We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Austin's Holidae House B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Austin's Holidae House B&B to your Saves list
Austin's Holidae House B&B
85 Main Street, PO Box 1248, Bethel, ME 04217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Carpe Diem $89 Same Day
Ranked #2 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
Rockport, Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed here with my son in June of 2013. It was a nice place to stay for a night. We were looking at colleges and stayed here along the way. It was pleasant and charming. The food was very good. The bathroom was worn and could have used a bit of repair. The beds were comfortable enough. I wouldn't recommend this to families with young children, but for teenagers or adults, this was fine. The host was quite friendly and helpful.
I think that the rating was somewhere between average and very good. Some things were average, some very good. No complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurenceandMarcia, Owner at Austin's Holidae House B&B, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. Although you were with us over six months ago, we do remember you. We are glad you found your stay a good one. Our Inn is over 100 years old and has been updated and renovated over the years. The decor is of course not modern, as the Inn is not modern. That is one of the things that our guests enjoy and should be expected. Each room has a private bath, as you know. We pride our selves on keeping our rooms clean, welcoming and comfortable. We do often have families stay with us, with children from babies to young adults, like your son. We truly enjoy having them with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    36
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
71
241
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had a lovely one night stay here - a very charming older house with well appointed rooms. A comfortable bed, complimentary drinks and cookies in the living room upon our arrival and a splendid hosts. Laurence and Marcia are the most gracious, welcoming hosts you could imagine. The breakfast was truly english and we enjoyed it thoroughly - we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had a lovely stay. We we were welcomed by Laurence and enjoyed his warm hospitality. We arrived at the end of a long day and there was brandy and tea available in the cozy sitting room. The breakfast was delicious and the conservations was lively. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We can't say enough good things about the surroundings and the people. The décor was quite Victorian and carefully chosen. Everything was comfortable. Laurence, the owner, was truly cordial and interesting. It's not everyday that you get to meet someone with an English accent, yet at home in America. He gave us some great tips on where to eat and where to ski. The breakfasts were expansive, filling and very well prepared.
We hope to go back again and again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have stayed at other hotels and B&B's in the Bethel area and were really getting a bit discouraged. A friend had told me about Austin's Holidae House, and we tried it. The room was spacious and beautiful, with lovey furniture. I was impressed with how clean and tidy it was kept - not the slightest spec of dust on any lamp, decoration, table, or fabric in the heavily ornate room (I couldn't even do this at home). Private in room bath with jacuzzi, tele, cozy reading nook off street parking, and easy walk to everywhere. Our host Laurence, was a lovely English gentleman, purveying upon us all those little extra touches, a selection of night caps, chocolates, organizing the perfect time for your homemade breakfast the next day...the toast rack was my personal favorite. Love this place! I have already made my next reservation.

Room Tip: Front right corner room..."The Blue Room" (not sure of its name)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We spent 16 days in Maine and I must say that the best Bed and Breakfast we encountered was at Austin’s. Laurence, the owner, was a splendid host, a perfect English gentleman. The best breakfast and everything was just wonderful. Bethel is beautiful. It is a must go!!

Room Tip: Must call a couple of months in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Holidae House for a few nights and we quite enjoyed it. While we were referred to as "the young couple" by the other guests that were all significantly older than us, we didn't mind. The house is old and has its quirks but it also has a feeling of significance. Breakfast was yummy and the hosts were warm and sociable. This isn't the place to stay if you just want to sit in your room and watch TV as the TVs are quite small...but why would you want to do that anyway?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Austin's Holidae House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin's Holidae House B&B

Address: 85 Main Street, PO Box 1248, Bethel, ME 04217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Austin's Holidae House B&B has seven comfortable and well-appointed rooms, all with private baths. We serve made-to-order, delicious homemade breakfasts. Our congenial service includes complimentary afternoon tea and snacks and after dinner drinks, all within walking distance of shops and restaurants in the center of Bethel Village. All rooms have queen beds - one room (#5) has an additional single bed. WIFI is available throughout the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Austin's Holidae House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin's Holidae House B&B Bethel, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin's Holidae House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.