We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brrrrrrrrrrrrrr, but fixed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Biddeford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Biddeford to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Biddeford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Barra Road, Exit 4 Business Park, Biddeford, ME 04005 (Formerly Comfort Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Biddeford
Valparaiso, Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Brrrrrrrrrrrrrr, but fixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our second stay at this place. In august, we had a good night's sleep and good service so we went back. That was on December 27th. See the other post by MrMouse32. EXACTLY the same situation. We were put on the 3rd floor and getting out of the elevator, you could see your breath. The floor in the bathroom was so cold we had to put on our shoes. We also complained to the manager who relocated us to the second floor (we checked in at 8 and by 9 we were one floor below the first room)... heat was on and we had a good night's sleep. We by-passed the breakfast so I can't rate that. But being a Gold Elite Member of Choice Hotels may have earned us some perks MrMouse didn't get. The temperature in that room must have been in the low 40s and full heat for over an hour did not change that.

Room Tip: Unless you are using the "sleep Management Program" at the local hospital that takes over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Biddeford, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear ValpoInd,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with your room accommodation. Though this matter has been resolved in a timely manner, I regret this has negatively impacted your stay with us. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    44
    18
    8
    19
See reviews for
45
43
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We checked into this hotel around 9:30 pm and it appeared to be nice. Our perceptions quickly changed once we made our way to our room. When we opened the door of our room, we were taken aback by just how cold it was. We quickly turned on the heat and called the front desk representative for extra blankets to keep warm while the room heated up. The front desk representative assured us that the room would get warm quickly. I decided to check to make sure that the windows in the room were closed only to find that they wouldn’t lock. Since our room was on the first floor, we thought it was unsafe for the window locks to be broken. While we were waiting for the room to heat up, I decided to go to the hotel lobby to use the computer to check my Email only to find that it didn't work.

At 11:30 pm, we called the front desk again because the room temperature was still somewhat cold and uncomfortable. The front desk agent came and agreed that the room was cold. He offered to move us to another room; however, since it was so late we decided it wouldn’t make much sense to pack everything up so we decided to stay. We were brought more blankets.
The next morning we decided to take advantage of the complimentary “hot” breakfast. The breakfast consisted of a few cereals, a waffle maker, eggs, sausage, fruit and pastries. The bananas that were served were actually rotten. The front desk agent who was responsible for answering phones and checking people out was also responsible for overseeing the breakfast selection. Several of the containers that were used for milk and juices needed to be refilled. The hotel clearly was understaffed!

When I went back to the room to take a shower, I turned on the shower only to find that it was broken too! The shower head was loose and water squirted everywhere. Our hotel stay could not get any worse. When I called the front desk to speak to a manager, I was advised that no manager was on duty at the time. I am still awaiting a call back from the hotel manager.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Before I even checked in I had called to see if there were any attractions for the holidays that I should go and see while I was in town. I spoke to Nicole and she told me that she didn’t know of anything off the top of her head but would do some research and have it waiting for me when I checked in! Are you serious!? Talk about going above and beyond for the guests!

When I arrived to the hotel, everything was great! They were doing a Santa Event for kids and families with hot coca, popcorn, cotton candy, cookie decorating, a sleigh ride, and a visit from Santa! What a great way to get everyone in the holiday spirit!

The room was very clean and spacious and the staff was excellent! Breakfast was awesome and seemed to be a little better then other Choice Hotels that I've stayed in! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I had no problem checking in. I had no problem finding my room. I found my room to be clean. I also found my room to be very quiet. The front desk people were kind and helpfull. Parking was also close to the entrance as well. I also liked that the pillows and bed were clean and comfortable. I did notice that the bathroom floor was very much cold for first thing in the morning. The couch cushions could have been more neatly placed. I guess what upset me the most was that the Travel Channel would not come in on the TV as so I could watch one of my weekly programs. And I would think that if a channel should always come in at a hotel I would think it should be that type of channel. This was the third time I have stayed here, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We chose to stay here instead of Portland because Portland was so expensive. It was an easy 30 minute drive to Portland and we enjoyed the scenery. After spending the day in Portland we actually preferred staying in this smaller town rather than busier Portland.

Our room here was large. Although the room itself was clean, the shower caulking had mold so obviously some attention needs to be paid to routine maintenance. The bed was comfortable and the shower nice. Free wi-fi worked well.

As with most hotels that offer free breakfast, the food isn't all that great but it was edible and one less meal you have to buy.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We understood this is a huge tourism area and hotels are higher priced but what a disappointment for our money. On the plus side - the front desk staff were quite friendly and helpful. And the room was a very nice size. Now to the negatives: the room smelled awful. Maybe old cigarette smell or mildew or something. It wasn't that clean. Bathroom counter hadn't been cleaned off for one and didn't feel like much had been done to room. Updating would also be nice.
Our room didn't have an iron and the hair dryer didn't work. Now back to the front desk - they were willing to bring us another iron but she was so busy that she didn't get to it for awhile. Finally we said nevermind and we'd wear things that didn't need ironing. She was willing to help though! And - when the hair dryer didn't work the next day - this new girl at the front desk quickly gave me a key to a nearby empty room to use that hair dryer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney ME
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Spent one night here due to doctors appointment in the morning. It is located in a Business Park close to a hospital. It was very clean, beds were comfortable, and perhaps because it was a corner room, very quiet for sleeping. The only suggestion I would make would be to change the drapes as one of them was very obviously torn (room 201). The complimentary breakfast was good and plentiful. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very quiet and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Biddeford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Biddeford

Address: 45 Barra Road, Exit 4 Business Park, Biddeford, ME 04005 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Biddeford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Biddeford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Biddeford 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Biddeford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Biddeford
Comfort Suites Biddeford
Biddeford Comfort Suites
Holiday Inn Express Biddeford Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Biddeford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.