We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norseman Inn

Save Saved
You added Norseman Inn to your Saves list
Norseman Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Norseman Inn
Mayville Road (Route 2), P.O. Box 934, Bethel, ME 04217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
Hampton, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

clean comfortable room, easy to get to town or to sunday river. 2 restaurant/pubs within walking distance. weekends they have a continental breakfast. I usually head to the mountain before the breakfast is available but when I walked into the lounge area to get a tea they had some fresh muffins already made, which they wrapped up for to take with me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I've been coming to the Norseman Inn every year for the past 20 years and I wouldn't stay anywhere else! Over those 20 years, my family and I must have stayed in every room in motel section of the Inn, and always found the rooms clean and comfortable. I'm not sure where some of these negative comments about the rooms are coming from. The owners are fabulous! They treat their guests like family. The complimentary continental breakfast by the fire each morning hits the spot before a day out on the slopes. If you are looking for a cozy inn that's a short drive or shuttle bus ride to Sunday River, that doesn't charge the exorbitant rates places closer to the mountain do, this is the place for you!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed at the Norseman Inn recently for 2 nights during a ski trip. They have b&b type rooms in the main house and a motel next door. We were 3 adults and our room was in the motel. The first issue was the blankets on the bed had holes in them. Yes, many holes from what seemed to be moths. The replacements that were brought had holes too. In their defense, the next day they too were replaced by brand new blankets. The other issue is we had a cot in our room that should have been thrown in the dumpster. This was an air mattress on a frame that was almost worse than sleeping on the floor. I needed to take both comforters off the beds, fold them and place them on the mattress to add minimal comfort. And after skiing all day, a teenage boy still couldn't sleep on this thing. I sat on it and thought it was going to collapse beneath me.
On a positive note, the owners were pleasant and engaging. The main house had a nice sitting area with fireplace and very good continental breakfast. This place has lots of potential and the outside is well maintained and decorated. Location and room rates were very good. They just need to invest in renovating the motel IMO.

Room Tip: If you're a couple, get one of the rooms at the inn, not motel (if there's room at the inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to Maine for snow sports......a nice room and great fireplace in the sitting area.....the owners were wonderful with lots of information to improve our stay and enjoyment of the area......we had 17 inches of fresh snow during our stay which ,made for excellent skiing and snowboarding. The nearby woods were great during our day of cross country skiing.....we'll be back.....

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

we all know the cheap hiway motels that reek of incense and curry in the office. The rooms often have such a vile chemical perfume poured on the carpet , it can easily make you sick and bring on serious headaches. The Norseman has done a good job on the outside of their building but it doesnt do any good if the rooms stink of vile cheap cleaning perfumes. STOP USING THEM.
I had to leave the window and the door open fully all night to make the stench bearable. Fix this issue
or you are just another dive along the road. If they go to green and inert cleaning chemicals and
clean up the sides of the building, then this place could be a decent deal at about 60$ a night.
ALWAYS ask to see a room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton Long Point, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The rooms were tidy, owners were very pleasant, and the property is well-located for area attractions. However, our room became quite warm during the night, and there was no way to control the temperature except to turn on the AC (it was in the 40s outside) or open the window (not an option as we were facing a busy road). The thermostat on the wall was not on so I'm assuming it didn't work, but the room temp was 75 degrees. By checkout time we were sweating bullets!!

Also, the continental breakfast was so limited that we left hungry. Nothing but cheap basic cereals (corn flakes, rice krispies, etc.), a few bananas, coffee, OJ from concentrate, and a basket of small muffins that were brought to the table (one per guest). Adding more variety and some higher-quality selections to the breakfast would be a big improvement.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We try to choose motels that serve breakfast, for convenience, and selected this one to stay in Bethel for that reason. However, while the website stated that the motel served a continental breakfast, it turned out that this was only on weekends, not the midweek dates of our stay. The room was fine but I just don't like it when the website contains such a misstatement.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Norseman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norseman Inn

Address: Mayville Road (Route 2), P.O. Box 934, Bethel, ME 04217
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Norseman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norseman Inn Bethel, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norseman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.