We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great discount hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2 Pomerleau Street, Biddeford, ME 04005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Biddeford
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great discount hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Please understand this is a discount, no-frills hotel. That said, it is a great deal. The owner Raz lives on-site and is very attentive to any concerns (internet was down, Raz immediately determined a housekeeper accidentally unplugged the router in a storage room). The room I stayed in was extremely clean and everything was brand new: the bed and bedding, the furniture, and carpet. I've stayed several times in the last few months because it's such a good deal. My only recommendation to future lodgers is to request a room away from a smoking room, and not above a smoking room. Maine gets cold in the winter and smokers don't want to go outside, so I'm sure Raz has smoking rooms for business reasons. For the money, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Don't stay next to or above a smoking room, otherwise the rooms I've stayed in were clean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
17
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Biddeford, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The guy at the desk is so nice and will do anything for you. Although there is only Coffee in the morning, you DO get a fridge in the room, and a soda machine and ice machine. The Wifi always works, and it is clean and cozy. Just would LOVE a microwave in the room. I imagine I could bring one next time. I think I will. Also, this is right between OOB and Kennebunk. Perfect. I will always stay here. They accept AAA for $10 off. The room was $88 plus tax during the week with AAA discount. Likey likey. Ha.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibiddeford, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your pleasant stay. We take much pride in our property and like to treat our guests like family. We do have microwaves in some rooms all you need to do is ask ahead of time. We thank you again for the kind words and can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here just overnight, but the front desk clerk was nice, the room was very clean and nice for the low, low price of the motel. And it wasn't that far from a few restaurants or the highway. We were very well pleased with the room and the overall appearance and staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibiddeford, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your positive review! We know you are busy and it takes time to post your thoughts, but we do appreciate it. We take alot of pride to make our property welcoming and clean and we are happy that you enjoyed it. WE are always maintaining and cleaning! We look forward to seeing you again!

Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed here in August after pre-booking with a re-seller in Maine. Firstly, it's right on the main road and typical motel style with doors opening onto the outside walkways so gets very noisy.

Although we pre-booked and paid in advance for 2 adults and a teenager in the room the desk assistant was curt and adamant that she would have to speak to the manager. When the Manager turned up he demanded an extra $15 for the 3rd person despite the booking reference clearly stating 3 people...it was that or leave. So beware!

The Hotel advertises 'Free WiFi' which is a falsehood, there is no free WiFi anywhere around that motel...
The rooms are basic, although they do have air-con and a fridge.

The Hotel advertises it is just a few short miles from local beaches and attractions...Hell, yes about 30 mins drive minimum...Frankly it's a bit of a drive to get to the nice parts of Maine!

Overall I can't say much positive about our experience here, the Staff and Manager we encountered were abrupt and not very welcoming and it was just functional as somewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibiddeford, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We are sorry you were confused about the reservations you made online. Sometimes this does happen because the guests don't see the mentioning of the "based on double occupancy - 2 people"... extra guests are an additional fee., In this case it was stated right there on your reservation. It was an additional $5.00 per person per night, which totalled $15.00. Our WIFI is very strong and we have had it for about 2 years now, but maybe you didn't realize you needed a password. We give the password if you call the front desk. We are only 5 miles from the beaches and of course, it all depends on what you are looking for. We hope this clarifies any misunderstandings and would love for you to give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

My husband and I traveled from Massachusetts to Biddeford to visit family and decided on this motel for easy on, easy off the highway. We were very pleasanly surprised due to the affordability that this was a very clean, very quiet place for us to settle into in the evenings. We spent a couple of nights and found management was extremely courteous and accomodating. We will not hesitate to stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibiddeford, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We appreciate your kind words abuot our property. We have excellent housekeeping staff that works very hard to keeping the property looking so clean and neat. We take alot of time in making things this way for our guest and we are always happy when they notice. Despite the very good positioning here (next to Dunkin' Donuts and other restaurants) it is a nice quiet place to relax. We do hope you visit us again. It is a pleasure to have guests like you.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Was a stop over for our trip, knowing we didn't want to spend much since it was basicly a place to sleep we made a resservation for here. Room was very very clean, and office staff was nice. Easy to get to from interstate. My only complaint was the bed were very hard!! it was very quiet here though.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibiddeford, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
It was nice of you to take the time to add your positive comments. Since your last visit we have replaced all of our mattresses and carpeting! We are sure you will find them very comfortable. We hope you will give us another try while travelling in Maine. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I spent two nights at America's Best Value Inn. Having recently driven across the country, I'm familiar with typical motel standards. This was on par. For the money it's ok. Towels are eh, and soap was filmy (towels and bath products can make or break a place for me). The beds were comfy enough. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room so it was ok.

What freaked me out was the second night I pulled back my sheets and checked to make sure they looked clean. I don't typically inspect hotel sheets, but I give them a once over. As soon as I pulled back the sheet, a small black bug hopped across the sheets. I freaked out. With the outbreak of bedbugs in NYC, I wasn't taking any chances.

It was too late to make a stink — I was exhausted and we had to get up early. So I just joined my travel partner in the other bed... and spent the night dreaming about creepy crawlers.

Be careful if you stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibiddeford, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why our bedding did not meet your expectations. We wish to address your needs and provide the best solution available to resolve your issue as soon as possible. We will further evaluate how we can prevent this problem from occurring again in the future.

Please accept our sincerest apology for any trouble or inconvenience we have caused you. Once again, we appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.

Yours sincerely,

Raj-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Biddeford, ME
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland

Address: 2 Pomerleau Street, Biddeford, ME 04005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Biddeford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Biddeford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the 2 Diamond AAA Approved Americas Best Value Inn of Biddeford, Maine located just south of Portland. We are conveniently located a 1/2 mile from Interstate 95 at Exit 32 on State Road 111. Our Property is just minutes from Maine's beautiful Atlantic coastline and a few miles from many of New England's historical sights and towns. We offer 19 pleasantly furnished guestrooms with all the comforts of home. Come stay with us here in Biddeford and experience Maine's Coast in the true New England spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.