We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a charming spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austin's Holidae House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Austin's Holidae House B&B to your Saves list
Austin's Holidae House B&B
85 Main Street, PO Box 1248, Bethel, ME 04217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What a charming spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights in a wonderful room with a brilliant breakfast. The owners were charm personified. Bethel itself is a lovely, small spot and this small hotel is just perfect. Every aspect, from the warm welcome to the farewell was just great. The free drinks in the evening, in the lounge were very much appreciated. The verandah was a nice spot to while away an hour or so after a long walk in the spectacular countryside surrounding Bethel.
Brilliant all round.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    39
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
79
260
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Woodsville, New Hampshire, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

An excellent overnight stop. Warm, comfortable, welcoming, and a great breakfast. Liked the obliging nature of the proprietor, but had a slight struggle to access the wifi. Did manage to, though, eventually.

Room Tip: We were in Rm 6 and was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Lawrence and Marcia make this charming home a wonderful place to stay in Bethel. This beautifully decorated home has marvelous character and warmth that are surpassed only by it's hosts! They offer a wide selections of teas and even evening nightcaps if you choose. The fantastic and hearty breakfast are made to order. Lawrence makes a fabulous french toast you must try and they serve fresh eggs and homemade jams! They made our three day stay simply delightful and very cozy. We enjoyed visiting with Lawrence and Marcia and getting to know them and the other guests. They made wonderful recommendations where to visit local places and to eat. It's first class English hospitality with genuine warmth that will make you leave with a smile on your face and in your heart- you will be so happy you choose this B&B to stay at!

Room Tip: We had a room on the lower floor in the front of the house. Charming room with a lot of elegant det...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We chose Austin's Holidae House after reading so many wonderful reviews and we weren't disappointed. This B&B has "old world charm", comfortable and welcoming. The owners were gracious, helpful and accommodating. Our corner room was well appointed, with quality lines and towels. They suggested a local restaurant for dinner, which we very much enjoyed. A complimentary "nightcap" in the living room while chatting with the owner was delightful. Breakfast was delicious; homemade jam, free range eggs, home made cinnamon french toast w/local maple syrup and endless coffee. I would recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to stay at a lovely B&B in the Bethel area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were lucky to get the last room here for a Friday night in Oct. We were welcomed warmly and shown around the house. Our room was small, but adequate. Nice and quiet too. It was within short walking distance to restaurants. The breakfast was very good. Just a very nice place to stay and priced reasonably. Free booze too if you so desire!

Room Tip: If you prefer a large room just ask if one is available. Owners are very accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our short stay at this absolutely charming B&B which has a touch of English class, is warm and welcoming, and is well located. Breakfast was fantastic, the best we've had on our trip, and was made specially early for us! Highly recommend this lovely place!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful B&B. Our hosts were delightful and so personable. We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. We had room #5 on the first floor which was large as well as cozy. We would highly recommend staying with the Austin's. Besides breakfast was awesome. Think we actually were having a little pancake with our Maine blueberries. Yummy.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austin's Holidae House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin's Holidae House B&B

Address: 85 Main Street, PO Box 1248, Bethel, ME 04217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Austin's Holidae House B&B has seven comfortable and well-appointed rooms, all with private baths. We serve made-to-order, delicious homemade breakfasts. Our congenial service includes complimentary afternoon tea and snacks and after dinner drinks, all within walking distance of shops and restaurants in the center of Bethel Village. All rooms have queen beds - one room (#5) has an additional single bed. WIFI is available throughout the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Austin's Holidae House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin's Holidae House B&B Bethel, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin's Holidae House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.