We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish pizza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant

Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blue Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant
Save
You added Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant to your Saves list
125 South Street, Blue Hill, ME 04614   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blue Hill
MCB0607
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delish pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We sat in the Pub, which was quaint and charming. We ordered the garlic bread as an appetizer, which was yummy. The menu has lots of delicious looking options, especially for a vegetarian. We opted for the Athenian Pizza, with artichoke hearts and Kalamata olives. The spelt dough was crunchy and chewy at the same time and the pizza tasted like heaven. They had a pretty expansive fancy beer selection and our waitress was very sweet and helpful. This looked like a really cute place to stay, too. We are sad we're only in Blue Hill for a few days because we would definitely come back and try more pizza options!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

No check in, check out. You feel more like a house guest than a hotel guest. Room 3 is spectacular, huge, period furmiture, sitting area, and working fireplace, and a very nice bath. Two problems - the AC unit is a window unit, and needs to run all the time if the weather is hot at all, and the AC window unit of the next room is noisy enough to be clearly heard. Also, the house is close to the road, so there is road noise, although it is not a busy highway by any means. So, it is not as quiet as I would like. The first floor is a very classy pizza restaurant (excellent pizza) with other good selections and a really classy bar. Lots of people come - the parking lot may be totally full. Live music weekly in the bar - you really need reservations for that. The House has been lovingly restored. There is a nice pool table in back. The barn has not been, but it is not used by guests. There is no longer any view - a shame, since it was spectacular 50 years ago (I used to live there).

Room Tip: Service was so good it was invisible. Room 3 is great. The rooms to the rear are in an attached ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Maine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We needed a place to stay with reasonable food prices at the restaurant...looked around online and found this. The room (#1) was delightful...bright, high-ceilinged, with a newly-remodeled bathroom, and a small sitting area. The food was fine. This seems to be the go-to place for everybody in Blue Hill, and I think it's because of the pizza. There was music (Wednesday) but that stopped at eight o'clock. Our room, though near the road, had an air conditioner that kept the noise out. Okay...it's off-season. I can't speak for those who were here before Labor Day!
The biggest and most important part of our experience was the help we got from Lori in the morning. We needed a mechanic for some emergency brake work. She called her mechanic way down on Naskeag Point in Brooklin.....he took us in immediately and finished the job in one day. Her help was invaluable, and so was his. Made me happy not to be staying in an "anonymous" motel. Bravo, Barncastle! Excellent staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, VA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The couple we travelled with nearly bought this place 20+ years ago. Clearly, there has been a lot of work done. Though lots remain to be done, it is quite a nice place to stay and eat. Highly recommend one of the three suites on the second floor. They are spacious, nicely appointed and well-maintained. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom/shower excellent. We had the room directly above the bar, yet did not hear any noise whatsoever from it. Yet, when we opened the door it was noisy. Point is that the rooms are quiet. The restaurant was excellent, and you need to make reservations for dinner when you reserve a room. Diners were coming and going for several hours on a weeknight. Brick oven pizza'a to eclectic fare to mom/pop dinners are all available. Wine selection is excellent too.

Room Tip: Rent one of the three suites. You will not be disappointed and they are a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed several nights in July. First the pros. The rooms are gorgeous and clean. The restaurant serves good quality pub food. The building is old and beautiful. So what could be wrong? Service. Read the old reviews and it will explain the issue. The restaurant staff walks by you quizzically. The owners/staff are no where to be found or if they are, never introduce themselves. When you walk in, the key is waiting on a ledge. At breakfast, the food is out; but no one is present. At checkout, the receipt is waiting on the ledge. As I hotel guest, I felt puzzled. Bottom line.....For guests staying one night on their way elsewhere, it would be an ok choice. However, if you plan to stay more than one night, I would look somewhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are right over a busy road. If noise is an issue, select a side or back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We spent 1 night at Barncastle while on a 2-week vacation traveling the coast of Maine. It was perfect in every way. The ambience is comfortably elegant and the rooms are well appointed. We arrived after bicycling 35 miles from Searsport and thoroughly enjoyed checking in, refreshing and relaxing and then simply stepping downstairs for a drink at the outside bar before having dinner in the pub. It was a Tuesday evening and the staff was busy but friendly. Great drink selection (highly recommend a gin + tonic with the local Back River Gin ... served in a pint glass!) and delicious food. The only negative comment we would have is regarding the breakfast but because we're still glowing from everything else the 5 star rating sticks. As stated by another reviewer, the breakfast isn't in keeping with the dinner and the accommodations. We were with friends and all four of us agreed this night was the highlight of our trip. Thank you Barncastle!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We accepted the adventure of trying "spelt" for the first time, and found it to be wonderful. It's a type of wheat dough that is offered as an alternative crust with their pizza and calzones. A slight "nutty" taste really adds to it! My husband raved about his Type O Calzone....said it was the best calzone he had ever had. My fountain soda did taste a little funny, but our server was quick to provide another. Unfortunately, that one was still off, and our server soon arrived with a can of soda! I was impressed by her initiative to please us, even though I had agreed to take another flavor. We came here at the suggestion of a good friend, and we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant

Address: 125 South Street, Blue Hill, ME 04614
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Blue Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blue Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Barncastle Hotel Blue Hill
Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant Blue Hill, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.