We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sudbury Inn Dining Room

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sudbury Inn Dining Room
151 Main St, Bethel, ME 04217-4019
207-824-2174
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 31 restaurants in Bethel
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: American, French, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Sudbury Inn offers a variety of dining experiences set in a historic 1873 B&B in beautiful downtown Bethel Maine, just 6 miles from Sunday River ski resort. Upstairs you can choose from classic American and Continental food from acclaimed local chef Peter Bodwell either in our romantic fireside room, overlooking Main Street on our scenic indoor porch, or in our newest addition Bar and Bistro 151 featuring classic, tasty French bistro fare.Downstairs we offer the vibrant Suds Pub with hearty pub food (which you can also enjoy in the Bistro), high def-TVs, live music 3 nights a week, and the always popular $5 pizza night.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We can't say enough about the wonderful, tasty meal that we enjoyed this evening. The mussels were superb along with the homemade rolls for dipping in the sauce. Our entrees (lamb chops and filet ) were done to perfection. Our servers were helpful and very efficient. We will return!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    31
    18
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Typical Maine Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had dinner in both the formal dining room, and in the basement with the pub food. Both were good. The service was much better in the dining room. We experienced big delays when in the pub, but we did have a big group. But we had to wait a very long time, and one of the parties had to wait an extra 10 minutes for his burger while the rest of us were finished. The pub had great wings.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Standard pub fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Basement location, passable food, good service, big menu. Standard pub fare. Often small children, families. Good take out available though may not be advertised.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Loved the atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We always start our annual ski trip to Sunday River with a first night pizza in Suds Bar. Its just so friendly and relaxed and the food cannot be beaten for taste or value.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Number one in Bethel by my account”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

A lovely dining area and pleasant waitstaff made this an excellent choice for dinner. A dinner for two, three courses with a bottle of wine, was available for $65, but we went a la carte and I chose the roasted duck which was well cooked and presented and my husband had the osso bucco. Flavorful and well presented meals give this restaurant major points in my book. The meal came with a salad, rare these days,and a flavorful bread service of homemade rolls. On a snowy night, there was a romantic spot for us right near the fireplace. I'd certainly go back next time I'm in Bethel

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sudbury Inn Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to Sudbury Inn Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudbury Inn Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.