We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed Three Separate Times in One Month” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River View Resort

Save Saved
You added River View Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
River View Resort
357 Mayville Road, Bethel, ME 04217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stayed Three Separate Times in One Month”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My friend and I were looking for a place to stay near the Appalachian Trail. I'd just sprained my ankle hiking on the AT, and needed to rest and recover. From check-in to check-out, the staff treated us like family members. We thoroughly enjoyed the jacuzzi, sauna and pool, as well as the beautiful mountain and river view. In fact, we returned twice more during the time spent in Maine. Thank you Irene, Wendy, Sara, Lillian, Betsy, Chad and everyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ellington, Connecticut, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I would like to say "Thank you for a clean and happy home feeling stay"! We really loved it! We do plan to come back for another stay in fall of this year! Your staff is first rate! We would like more information on how to purchase a time share unit we loved it so much!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I were running the Tough Mountain Challenge at the nearby Sunday River Resort and needed a place to stay. We were in a bind when both resorts at Sunday River had completely sold out and we did not want to stay too far away with the race being the next morning. After reading several reviews on River View, I felt like it was worth a shot. We were arriving very late (~1AM) and I called ahead because the office would be closed at that time and I wanted to make sure we would have a way to get our key to the room. The lady I spoke with was very nice and made sure I knew where my room was and where to find my key.

When we arrived, the key was exactly where she said it would be and getting settled was easy. These rooms are completely outfitted with a full kitchen (big fridge, oven, microwave, pots/pans/glassware/silverware, utensils, etc.) which made cooking feel like home. Our room had a queen bed and a separate room with twin beds (good setup for a family of four but more than what we needed). The beds were a little on the firm side but comfortable and the linens were clean and changed daily. The bathroom was clean and hot water for showering was never a problem. The only thing I would have improved was the odor of the place. Now don't get me wrong, this resort has been around a long time so with older establishments, it is not uncommon to have a musty odor and you're senses adjust (and they did). Maybe to improve this, I would just install simple air fresheners but like I said it was not a big deal once you adjust.

The best perks of this place are located outside of the room. First, the back door of your room opens up to a deck that was great for just watching the stars at night. It was really amazing how clear the skies were and how many constellations jump out at you. We also took advantage of the free kayaking down the river. The lady at the front desk who helped us out was very helpful and gave us our life jackets/paddles along with specific instructions on how to find the kayaks/canoes. This was a very short walk downstream (~10 minutes) and they were easy to find although apply the bug spray very generously as they chewed me up pretty good on the way to the kayak (they left my girlfriend alone but maybe they just had a thing for redheads ;) The kayak ride was a good workout as we paddled upstream for a bit and when we were beat we pulled the oars in and cruised back downstream just enjoying the quietude of nature...

The resort also has a game room that would be good for the kids and an indoor heated pool with a hot tub and sauna although we did not spend any time in these areas. They did look nice though...

To wrap it up, I would highly recommend the River View Resort to anyone who is looking for a great place to relax with wonderful staff. Not to mention its location is very close (~10 minute drive) to Sunday River Resort for all of the mountainous activities. I would without question stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Nice room with two bedrooms, a kitchen and living room. The staff is very nice and were accommodating to our late arrival. Kids enjoyed an evening swim in the pool. Only one treadmill so get in there early. Overall a very pleasant place to stay just outside of Bethel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed here for a few days of skiing and liked the place. Not too far from the slopes (connected with a free shuttle service). Has a pool and hot tub. The spacious apartments are in a good shape with full kitchen and decent furnishing. Can recommend it to families and other groups.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 teens) stayed in a 2-bedroom suite at River View Resort over the holiday while skiing at Sunday River. The spacious suite with full kitchen and comfortable (but not fancy) furnishings met our needs very well. Recommended for family travel and/or small groups.

Pros:
- Good-size living/room kitchen, separate bedrooms.
- Well-equipped kitchen in suite
- Friendly, helpful staff
- Short drive to Sunday River, town of Bethel, restaurants
- Clean, pleasant swimming pool, hot tub and sauna
- Small game room with ping pong table
- Good value
Cons:
- Room cleaning service was spotty. (We were told there would be no service Christmas day, which was fine, but the room was not cleaned on another day though we were out for more than 5 hours midday.)
- Beds are ok but not great; sofa bed was pretty uncomfortable.
- One bathroom for a suite that accommodates up to 6 people is not ideal.
- Outdoor hallway means going out in the cold to pool, game room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverviewBethel, Manager at River View Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
We apologize for any inconvenience. During the Holidays our cleaning staff is right out straight and we do explain to guests at check-in that if they have their Do Not Disturb signs out when housekeeping reaches their room the staff will not return later. Clean towels are available for those who need them at the front desk.

We are in the process of replacing all the sofa beds in the living room with very comfortable fold down futons, and we do apologize for the one bath but it is noted in all our advertising. Because the walk way is out doors to the pool we have provided a separate half bath there and two changing rooms and a shower so guests can come and go fully clothed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My family is in the process of building a home in Bethel. When we go up for a week to ski at Sunday River or just check on the house, we tend to stay at the River View Resort. It's pretty nice for a week-long stay; you get your own kitchen, bathroom, living room, and two bedrooms with a view of the Andrascoggin River from the backyard. The shuttle to the mountain makes several stops throughout the day at the hotel, which is nice - no need to drive to ski. It's about a 10-15 minute trip to the slopes.

The rooms are a little on the older side, but clean. The couch we had in the living room on our last visit was very worn - you sank into the bottom through the aged cushions. The appliances and bathroom, similarly, were older, but everything worked. What's nice is that the staff cleans your room each day and vacuums out the salt that accumulates in the winter. There is also a heated indoor pool, though I never made my way over there to try it out.

All in all, there aren't many frills here, but it's a reliable, spacious place to stay for a week or so. It's nice having separated rooms with doors rather than a one room hotel when you're stuck with family for that long - a little personal space can go a long way to maintaining your sanity. And the price is right. Meets our expectations every time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Resort

Address: 357 Mayville Road, Bethel, ME 04217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River View Resort is a great place to kick off a vacation in Western Maine’s premier 4-season playground. In winter you can enjoy the thrills of downhill and cross country skiing, snowmobiling and other winter activities. Summertime, you can improve your game with the area’s world-class golfing. Enjoy canoeing, rafting, kayaking or hiking the wilds of Maine. Melt your cares away in the hot tub or sauna. Any season of the year, our 80ºF indoor pool is a real treat. The friendly couple that manage the River View will supply you with kayaks, paddles and life vests for some down-home river fun.All guest accommodations at River View are two-bedroom suites that sleep 5. All of the suites are clean and comfortable. The master bedroom has two closets, ample bureau storage and a comfy queen-size bed. The second bedroom has two twin beds, bureau and closet storage. In good weather, sit on the wrap-around deck and just enjoy the beautiful countryside. Kitchens are fully equipped with pots, pans, silverware, dishes and more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your River View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Bethel
River View Resort Bethel, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.