We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food with good service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunday River Brewing Company

Sunday River Brewing Company
Sunday River Road, Bethel, ME 04217
207 824 3541
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 30 Restaurants in Bethel
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rt. 2
Transit: Mountain Explorer
Description: One of Maine’s original brew pubs open since 1992. Always has been famous for great beers including Sunday River Alt & Black Bear Porter. An innovator in “Jacuzzi cuisine” (A hybrid process of smoke & sous-vide). Winner of the 2008 Bethel Chowder cook-off. Live lobster tank on premise, fresh haddock and wild caught Atlantic salmon for seafood options. Live après-ski music Saturday 3-8.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good pub food with good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

For pub food it was better than average. The pulled pork sandwich is actually very good. Their burgers are good too but on the smallish side so guys should order a double. The beer is excellent! Service is prompt and accurate. I would certainly go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    26
    30
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Burgers and Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stopped in on a Sunday afternoon for lunch and to watch the football game. Friendly staff, excellent beer and good burgers. Fun place to hang out and watch the game.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It is not called The Moose's Tail anymore. It is a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have forgotten the name of this place already, but the food was terrific, the service was great, and the coffee was better than average. We went here by accident and were pleased that we stopped. I had blueberry crepes, and they were terrific. Two very good sized crepes loaded with fresh blueberries and sweet cream. Yum. My girlfriend had oatmeal with a bunch of add-on items and thoroughly enjoyed her dish as well. Our server was happy and smiling the whole time. They could use a better coffee, but short of roasting it on the property and serving it to me that day, I'm hard to please where it comes to coffee. I roast my own and can really taste the difference when it it is more than a week old. So what. This new place is great. Bring friends, sit outside while the weather is nice, use your laptop(I thought I saw a WIFI sign), and leave with a full belly and and a caffeine boost.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“One and done..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We went to a brewery hoping for a good selection of local beers. We got a broken chiller and the standard bottled beers. Boring... When it finally came back online the selection was small and not really what we were hoping for. Inside was unimpressive. Teenage ski lodge, not a brewery. The food was ok. Just ok. Burgers were big but, I didn't hear anyone moan with taste bud pleasure. The pork sandwich was pedestrian. The saving grace was the sauce I soaked it with.

Not a bang for your buck; average on price and slightly less so on food. One and done for this joint.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great apre` ski specials and music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We saw this place on our way to Sunday River Ski Resort and stopped on our way home after a day of skiing. Turned out to be the best part of our ski weekend. Between 4 & 6pm they cater to the skiers with pleasant, live music and happy hour prices. GREAT cheesy fries.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunday River Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Sunday River Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunday River Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.