We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethel Hill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bethel Hill Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Bethel Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
66 Broad Street, Bethel, ME 04217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful week in Bethel and the Moosehead Lake region. We stayed two nights at the Bethel Hill B & B and enjoyed every minute of it. The house was decorated beautifully and our room was very nice with an outdoor patio. I wish we could have used the fire pit, but the weather was not cooperating. Scott gave us much helpful information in knowing what to do in the area. I had no idea that this little town and surrounding area had so much to offer. The breakfasts were delicious and both Scott and Carol went out of their way to make our stay as special as possible. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone going to this part of Maine for any season of the year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
47
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here just this past week and had a great experience! Scott and Carol were warm and welcoming and very helpful to us in recommending a dinner location in Bethel as well as helping us navigate our journey the next day. The breakfast was great and the quite, quaint setting was fabulous - we highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We arrived late at Bethel Hill B&B after driving through rain and moose signs on unfamiliar two-lane roads. Needless to say, the offer of a quiet place and a glass of wine was most welcome. Carol met us and showed us around their home for us. She and Scott have done a wonderful job of providing a homey feel with modern amenities. Our bedroom was well-appointed and the bath was spacious and had everything we needed. Breakfast was scrumptuous! We had local Macintosh apples, sauteed and seasoned with cinnamon and sugar. Doesn't get much better than that! But wait...we had pancakes with local maple syrup and bacon. The coffee was stout and plentiful. It was a great start to another day of driving. If we visit this area again, we'll definitely book a room at Bethel Hill.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our only complaint about an otherwise nice B&B was the tub that was not clean. The property offers bath salts and the previous occupant has obviously used them. They were still in the tub. We were too tired to raise it with our hosts.

The breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skia, Owner at Bethel Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. At the time of your visit we were training new house keeping staff for the summer season. You can be assured this will be addressed as we pride ourselves in a meticulously clean environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I've stayed several times at Carol and Scott Gould's B&B in Bethel and will be back again! For this visit, I had the opportunity to stay 3 nights and left rested, happy, and well-cared for.
Some details:
Curb appeal? You bet. The B&B is even more beautiful than the TripAdvisor picture. The flowers, herbs, shrubs, trees, veggies and lawn were lush and so well arranged and tended.
Greetings and welcome by each of the hosts were like coming home after an absence. These innkeepers really take an interest in each of their guests and are a delight to talk with.
Bedrooms -- I stayed in Dogwood, the two-room suite. The rooms are elegant in their simplicity (no fussiness), tasteful antiques, comfortable beds, peacefulness, and ... reading lights by the beds. It's so quiet up on this hill at the top end of the Town and the rooms are so calming and cozy that you set worries and cares aside.
Breakfasts are attractively presented, yummy (and local -- we had great homemade blueberry preserves and local maple syrup). Each is prepared to your preferences. Carol takes extra care with the opening fruit course, beautifully arranged and garnished with their own mint leaves. Scott's camp-fried potatoes and the excellent coffee alone, are enough to lure you downstairs to breakfast. Each time I've stayed there, most guests converge into the breakfast room and really enjoy each other's company (and respect when you just need a bit of quiet). This weekend I met a traveling couple who had known my brother well when he was in college -- that's typical of the "people" experience at the B&B.
And it must be said: I don't know who's responsible for baking those choc chip treats in the cookie jar, but I know first hand that they disappear quickly!
On this trip, I needed a space to work on my laptop (with coffee nearby). I nestled into the first floor library. Many B&B's don't have enough common space. Not the case at Bethel Hill: beyond the cozy library, there's also a lovely open space on the second floor with games, magazines, a large spinning wheel, comfy seating, and a beautiful view of the 1920's craftsman cottage and towering pines across the way.
The Innkeepers: This is Carol and Scott's dream. Very interesting people, they always make time to be sure their guests have what they need to enjoy their stay, and they are full of suggestions and information.

Lovely Historic Bethel, set in a magnificent mountainous location (near skiing and lakes), is known for its classic Victorians and the B&B's that have been there for years. Carol and Scott, delightful and knowledgeable raconteurs, provide a B&B experience that even a committed fan of the tried and true finds welcoming and most enjoyable.

Thanks, Goulds, for a terrific stay at Bethel Hill. I'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The word "gracious" is inadequate to describe the owners of this B&B. Carol Gould is always friendly and chatty. Scott Gould can talk skiing and home renovating as long as you're willing. Their home, which at first seems to be an old New England house but in reality is fairly new, is impeccably maintained and attractive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpswell, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed one night at the Bethel Hill B&B in early February and found it to be a wonderfully operated, warm, and accomodating inn! Carol welcomed us and was ready to share her extensive knowledge of the area and its many winter attractions. Our room, the Woodrose Room, was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Our breakfast, prepared by Scott, started with baked apples followed by a delicious omelet and lots of great coffee. We highly recommend the Bethel Hill B&B when visiting Western Maine!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethel Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethel Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 66 Broad Street, Bethel, ME 04217
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Bethel Hill Bed & Breakfast.A fresh and eco-friendly Bethel Lodging Choice Our home is located just beyond the Bethel Hill Common, surrounded by the historic homes of Bethel Village. We enjoy a quiet location at the end of Broad Street. Renovated specifically to be a bed and breakfast in 2005, we feature guest suites with comfortable sitting areas and private baths; each has a whirlpool tub with shower. Unique ambiance is created with a blend of antique furnishings and custom drapes and duvets. We offer a common living area exclusively for our guest’s use or you may relax in the adirondack chairs on the front porch overlooking the gardens. Each of our guest suites feature cable television, free WIFI access and long distance calling upon request. All of our rooms have ceiling fans and are air conditioned. The Bethel Hill Bed & Breakfast provides a smoke free environment and has a fire alarm and sprinkler system for your safety. Our rooms do not have adjoining walls and all feature sound proofing in the walls and floors for your privacy. A gourmet country breakfast with hot entrée is enjoyed in the sun room by the cozy gas fireplace. We are happy to accommodate dietary restrictions, including Vegetarian and Gluten-free diets. Our common rooms overlook the historic Bingham House and the Bethel Inn and Country Club’s eighteenth fairway beyond, providing wonderful sunset views. Our B&B is EPA Certified as an Enviornmental Leader and offers Eco-friendly green lodging; leave your car and walk or bike through out the village or in the winter take the free Mountain Explorer Bus from just down the street at the commom. Scott is a level 3 PSIA Ski Pro. WIFI, TV,AC,Handicap Room Available ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bethel Hill Bed And Breakfast Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethel Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.