We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful interlude” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chapman Inn to your Saves list
Chapman Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Church Street, Bethel, ME 04217   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A delightful interlude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place is a gem, comfortably antiquey but not gussied up as so many places are -- a homey but comfortable place with lots of nice individual touches and a sumptuous breakfast, excellent blueberry pancakes. It's not the Hilton, which is the best compliment we can give. The location is just right, there are several good restaurants in town including an elegant and excellent Japanese/Korean place. You'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    35
    6
    7
    3
See reviews for
32
50
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely weekend in Bethel - it's a beautiful location with some good hiking in easy reach and a couple of top quality restaurants in walking distance of Chapman Inn. The Inn itself was perfect for or needs: inexpensive, comfortable accommodation, a warm and friendly welcome and a very hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Fred knows how to run a B & B.
Value and customer service and I just know Bkfst will b great. His local knowledge is freely given and spot on. In travel book and known in Houlston ME info, says a lot for me. SS Milton resturant recommendation was great.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I traveled to Bethel, Maine to pick up my son from a nearby camp and needed to find a place to stay for one night. I picked the Chapman Inn based on good reviews and made the right call. The Inn is within walking distance to several restaurants, pubs and bakeries, which I appreciated. The innkeepers suggested I try the SudsPub at the Sudsbury Inn -- great vibe and lots of beers to pick from. At the Chapman, I chose to stay in the dorm (I'm on a budget while starting up my own business!!) and found it comfortable, clean and well-kept. A full breakfast is included in the dorm rate, and includes fruit, fresh baked muffins and bread, and a choice of pancakes and eggs. That was a real treat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was a great place to stay for its simplicity and location. Fred and Sandra were great hosts. The morning breakfast, cooked by Fred, and served in their beautifully decorated dining room was outstanding. One of the best things about this inn was the ability to book a room last minute for a reasonable price. Wish we had more time to stay another night and take advantage of the increadable hiking and outdoor opportunities in close proximity. We will return again! Thanks for the home made blueberry muffin you gave for the ride home!
Lyn and Larry

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth NH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Very comfortable old New England style inn - breakfast was great! Fred and Sandy are the hosts with the most - so friendly and accommodating! We were able to bring our dog and he was happy about that - Thanks, G & E Franklin

Room Tip: For a few dollars more, you can have the suite which has 3 beds and it's own kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

The breakfast was great! Fred & Sandy were very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chapman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapman Inn

Address: 2 Church Street, Bethel, ME 04217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chapman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully charming inn with unbeatable location, in the heart of the Historic District overlooking the town commons. The inn offers great rooms, a world famous full gourmet breakfast, and warm genuine hospitality, all at sane rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Chapman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapman Inn Bethel, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.