We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austin's Holidae House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Austin's Holidae House B&B to your Saves list
Austin's Holidae House B&B
85 Main Street, PO Box 1248, Bethel, ME 04217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Carpe Diem $89 Same Day
Ranked #2 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
Manchester
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

We could not have picked a better place to stay in Bethel. Laurence and Marcia are wonderful hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. Our room was clean and very comfortable. The breakfasts were as good as you find anywhere and chance to meet and talk with the other guests. Even items not on the menu such as poached eggs were served with a smile by Laurence.
Afternoon delights were freshly made and gave a chance to relax with a coffee before heading out for dinner. On return from dinner drinks were available in the lounge where we spent time chatting with Laurence, often ending in fits of laughter.
Nothing was too much trouble including providing assistance for one of the party who had been injured in a fall earlier in the holiday.
We hope Laurence and Marcia go from strength to strength with their venture.

  • Liked — Friendly hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    36
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
71
241
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belleair, FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

We have just returned from an 8-day trip to New England for the fall foliage. The most memorable stop was in Bethel, Maine, where we spent 3 nights at a most incredible B&B, Austin's Holidae House. Marcia and Laurence, the owner/hosts, were so gracious and welcoming. Shortly after our arrival they upgraded the quality of several beds, ours being one of them. Frankly I thought the original bed was heavenly. The next night, after the exchange, it was even better. I have never slept so comfortably or soundly.

And the breakfasts are mouth watering - truly gourmet with endless options and utterly delicious. Laurence is a fabulous chef. And don't miss Marcia's homemade scones!

We have found a new destination for our annual trek north and look forward to spending more time with these lovely and loving people.

  • Liked — The hosts, Marcia and Laurence, made the stay especially memorable.
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing. It was prefect.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

Reviewer. John and Pat from MN

Marcia and Laurence Austin are wonderful hosts. Our friends and we stayed there on October 8, 2008. Their B & B is wonderfully furnished and very comfortable and very clean (one of my wife's first criteria). A wonderful assortment of cordials and other liquors are complimentary. The breakfast was the best we had on our 11 day trip. Laurence also suggested a wonderful restaurant for our dinner. Bethel is also a beautiful area of Vt. We will definitely stay with the Austins on our next trip to the NE.

  • Liked — food and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

This B&B is fantastic!

Located in the centre of Bethel, the Austin Holidae House is a beautiful and cozy place. We (German couple, 30 and 32) spent four nights in room 1 (second floor). The room is nicely decorated and has a big comfortable bed and a small bathroom.

The breakfast is absolutely amazing. Every morning, Laurence or Marcia asked us what we wanted for breakfast - plain pancakes, pancakes with blueberries, French Toast, scrambled eggs, bacon or no bacon - you name it. There was granola, fresh fruit, cereals, freshly baked goods, home-made jam, Coffee, Tea, juice... Everything tasted wonderful.

On our three-weeks trip through New England we have stayed in a few B&Bs which are almost as nice as the Austin's Holidae House - but none that is run by such extraordinary amiable and friendly hosts. Let us give you an example or two: One morning at breakfast we asked Marcia for Cranberry juice. There was none, so later that day we got our own bottle. When we asked Laurence if we could put it in the fridge in the kitchen, he said "Of course, but let me show you something." He then led me to the fridge and showed me the bottle of Cranberry juice he had just bought - it was the best the Bethel supermarket had on sale.

Not to mention the small choice of chocolates we found everyday when returnig to our room in the afternoon...

To sum things up, Austin's Holide House is a rolemodel for B&Bs, and Marcia and Laurence are the nicest hosts you can imagine.

Cathrin + Jens

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

The owners were delightful. The breakfast was the best we had all week. The only drawback was a single bed set up in a room with a queen bed for a third person that was very uncomfortable.
Other than that - it was great.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — One uncomfortable bed out of three.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

This wonderfully restored Bed & Breakfast, in the heart of Bethel Village, has all the comfort and charm you could ever want in a B&B. The owners are wonderful, outgoing, and catered to my every need. I was in Bethel on business, but found my stay with them to be relaxing and comfortable in every way. I'd love to return for a vacation! Thank you, Laurence and Marcia for being great hosts!!

  • Liked — The hosts, the decor, the location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

We stayed at the Holidae House B&B during a rainy week in August. The hospitality from the British innkeeper was totally delightful. We felt perfectly comfortable using the dining area and sitting areas as if we owned the place. This is the first B&B we visited in Maine that served a full "order as you wish" breakfast which included eggs, pancakes, sausage, yogurt, fruit, etc etc. We recommend this beautifully decorated and preserved historical inn with its lovely rooms to anyone who would like a truly hospitable and charming experience.

  • Liked — Host
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austin's Holidae House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin's Holidae House B&B

Address: 85 Main Street, PO Box 1248, Bethel, ME 04217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Austin's Holidae House B&B has seven comfortable and well-appointed rooms, all with private baths. We serve made-to-order, delicious homemade breakfasts. Our congenial service includes complimentary afternoon tea and snacks and after dinner drinks, all within walking distance of shops and restaurants in the center of Bethel Village. All rooms have queen beds - one room (#5) has an additional single bed. WIFI is available throughout the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Austin's Holidae House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin's Holidae House B&B Bethel, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin's Holidae House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.