table in back. The barn has not been, but it is not used by guests. There is no longer any view - a shame, since it was spectacular 50 years ago (I used to live there).

Room Tip: Service was so good it was invisible. Room 3 is great. The rooms to the rear are in an attached ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipper090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We needed a place to stay with reasonable food prices at the restaurant...looked around online and found this. The room (#1) was delightful...bright, high-ceilinged, with a newly-remodeled bathroom, and a small sitting area. The food was fine. This seems to be the go-to place for everybody in Blue Hill, and I think it's because of the pizza. There was music (Wednesday) but that stopped at eight o'clock. Our room, though near the road, had an air conditioner that kept the noise out. Okay...it's off-season. I can't speak for those who were here before Labor Day!
The biggest and most important part of our experience was the help we got from Lori in the morning. We needed a mechanic for some emergency brake work. She called her mechanic way down on Naskeag Point in Brooklin.....he took us in immediately and finished the job in one day. Her help was invaluable, and so was his. Made me happy not to be staying in an "anonymous" motel. Bravo, Barncastle! Excellent staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SillySquander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, VA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The couple we travelled with nearly bought this place 20+ years ago. Clearly, there has been a lot of work done. Though lots remain to be done, it is quite a nice place to stay and eat. Highly recommend one of the three suites on the second floor. They are spacious, nicely appointed and well-maintained. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom/shower excellent. We had the room directly above the bar, yet did not hear any noise whatsoever from it. Yet, when we opened the door it was noisy. Point is that the rooms are quiet. The restaurant was excellent, and you need to make reservations for dinner when you reserve a room. Diners were coming and going for several hours on a weeknight. Brick oven pizza'a to eclectic fare to mom/pop dinners are all available. Wine selection is excellent too.

Room Tip: Rent one of the three suites. You will not be disappointed and they are a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowAvoiderSalem_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Hill
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
18.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
18.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 40 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#4 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
19.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#11 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,348 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Manor Inn
The Manor Inn
#3 of 3 in Castine
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant

Address: 125 South Street, Blue Hill, ME 04614
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Blue Hill
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blue Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Barncastle Hotel Blue Hill
Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant Blue Hill, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing