We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate accomodations for skiers/snowboarders” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brookside Condominiums

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brookside Condominiums
Save
You added Brookside Condominiums to your Saves list
Sunday River Ski Resort, PO Box 450, Bethel, ME 04217   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Adequate accomodations for skiers/snowboarders”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Our party of six stayed in one of the two-bedroom apartments and the accomodations met our needs. In some ways, the condo was very convenient, and it other ways it was lacking.

Pluses:
+Very close to the main lodge. I don't recommend walking over in ski boots (so uncomfortable) but it's definitely like a 5min. walk in normal footwear. As a new skier, I appreciated this more than the ski-on aspects (which others nevertheless really enjoyed).
+There's a shuttle stop right by Brookside that takes you to the main lodge and other places.
+Automatically lighting fireplace with built in timer. So cool. Our boots got so toasty next to this.
+Fully-equipped kitchen; most appliances in good working order. We made meals for six each of the three nights we were there, and the stove, microwave, coffee maker, etc. never let us down. There were more than enough plates and cups and bowls and flatware for everyone. The kitchen had a dishwasher, which was also an important advantage. (More on that below).
+Responsive service. We had to call for assistance a couple of times, and we were always promptly visited by someone who could help.
+Even though we were about 3 stories up, the apartment had a back exit that felt like we were on a ground floor. Guess that happens when you're on a hill! Anyway it was a nice porch.
+The living room was spacious, and there was room at the dining table for all of us.

Now the minuses:
-Close to the main lodge, but as someone else already noted, skiing over is not for everyone. You have to cross some blue and black trails on the way, so I'd keep novice skiers away from that until they build up the control and confidence to do that.
-Shuttle would be convenient, except Sunday River (not the condo itself) may need to look into running it more reliably. Our friends were waiting for over an hour (at a different lodge) on one occassion. On a separate occasion, a shuttle driver told us he'd take us to Brookside... and then he went another way.
-Dishwasher in our specific unit was quite small (so we ran a load before leaving each morning and another at night) and a bit temperamental.
-One bedroom was what you'd expect for a master bedroom. Another had three twin beds (one was a bunk). My boyfriend and I slept in the twin beds room. It must work great for a family, but for 3 couples it was less convenient.
-Our friends who slept in the pull-out couch couldn't get past how uncomfortable it was. We should feel lucky we're still friends after that.
-The bathrooms are nice, but the towels are tiiiny. Pro-tip: ask for pool towels, they are much bigger and fluffier.
-We could hear the people in the apartment above us stomping around. They probably didn't mean to, but it felt like they stomped everywhere. I blame the floors and possibly the snow boots (though those are not allowed in).
-Gear needs to be put in lockers; it's not allowed back in your room. Remember that back entrance to our condo that I mentioned? It wasn't nearly as convenient if we weren't allowed to bring our equipment in. It would have been nice to let it dry out on the porch and then bring it in by the fireplace.

One last pro-tip: When you do check-in at the main lodge, if they mention that the "overflow parking" (for those of you who bring more than one car) is "across the street", it probably won't be the street you're thinking. Hard to explain via review, but suffice to say it's easier to just give them a call if you're not sure where to park.

Room Tip: There are no elevators (that we saw), so if you don't like stairs, I recommend the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We went to Sunday River for NYE and we stayed at the Brookside Condo's with another couple. The condo was very clean and even had a fireplace (only a select few have this). The bedrooms were big and there was enough room for us and our ski luggage. They had locked available where you could lock up your ski and snowboards at night but we just opted to keep our ski's and boards in the car. To get to the trains you just need to walk a few feet to the slopes and there is a shuttle that will take you to the main lodge. The condo had every kitchen tool and dish imaginable which was perfect if you wanted to make your own meals. A word to the ladies out there: you need to bring your own hairdriers!

Brookside supplies the shampoo and soap, but be careful with the showers. When I went to take a shower in the afternoon the warm water was basically gone which was a little disappointing. All and all this condo was perfect for what we needed and I would stay here again and recommend it to others!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor as you can hear noises from the rooms above
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California's Wine Coast Country, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Reasonably priced option for ski-in, ski-out accommodation at Sunday River. We stayed in a 2 bedroom which had a great view of the mountain and was nicely decorated. (Our friends though had a room at the back of the building with no view and more basic decor, so realize when booking that they are individually owner owned units and so there could be a big variation in the quality and standard of the furnishings). There is an outdoor heated pool and a jacuzzi which was a short walk across the parking lot from our building although it was more conveniently located for those coming from the other building.

Access to the ski trails is also in front of the building across the parking lot. If you are traveling with small children or beginner skiers, be aware that the trail goes down to a ski-lift which takes you up the mountain and in order to arrive at the main base area where the ski school is located you have to take a trail that crosses some blue and black runs and might be a bit challenging for skiers lacking in confidence. (If this is the case with your party, look at the North Peak Condominiums instead which has similar accommodation but is much nearer to the Main base lodge and an short easy green from the ski school)
From Brookside condominiums, you can walk to a smaller base lodge in a couple of minutes, where there are 2 restaurants, a ski shop and access to the tubing park (Note however that the opening hours/days of the restaurants at this base lodge were somewhat erratic, even during our peak ski season week, and they weren't open for lunch at all mid-week)
A couple of minor issues with the Brookside condos - the lack of a ski rack over near the trail so that you could leave your skis while running back to the condo. In the building we were in, the ski lockers are not located on the 1st floor but up a flight of stairs, which is a pain in ski boots. It's a 4 storey building with no public elevator - be prepared for quite a work out when moving in and out!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, Me
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

These condos are in a great location -- ski in/out and walking distance to restaurants. Large outdoor heated pool, jacuzzi and sauna included. There are studios, one and two bedroom units. Many owners also use the units when they are not being rented and these are generally very nicely decorated. Others are meant primarly to rent so are more basic.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2006

Our family of 4 recently travelled from Canada to Sunday River and stayed at Brookside Condos. We found the entire experiance very overpriced and disappointing. Our condo was old, musty, leaky toilet, a bathroom the size of a broom closet- pool was dirty, hot tub was cold- need I say more? At $330 US per night, we expected much much more. We would not return. Perfect place for 6 college students to crash.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookside Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Condominiums

Address: Sunday River Ski Resort, PO Box 450, Bethel, ME 04217
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 144
Also Known As:
Brookside Condominiums Hotel Bethel
Brookside Condominiums Bethel, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookside Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.