We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Worth every penny.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant

Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blue Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant
125 South Street, Blue Hill, ME 04614   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Blue Hill
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing! Worth every penny.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This was by far the best trip I have ever been on. Not only was everyone friendly and very helpful, but the room passed all expectations I could have ever had. I stayed in room three. Not only was the room clean, adorable with great character, but how can you go wrong with a fabulous fire place to cuddle up and fall asleep to. I will be staying at the Barncastle everytime I make the trip up. Thanks to Cory for the suggestion to stay at this fabulous place. The Barncastle made the trip so perfect. I can not wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
27
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peaks Island, Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Not exactly in the middle of all the activity so the inn is relatively a quiet place. We stayed in Room 5 which had a large king bed, a nice sitting room and large bathroom. The floors could use some work as well as the bathroom fixtures but all in all clean and neat. The resturant food was very good and the portions were large. Several dining areas to choose from depending on your mood. Pub, sunroom and two other dining areas of the house which I suppose were once a dining room and a palor. All in all a good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in room 3 recently (the turret room). It was large, and the fireplace was great. It's kind of fun just picking up a key and going to your room without a lot of formalities (the key holder was also the bartender the afternoon when we checked in). They were very helpful when we asked if the fireplace could be used, they bent over backwards to get wood, kindling and matches).

There were a few things that made this room less than perfect. It is an older building, and there is some wear and tear in the room. Not a big deal, and somewhat part of the charm. The carpet is the flat, industrial kind. Something a little more plush would have been nice. Minor, but a bit of a downer when we were staying there especially for our anniversary. As mentioned in other reviews, there is some road noise. Minor to those of us who have lived in cities and busy suburbs, but more than usual for Maine.

My biggest concern is that it is connected to Room 4. There was a family with two small children next door, and every noise and scream from the children came through clear as day. Luckily, they went to bed early, and by the time we got home from a late dinner, they were asleep. There is the possibility of unwanted noise from that connected room.

Overall, though, it was a lovely building ,and the room certainly had a lot of charm and character.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCB0607
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We sat in the Pub, which was quaint and charming. We ordered the garlic bread as an appetizer, which was yummy. The menu has lots of delicious looking options, especially for a vegetarian. We opted for the Athenian Pizza, with artichoke hearts and Kalamata olives. The spelt dough was crunchy and chewy at the same time and the pizza tasted like heaven. They had a pretty expansive fancy beer selection and our waitress was very sweet and helpful. This looked like a really cute place to stay, too. We are sad we're only in Blue Hill for a few days because we would definitely come back and try more pizza options!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

No check in, check out. You feel more like a house guest than a hotel guest. Room 3 is spectacular, huge, period furmiture, sitting area, and working fireplace, and a very nice bath. Two problems - the AC unit is a window unit, and needs to run all the time if the weather is hot at all, and the AC window unit of the next room is noisy enough to be clearly heard. Also, the house is close to the road, so there is road noise, although it is not a busy highway by any means. So, it is not as quiet as I would like. The first floor is a very classy pizza restaurant (excellent pizza) with other good selections and a really classy bar. Lots of people come - the parking lot may be totally full. Live music weekly in the bar - you really need reservations for that. The House has been lovingly restored. There is a nice pool table in back. The barn has not been, but it is not used by guests. There is no longer any view - a shame, since it was spectacular 50 years ago (I used to live there).

Room Tip: Service was so good it was invisible. Room 3 is great. The rooms to the rear are in an attached ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Maine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We needed a place to stay with reasonable food prices at the restaurant...looked around online and found this. The room (#1) was delightful...bright, high-ceilinged, with a newly-remodeled bathroom, and a small sitting area. The food was fine. This seems to be the go-to place for everybody in Blue Hill, and I think it's because of the pizza. There was music (Wednesday) but that stopped at eight o'clock. Our room, though near the road, had an air conditioner that kept the noise out. Okay...it's off-season. I can't speak for those who were here before Labor Day!
The biggest and most important part of our experience was the help we got from Lori in the morning. We needed a mechanic for some emergency brake work. She called her mechanic way down on Naskeag Point in Brooklin.....he took us in immediately and finished the job in one day. Her help was invaluable, and so was his. Made me happy not to be staying in an "anonymous" motel. Bravo, Barncastle! Excellent staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, VA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The couple we travelled with nearly bought this place 20+ years ago. Clearly, there has been a lot of work done. Though lots remain to be done, it is quite a nice place to stay and eat. Highly recommend one of the three suites on the second floor. They are spacious, nicely appointed and well-maintained. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom/shower excellent. We had the room directly above the bar, yet did not hear any noise whatsoever from it. Yet, when we opened the door it was noisy. Point is that the rooms are quiet. The restaurant was excellent, and you need to make reservations for dinner when you reserve a room. Diners were coming and going for several hours on a weeknight. Brick oven pizza'a to eclectic fare to mom/pop dinners are all available. Wine selection is excellent too.

Room Tip: Rent one of the three suites. You will not be disappointed and they are a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant

Address: 125 South Street, Blue Hill, ME 04614
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Blue Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Blue Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Barncastle Hotel Blue Hill
Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant Blue Hill, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant to your Saves list