We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Anchor Village Pub - CLOSED

Black Anchor Village Pub
50 Main Street, Blue Hill, ME 04614
+(1)207-374-7012
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ellsworth, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

A place the locals love to eat at. The food is excellent, the atmosphere comfortable and the deserts are exquisite.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The best fried fish that I have had anywhere around the blue hill peninsula. Such a pleasant spot. I recommend Black Anchor Pub to anyone looking for a great meal with great atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Hill
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Needs a service manager”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Ate there 4 times, the 4th time being my last volunteer visit. The food was always great, the prices fair, but the service was very poor. The two of us were seated without menus, then after about 10 minutes they gave us one menu (needed 2), it took 15 minutes for the waitress to come back but she only brought one of are drinks, she said she would be back to take are order & bring the other drink, another 15 minutes past, we put in our order but she did not have the other drink. We had to flag someone down just for water. The food came out in fair time but the order was incorrect. I had ordered a linguine with shrimp dish and got scallops. The food tasted good but the waitress never came back to check. We waited so long for the check that we left enough cash on the table to cover it. NOT A PLEASANT DINING EXPERIENCE!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun Pub- Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Good food, great service, nice folks, good place to set down and enjoy friends. We've been there for lunch and for dinner and always had a good experience. So glad to have a year around place to go!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good food - great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Our food was terrific: we had the crab cake: unlike so many are, this was delicately browned and not at greasy. The flavor was amazing and the aioli suice was generous and also very tasty: and oh, the crab cake was like 4 inches in diameter! Huge!

Our entrees were very nicely done: a duck pot pie: duck stew with a beautiful puff pastry on top, perfect winter comfort food. My husband's salmon was wonderfully done and his mashed potatoes done with garlic, not over done.

The staff needs training, our waitress was alone and she seemed not entirely up on the menu r what was going on.
I ate at this location for the first time over 30 years ago, when it was the Seagull - Blue Hill needs a good restaurant at this particular location: and good food is what it's about.
We will go again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Anchor Village Pub also viewed

Blue Hill, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Blue Hill, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Blue Hill, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Blue Hill, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Anchor Village Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.